Works Choral Compositions

Ten Russian Folk Songs

Opus 88 Opus 90

Opus SO
1951 year

Ten Russian Folk Songs. Sans op. (1951). Two Russian Folk Songs. Op. 104 (1957). Choruses a cappella from Film Music.
premiere:

18-October-1971

The official premiere of the cycle was held on 18 October 1971 in Magnitogorsk.

first publication:

Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1985, Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works, vol. 34

manuscripts:

Manuscript kept at RNMM rec. gr. 32, f. 121


Ten Russian Folk Songs
Adaptation for Solo Voices, Mixed Choir and Piano

     Shostakovich wrote the collection of adaptations of Russian folk songs — Ten Russian Folk Songs (Sans op.) — in the 1950s. This a separate cycle of adaptations that included ten Russian folk songs from three different collections compiled by well-known folklorists of different times—Nikolai Lvov-Ivan Prach, Yevgeniya Lineva and Yevgeni Gippius. Most of them—‘All of a Sudden There was a Clap of Thunder over Moscow’ (No. 1), ‘Beyond the Mountains, Beyond the Valleys’ (No. 2), ‘Out of the Forest of Spears and Swords’ (No. 3), ‘Nights are Dark, the Clouds are Menacing’ (No. 4) and ‘What Songs Are These’ (No. 10) — were borrowed from Yevgeni Gippius’ collection of Russian Folk Songs, which came out in Leningrad in 1943.
     Shostakovich chose three songs for adaptation from the Lvov-Prach collection: ‘Fir Grove, My Fir Grove’ (No. 7), ‘In My Dear Father’s Green Garden’ (No. 8) and ‘I Told My Sweetheart’ (No. 9).
     Two songs—‘A Little Cuckoo Cuckoos’ (No. 5) and ‘The Splinter’ (No. 6)—were taken from the first edition of Yevgeniya Lineva’s collection Russian Songs with Traditional Harmony (St. Petersburg, 1904).
     The songs Shostakovich selected for the cycle do not have any general theme in common, but can be divided into two groups—the first four and last one are soldiers’ (primarily Cossack) marching songs, while the fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth and tenth are different genres of women’s songs (lyrical, wedding, plangent and dancing).
     The official premiere of the cycle was held on 18 October 1971 in Magnitogorsk, and then on 3 December in Moscow (the Grand Hall of the Conservatory) performed by the Magnitogorsk State Academic Choral Capella conducted by Semen Eidinov. Ten Russian Folk Songs were performed in Leningrad on 19 October 1989 by the Chamber Choir of the USSR Ministry of Culture directed by Valeri Polyansky (the piano part was performed by Igor Khudolei).
     The cycle was first recorded in 1981 by the Glinka Leningrad Academic State Cappella under the baton of Vladislav Chernushenko, soloists—Gennadi Bezzubenkov (Nos. 1 and 3), Yevgeni Popov (No. 2), Yevgeni Bortnikov (No. 4), Zhanna Polevtsova (No. 5), Kira Gerasimova (No. 6), Nina Kuznetsova (No. 7), Yulia Antonova (No. 9) and Aleksandr Seleznev (No. 10), the piano part was played by Lyudmila Bogomolova. In 1999, a recording of the cycle was issued with the participation of the soloists and choir of the Academy of Choral Art directed by Viktor Popov (the piano part was played by Tamara Kravchenko).
     The collotyped edition of the adaptations of Ten Russian Folk Songs is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive. In 1952, Muzgiz put out separate items of the cycle (‘A Little Cuckoo Cuckoos’, ‘The Splinter’ and ‘Fir Grove, My Fir Grove’) entitled Three Russian Folk Songs. All ten adaptations were published in Volume 34 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1985). The foreign edition of the songs was put out in 1997 by the Japanese Publishers Zen-On Music.


back

Years


1951

more

Сочинения Сочинения для хора

Десять русских народных песен

Opus 88 Opus 90

Opus SO
1951 год

Десять русских народных песен. Б/н соч. (1951). Две русские народные песни. Соч. 104 (1957). Хоры без сопровождения из кинофильмов.
премьера:

18-октября-1971

Официальная премьера цикла прошла 18 октября 1971 года в Магнитогорске.

первое издание:

М., Музыка, 1985, Собрание сочинений Д. Шостаковича, том 34

рукописи:

Автограф хранится в РНММ— ф. 32, ед. хр. 121


Десять русских народных песен 
Обработки для солистов и смешанного хора в сопровождении фортепиано

     Сборник обработок русских народных песен - Десять русских народных песен (без опуса) - был создан Д.Д. Шостаковичем в 1950-е годы.  Это отдельный цикл обработок, в который вошли десять русских народных песен из трёх различных собраний, составленных не менее известными фольклористами разных времён — Н.А. Львовым — И. Прачем, Е.Э. Линёвой и Е.В. Гиппиусом. Большинство из них — «Грянул внезапно гром над Москвою» (№1), «За горами, за долами» (№2), «Из-за леса, леса копий и мечей» (№3), «Ночи тёмны, тучи грозны» (№4), «Что за песни» (№ 10) — были заимствованы из сборника «Русские народные песни» Е.В. Гиппиуса, вышедшего в Ленинграде в 1943 году.
     Следующим, старейшим по времени источником стал сборник «Русские народные песни» (СПб., издательство А.С.  Суворина, 1896), составленный Н.А. Львовым и записанный и гармонизованный И. Прачем. Шостакович использовал 4-е издание этого труда. Из собрания Львова—Прача Шостакович выбрал для обработки три песни: «Ельник, мой ельник» (№7), «Как у батюшки в зеленом саду» (№ 8) и «Говорила я другу милому» (№ 9).
     Две песни — «Кукушечка кукует» (№ 5) и «Лучина» (№ 6) — были взяты из первого выпуска сборника Е.Э. Линёвой «Великорусские песни в народной гармонизации» (СПб., 1904).
     Песни, избранные Шостаковичем для цикла, не связаны каким-либо общим сюжетом, но объединяются в определённые группы: первые четыре и последняя — солдатские походные песни (преимущественно казачьи); пятая, шестая, седьмая, восьмая и девятая — «женские» разножанровые песни (лирические, свадебные, протяжные, плясовые).
     Официальная премьера цикла прошла 18 октября 1971 года в Магнитогорске, а затем 3 декабря в Москве (Большой зал консерватории) в исполнении Магнитогорской государственной академической хоровой капеллы под руководством С.Г. Эйдинова. В Ленинграде исполнение Десяти русских народных песен состоялось 19 октября 1989 года Камерным хором Министерства культуры СССР под руководством В.К. Полянского (партия фортепиано — И.Л. Худолей).
     Впервые цикл был записан на пластинку в 1981 году Ленинградской академической государственной капеллой им. М.И. Глинки под руководством В.А. Чернушенко, солисты — Г. Беззубенков (№ 1, 3), Е. Попов (№ 2), Е. Бортников (№ 4), Ж. Полёвцова (№ 5), К. Герасимова (№ 6), Н. Кузнецова (№ 7), Ю. Антонова (№ 9), А. Селезнёв (№ 10), партия фортепиано — Л. Богомолова. В 1999 году вышла запись цикла в исполнении солистов и хора Академии хорового искусства под руководством В.С. Попова (партия фортепиано — Т. Кравченко).
     Стеклографическое издание обработок Десяти русских народных песен хранится в Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича. В 1952 году Музгизом были выпущены отдельные номера цикла («Кукушечка кукует», «Лучина» и «Ельник, мой ельник») под названием «Три русские народные песни». Все десять обработок были опубликованы в 34 томе Собрания сочинений Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1985). Зарубежное издание песен вышло в 1997 году в японском издательстве Zen-On Music.


назад

Годы жизни