Works Piano Compositions

Arthur Honegger. Third Symphony (“Liturgical“)

Opus SO Opus 74

Opus SO
~1947 year

Arthur Honegger. Liturgical Symphony. Arranged for two pianos.
first publication:

DSCH Publishers, Moscow, 2017

manuscripts:

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive—rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 314 (A)


Arthur Honegger. Third Symphony (“Liturgical“)
Arranged for Two Pianos

  The third arrangement done by Shostakovich primarily differs from the other two in that it was initially prompted by an audial impression (let us recall that the arrangements of the fragment of Mahler’s Tenth Symphony and Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms owe their appearance to Shostakovich’s acquaintance with the scores). Shostakovich heard Arthur Honegger’s Third (“Liturgical”) Symphony at the Prague Spring Festival in May 1947. It was a ground-breaking work at the time. The world premiere was held less than a year prior to this, on 17 August 1946 in Zurich under the baton of Charles Munch, to whom the symphony was dedicated. Munch also conducted it in Prague, where the symphony was performed twice, on 16 and 17 May, by the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra.
  Shostakovich’s itinerary in Prague was extremely full. In addition to the festival, he also participated in the International Congress of Composers and Musicologists, which began on 16 May. His diary chronicles the events, with the last congress meeting being scheduled for 26 May, the day of Shostakovich’s chamber concert. However, his diary does not mention Honegger’s symphony, so it is only possible to make an approximate guess at when precisely Shostakovich worked on the arrangement. Apparently, it was done between the two concerts, at which the “Liturgical” Symphony was performed using the conductor’s score, which it had been possible to obtain for a short while. Shostakovich usually immediately did a fair copy of this kind of work and wrote extremely quickly.
  The arrangement was clearly meant for the students of Shostakovich’s composition class, like the arrangement of Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms ten years earlier. However, judging from the appearance of the notation, the work was not used, and this is understandable—in the autumn of 1948, Shostakovich was dismissed from the Moscow and Leningrad conservatories and his teaching activity ceased for more than a decade.
  The manuscript of the arrangement was left to lie among the composer’s papers. It was found and attributed by Manashir Iakubov only after Shostakovich’s death.
  Shostakovich’s holograph contains the notation, the tempo indications and the numbers of movements given in Roman numerals. The rest is missing—there is neither the name of the author, nor the symphony’s subtitle “Liturgique” (“Liturgical”), nor the Latin names of the movements borrowed from Roman Catholic rite (Dies irae; De profundis clamavi; Dona nobis pacem). Manashir Iakubov believed that this was done for cautionary purposes—“so that no one would see at the border that he was bringing a religious work into the Soviet Union, he did not indicate the author, title, or names of the movements”.
  However, Shostakovich did not put Stravinsky’s name on the arrangement of the Symphony of Psalms either—it only has the name of the work. As for the Honegger piece, haste may have played its role here, nor can the copyright problem be excluded.
  Shostakovich’s arrangement had never been performed and remained essentially unknown until Manashir Iakubov found it. The publication of a different version of the arrangement of the same symphony for piano four hands done by Boris Berezovsky and Nikolai Khotuntsov (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1976), serves as indirect evidence of this.


back

Years


1947

more

Сочинения Сочинения для фортепиано

Артюр Онеггер. Третья симфония («Литургическая»)

Opus SO Opus 77

Opus SO
~1947 год

А. Онеггер. Литургическая симфония. Переложение для двух фортепиано.
первое издание:

Издательство DSCH, Москва, 2017

рукописи:

Архив Д. Д . Шостаковича — ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 314 (А)


Артюр Онеггер. Третья симфония («Литургическая»)
Переложение для двух фортепиано

  Третье переложение, сделанное Шостаковичем, отличается от двух других прежде всего тем, что первичным стимулом для его создания оказалось слуховое впечатление (напомним, что переложения фрагмента Десятой симфонии Малера и «Симфонии псалмов» Стравинского обязаны своим возникновением знакомству с партитурами). Третью («Литургическую») симфонию Артюра Онеггера Шостакович услышал на фестивале «Пражская весна» в мае 1947 года. Она была тогда новинкой: мировая премьера состоялась меньше чем за год до того, 17 августа 1946 года в Цюрихе, под управлением Шарля Мюнша, адресата её посвящения. Мюнш дирижировал ею в Праге, где симфония прозвучала дважды, 16 и 17 мая, в исполнении Чешского филармонического оркестра.
  График Шостаковича в Праге был очень плотным. Кроме фестиваля, он участвовал в Международном съезде композиторов и музыковедов, заседания которого проходили с 16 мая. О расписании событий можно судить по ежедневнику, где последнее собрание съезда значится 26 мая, в день камерного концерта Шостаковича. Но никаких упоминаний о партитуре Онеггера в ежедневнике нет, и судить о том, когда именно Шостакович занимался переложением, можно лишь предположительно.
  По-видимому, оно было сделано между двумя концертами, где исполнялась «Литургическая», — очевидно, по дирижёрской партитуре, которую удалось получить на короткий срок. Шостакович подобные работы делал сразу набело и очень быстро — практически это была скорость письма.
  Переложение явно предназначалось для студентов композиторского класса Шостаковича, подобно «Симфонии псалмов» Стравинского десятью годами ранее. Но, судя по виду нот, сочинение не нашло применения, и понятно, почему: осенью 1948 года Шостакович был уволен из Московской и Ленинградской консерваторий и его педагогическая деятельность прекратилась более чем на десятилетие.
  Рукопись переложения осталась лежать среди бумаг композитора, и только после его кончины была обнаружена и атрибутирована М. А. Якубовым.
  Автограф Шостаковича содержит нотный текст, обозначения темпов и номера частей, указанные римскими цифрами. Всё остальное отсутствует: нет ни имени автора, ни подзаголовка симфонии «Liturgique» («Литургическая»), ни латинских названий частей, заимствованных из римско-католического обихода — из реквиема, Псалтири и мессы (Dies irae; De profundis clamavi; Dona nobis pacem). М. А. Якубов считал, что это было сделано из осторожности: «чтобы на границе не увидели, что Шостакович везёт в Советский Союз религиозное сочинение, он не указал ни автора, ни заглавие, ни названия частей».
  Однако и на переложении «Симфонии псалмов» Шостакович не поставил имени Стравинского —там значится только название произведения. Что касается Онеггера, то здесь, возможно, сыграли свою роль и спешка, а также, не исключено, и проблемы авторского права.
  Переложение Шостаковича никогда не исполнялось и оставалось практически неизвестным до его обнаружения М. А. Якубовым. Косвенным доказательством этого может служить публикация другого варианта переложения той же самой симфонии — для фортепиано в четыре руки, осуществлённого Б. Березовским и Н. Хотунцовым (М., Музыка, 1976).


назад

Годы жизни