Works Instrumentations of Works by Other Composers

Gaetano Braga. “Serenata”

Opus SO Opus 142

Opus SO
1972 year

Gaetano Braga’s Serenata. (The Black Monk, an Unrealised Opera Project of Dmitri Shostakovich)
first publication:

DSCH Publishers, Moscow. Archive D. Shostakovich's Series

manuscripts:

D. Shostakovich's Arcive. Moscow


Gaetano Braga. Serenata
Arranged for Duet and Chamber Ensemble

     For almost half a century, the Chekhov long story The Black Monk occupied the thoughts of Shostakovich as reader, composer and thinker but, having become a ‘leit-conception’ of a sort in his life, it was never to take music-theatre form.
     By 1943, Shostakovich was evidently already considering the plot of The Black Monk as possible material for an opera: the composer insistently recommended it to his student, Revolt Bunin, for the latter’s first venture into the genre of music theatre.
     Also in 1943, in his article Thoughts on Tchaikovsky Shostakovich, noting that Tchaikovsky and Chekhov shared a similar ‘sense of the tragic in life’, let drop a phrase, subsequently to become famous, to the effect that the long story The Black Monk, ‘one of the most musical works in Russian literature, is written almost like a sonata’.
     Next reference to the work, relates to September, 1972. the composer took the firm decision to seek for the notes of Gaetano Braga’s Serenata which is mentioned in key episodes of the long story (before the Black Monk’s first and after his final appearance), and to transcribe it.
     Having received the notes for the Serenata, Shostakovich finished the transcription on his birthday, 25 September, signing it and adding the date ‘25 IX 1972’.
Having completed his transcription of the Serenata (for soprano, mezzo-soprano, violin and piano), Shostakovich requested the young singers and musicians—G. Pisarenko (soprano), K. Morgunova (mezzosoprano), O. Kagan (violin) and E. Leonskaya (piano)—to learn, play and record it. A performance of the transcription, with the participation of cellist D. Fershtman, doubling the bass voice of the piano part, took place in late 1972 — early 1973, at Shostakovich’s flat, in the absence of the author, who listened to it by telephone.
     Preserved in the D.D. Shostakovich Archive are draft versions of plans and libretto for the opera, The Black Monk, written, by Irina Antonovna Shostakovich, from the composer’s words, and relating, hypothetically to 1973, which show that the original plan was to write the opera in two or three acts.
     By the spring of 1975, the opera project had undergone a further modulation: Shostakovich, dissatisfied with his own attempts to write a scenario, turned to the musicologist and librettist, Alexander Medvedev, with the request he write librettos for… two one-act operas, one of which was The Black Monk.
     In that same spring of 1975, just before he died, Shostakovich gave an explanation of why he had taken so long mulling over an opera project that meant so much to him. ‘I could not find the ‘key’ to Chekhov’s long story. It has a lot of dialogue, but little action. And that is not good for an opera. But the main reason is I could not imagine how to represent a hallucination, ghost, mirage on stage. The Monk, after all, has to move, as well as sing, and be seen by Kovrin on stage and the audience in the auditorium. I couldn’t find a treatment... I begin to write the music only once I have heard and seen my conception as a whole, in all its dimensions, with beginning, middle and end. Now, it seems, I do have such a vision’.


back

Years


1972

more

Сочинения Инструментовки произведений различных авторов

Гаэтано Брага. «Серенада»

Opus SO Opus 142

Opus SO
1972 год

"Серенада" Гаэтано Брага. (К неосуществленному замыслу оперы Д. Шостаковича "Черный монах")
первое издание:

Издательство DSCH, М. 2009. Серия «Архив Д, Шостаковича»

рукописи:

Архив Д. Шостаковича. Москва


Гаэтано Брага. «Серенада»
Переложение для вокального дуэта в сопровождении камерного ансамбля

     В течение почти полувека чеховская повесть «Чёрный монах» занимала мысли Шостаковича — читателя, композитора, мыслителя, но, став своеобразным лейтзамыслом его жизни, так и не была воплощена в музыкально-сценическую форму.
     К 1943 году сюжет «Чёрного монаха» был уже осмыслен Шостаковичем как возможный материал для оперы: композитор настоятельно рекомендует его своему ученику Р. Бунину для первой пробы в музыкально-сценическом жанре.
     В том же 1943 году в статье «Мысли о Чайковском» Шостакович, отмечая схожесть у Чайковского и Чехова «ощущения трагического в жизни», обронил фразу, ставшую впоследствии знаменитой, что повесть «Чёрный монах» — «одно из самых музыкальных произведений русской литературы, написанное почти как соната».
     Следующее упоминание о повести относится уже к сентябрю 1972 года. Композитор принял твёрдое решение разыскать ноты «Серенады» Гаэтано Брага, упоминаемой в ключевых разделах повести, и сделать её переложение. Получив ноты «Серенады», Шостакович оканчивает её обработку в день своего рождения, 25 сентября, и проставляет в конце текста роспись и дату: «25 IX 1972».
     Закончив переложение «Серенады» (для сопрано, меццо-сопрано, скрипки и фортепиано), Шостакович обратился с просьбой к молодым исполнителям — Г. Писаренко (сопрано), К. Моргуновой (меццо-сопрано), О. Кагану (скрипка) и Е. Леонской (фортепиано) — разучить его, исполнить и записать. Исполнение при участии виолончелиста Д. Ферштмана, удваивавшего басовый голос фортепианной партии, состоялось в конце 1972 – начале 1973 года в квартире Шостаковича - в отсутствие автора, который слушал его по телефону.
     В Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича сохранились черновые варианты сценарных планов и либретто оперы «Чёрный монах», выполненные рукой И.А. Шостакович со слов композитора и относящиеся, предположительно, к 1973 году , которые свидетельствуют о первоначальных планах писать оперу в двух или трёх актах.
     К весне 1975 года оперный замысел претерпевает очередную модуляцию: Шостакович, не удовлетворённый собственными сценарными попытками, обращается к музыковеду и либреттисту А.В. Медведеву с просьбой написать либретто для… двух одноактных опер, одна из которых — «Чёрный монах».
     Той же весной 1975 года, уже на пороге смерти, Шостакович даёт объяснение по поводу столь долгих подступов к столь дорогому оперному замыслу. «Я не находил “ключа“ к повести Чехова. В ней много разговоров и мало действия. Для оперы это не очень хорошо. Но главная причина в том, что я не мог представить, как воссоздать на сцене галлюцинацию, призрак, мираж. Ведь Монах должен не только петь, но и двигаться, быть видимым и Коврину на сцене, и зрителям в зале. Я не находил решения... Я начинаю писать музыку только тогда, когда слышу и вижу задуманное сочинение целиком, во всём его объёме, с началом, серединой и концом. Теперь, кажется, такое видение появилось».


назад

Годы жизни