Works Instrumentations of Works by Other Composers

“Annie Laurie”

Opus 68 Opus 69

Opus SO
1944 year

Eight British and American Folk Songs. Sans. op.
premiere:

20-May-1944

Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow, Maria Maksakova accompanied by the State Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Alexander Orlov.

first publication:

DSCH Publishers, Moscow, 2009

manuscripts:

RNMM, rec. gr. 32, f. 124, sheets 1-1rev.


 “Annie Laurie”
Scottish Ballad for Voice and Piano
 
  The Scottish ballad “Annie Laurie” was instrumented by Shostakovich no later than the middle of May 1944. Both in terms of time and circumstances, as well as stylistics and nature of the orchestral facture, this work is undoubtedly affiliated with the Eight British and American Folk Songs.
  The fair copy of the author’s manuscript of the score of “Annie Laurie” was considered lost. Only the rough draft of the author’s manuscript was recorded in the reference publications. Derek Hulme does not single out this work as a separate composition at all, only mentioning the rough draft in a comment relating to the instrumentations of the Eight British and American Folk Songs.
  Nevertheless, the author’s manuscript of the score of the orchestration of the Scottish ballad “Annie Laurie” kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s personal depository at the Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture (GSCMMC) is the fair copy of the author’s manuscript, whereby executed extremely carefully and almost without any corrections or erasures.
  The original (piano score) Shostakovich used when working on the instrumentation is not indicated in the author’s manuscript. We was able to ascertain that the composer used the collection of British songs compiled by Nazari Raisky published in Moscow in 1942. The Scottish ballad “Annie Laurie” was published in the collection with the English and Russian text (translation by N.G. Raisky).
  Shostakovich retained the key of the original, the tessitura of the vocal part, and the facture of the accompaniment, supplementing it when necessary in order to accommodate the special features of the
orchestral arrangement. The instrumentation was done for a chamber orchestra composed of two flutes, two clarinets (in B), four French horns (in F), and  strings. So the score uses the same orchestral composition as the instrumentations of the Eight British and American Folk Songs.
  The ballad was performed for the first time on 20 May 1944 in Moscow in the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall by Maria Maksakova accompanied by the State Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Alexander Orlov. It was performed in the program of the Concert of British and Soviet music organized by VOKS and the Moscow State Philharmonic.

back

Years


1944

more

Сочинения Инструментовки произведений различных авторов

«Энни Лори»

Opus 68 Opus 69

Opus SO
1944 год

Восемь английских и американских народных песен. Б/н соч.
премьера:

20-мая-1944

Москва, Концертный зал им. П. И. Чайковского, Мария Максакова, Государственный симфонический оркестр, дирижер Александр Орлов.

первое издание:

Издательство DSCH, Москва, 2009

рукописи:

РНММ, ф. 32, ед. хр. 124, л. 1–1об.


«Энни Лори»
Шотландская баллада для голоса и фортепиано

  Шотландская баллада «Энни Лори» была оркестрована Шостаковичем не позднее середины мая 1944 года. И по времени и обстоятельствам возникновения, и по стилистике, по характеру оркестровой фактуры эта работа, несомненно, примыкает к Восьми английским и американским народным песням.
  Чистовой автограф партитуры «Энни Лори» считался утраченным. В справочных изданиях зафиксирован только черновой автограф. Дерек Хьюм вообще не выделяет эту работу как отдельное произведение, лишь упоминая черновик в примечании в связи с инструментовками Восьми английских и американских народных песен.
  Между тем автограф партитуры инструментовки шотландской баллады «Энни Лори», хранящийся в личном фонде Д. Д. Шостаковича в Государственном центральном музее музыкальной культуры им. М. И. Глинки (ГЦММК), — это чистовой автограф, притом выполненный весьма тщательно и почти не имеющий поправок или помарок.
  Первоисточник (клавир), которым пользовался Шостакович, работая над инструментовкой, в автографе не указан. Нам удалось установить, что композитор обратился к сборнику английских песен, составленному Назарием Райским и вышедшему в свет в Москве в 1942 году. Шотландская баллада «Энни Лори» опубликована в сборнике с английским и русским текстом (перевод Н. Г. Райского).
  Шостакович сохранил тональность оригинала, тесситуру вокальной партии и фактуру аккомпанемента, по необходимости дополнив её в связи с особенностями оркестрового изложения. Инструментовка сделана для камерного оркестра, включающего 2 флейты, 2 кларнета (in B), 4 валторны (in F) и струнные. Таким образом, партитура не выходит за рамки состава, используемого в инструментовках Восьми английских и американских народных песен.
  Впервые баллада была исполнена 20 мая 1944 года в Москве в Концертном зале им. П. И. Чайковского Марией Максаковой в сопровождении Государственного симфонического оркестра под управлением Александра Орлова. Она прозвучала в программе организованного ВОКС’ом и Московской государственной филармонией Концерта английской и советской музыки.


назад

Годы жизни