Works Piano Compositions

Variations on Glinka’s Theme

Opus 104 Opus 105

Opus SO
1957 year

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Miniatures of Different Years
first publication:

It was published in the february issue of Sovetskaya muzyka for 1957 as a Music Appendix.

manuscripts:

The author’s manuscripts are kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive: Nos. 8, 9—rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 162, No. 11—rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 161.


Variations on Glinka’s Theme
for Piano

     A collective work by Soviet composers on Vanya’s song from the opera Ivan Susanin.

     The Variations are arranged in the following order: Var. 1—Eugen Kapp; Var. 2 and 3—Vissarion Shebalin; Var. 4—Andrei Eshpai; Var. 5—Rodion Shchedrin; Var. 6—Georgy Sviridov; Var. 7—Yuri Levitin; Var. 10—Dmitri Kabalevsky; Vars. 8, 9, 11 and finale—Dmitri Shostakovich.
     Shostakovich not only used the theme, but also followed Glinka’s style to some extent in accordance with the tradition of hommage, implying that the composers address themes of their great predecessors (and sometimes also contemporaries) in order to pay respect to their music.
     It is natural to presume that the composition was timed to the centenary of Glinka’s death on 3 [15] February 1857. It was published in the February issue of Sovetskaya muzyka for 1957 as a Music Appendix. The publication is not accompanied by an introductory article or commentary. The available musicological sources contain no information about how this idea emerged or how the work was composed.
     The three variations written by Shostakovich were recorded by Boris Petrushansky.


back

Years


1957

more

Сочинения Сочинения для фортепиано

Вариации на тему Глинки

Opus 104 Opus 105

Opus SO
1957 год

Фортепианные миниатюры Д. Шостаковича разных лет
первое издание:

Издано в февральском номере журнала «Советская музыка» за 1957 год в составе Нотного приложения.

рукописи:

Автографы хранятся в Архиве Д. Д. Шостаковича: № 8, 9 — ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 162, № 11 — ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 161.


Вариации на тему Глинки
для фортепиано

     Коллективное сочинение советских композиторов на тему песни Вани из оперы «Иван Сусанин».

     «Вариации» расположены в следующем порядке: Вар. 1 — Эуген Капп; Вар. 2 и 3 — Виссарион Шебалин; Вар. 4 — Андрей Эшпай; Вар. 5 — Родион Щедрин; Вар. 6 — Георгий Свиридов; Вар. 7 — Юрий Левитин; Вар. 10 — Дмитрий Кабалевский; Вар. 8, 9, 11 и финал — Дмитрий Шостакович.
     Шостакович не только использует тему, но и в какой-то мере следует стилю Глинки, что напоминает о традиции оммажа, подразумевавшей обращение композиторов к темам великих предшественников (а иногда и современников), чтобы отдать дань уважения их музыке.
     Естественно предположить, что сочинение было приурочено к столетию со дня смерти Глинки 3 [15] февраля 1857 года: оно было издано в февральском номере журнала «Советская музыка» за 1957 год в составе Нотного приложения. Публикация не сопровождена вступительной статьёй или комментарием. Сложно обнаружить и какую-либо информацию о возникновении замысла и истории создания этого сочинения в музыковедческой литературе.
     Единственную запись сочинения сделал Борис Петрушанский, исполнивший три вариации, написанные Д. Д. Шостаковичем.


назад

Годы жизни