Works Compositions for the Stage

“The Gamblers”

Opus 63 Opus 65

Opus SO
1942 year

The Gamblers. Sans op. Opera. Score. Piano score.
premiere:

18-September-1978

The concert premiere of the opera was held in Leningrad on 18 September 1978. It was performed by soloists from the Moscow Chamber Music Theatre. The Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra was conducted by Gennadi Rozhdestvensky.

first publication:

Sovetskiy kompozitor Publishers, Moscow, 1981

manuscripts:

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive—rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 1


Premieres: 

  • As a concert performance in G. Rozhdestvensky's version - September 18, 1978 in the Great Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonia.
    Performed by the troupe of the Moscow Chamber Music Theatre and the symphony orchestra of the Leningrad State Philharmonia. Conductor G. Rozhdestvensky.
  • June 12, 1983 in the opera theatre of the town of Wuppertal (West Germany) the premiere of the stage version of the opera "The Gamblers" was presented in the version of the Polish composer K. Meyer, who had completed the music.

First Edition:  Score. D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 23, Moscow, 1986. Score and piano score, "Sovietsky kompozitor" Publishers, 1981.

 

"I started to write this opera in the wrong way. I decided to use Gogol's text without altering it, keeping in every single word. When I had written about ten pages of Gogol's text, it turned out that I already had fifty minutes of music... and there were at least another thirty pages to go!"


The Gamblers
Unfinished Opera Based on Nikolai Gogol’s
Play of the Same Name. Sans Op.

  Some sources mention that Shostakovich had the idea to write an opera based on Gogol’s The Gamblers as early as 1938.There is no documental confirmation of this; the date “28 V 1942” written at the top of the first page of the sketch of The Gamblers  gives reason to assume that workon the opera began at a later time.
   It appears that Shostakovich first mentioned this work in a letter to Vissarion Shebalin on
10 June 1942: “I am writing the opera The Gamblers. The words are complete and unchanged (sic!).” A letter to the same person on 11 November 1942 reads: “I am writing the unlikely opera The Gamblers little by little. I call it unlikely because of its unlikelihood: I have already written 30 (sic!) minutes of music, and this is approximately one seventh of the entire opera. It is too long. But I am finding this work entertaining and pleasurable.” And in a letter to the same correspondent on 27 December 1942, Shostakovich says: “I have stopped working on the composition I showed you when I was in Moscow (The Gamblers) due to the entire pointlessness of this endeavour.” He wrote the same thing in a letter to Isaak Glikman on 1 March 1943: “I made great strides in composing the opera The Gamblers, but I am not shouting from the rooftops about it since I have already stopped writing it.” And in a letter to Marietta Shaginyan dated the same day, he wrote: “…I’ve given up writing … the opera, although I spent about a year on it.” So Shostakovich worked on The Gamblers for most of 1942.
   After the war, Shostakovich gave the author’s manuscript of the score of The Gamblers to his student
Galina Ustvolskaya, but in the winter of 1974, he took it back20 in order to include music from the opera in the Viola Sonata, Op. 147—his last work finished in the summer of 1975.
  The concert premiere of the opera was held in Leningrad on 18 September 1978. It was performed by
soloists from the Moscow Chamber Music Theatre: Vladimir Rybasenko (Aleksei), Boris Tarkhov (Ikharev), Valeri Belykh (Gavryushka), Nikolai Kurpe (Krugel), Ashot Sarkisov (Shvokhnev) and Yaroslav Radionik (Uteshitelny). The Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra was conducted by Gennadi Rozhdestvensky, and Valeri Sudak performed the bass balalaika solo. The recording of the premiere performance was issued by Melodiya in 1979 and reissued on a compact disc in 1998 (along with the opera The Nose conducted by Rozhdestvensky, Melodiya).
  Shostakovich’s biographer, the Polish composer and outstanding master of stylisation, Krzysztof
Meyer, made a successful attempt to finish The Gamblers.


recordings:

  • Symphony Orchestra of the Leningrad State Philharmonic. Soloists: V. Rybasenko, B. Tarkhov, V. Belykh, N. Kurpe, A. Sarkisov, Y. Radivonik. Conductor: G. Rozhdestvensky. 1978 // Melodia Eurodisc 200 370-405, 1979
  • Symphony Orchestra of the Leningrad State Philharmonic. Soloists: V. Rybasenko, B. Tarkhov, V. Belykh, N. Kurpe, A. Sarkisov, Y. Radivonik. Conductor: G. Rozhdestvensky. 1978 // Melodia C 10-11599-600, 1979

back

Years


1942

more

Сочинения Сочинения для музыкального театра

«Игроки»

Opus 63 Opus 65

Opus SO
1942 год

«Игроки». Б/н соч. Опера. Партитура. Клавир.
премьера:

18-сентября-1978

Премьера оперы «Игроки» в концертном исполнении состоялась в Ленинграде 18 сентября 1978 года. Пели солисты Московского камерного музыкального театра. Симфоническим оркестром Ленинградской филармонии дирижировал Геннадий Рождественский.

первое издание:

М.: Советский композитор 1981г.

рукописи:

Архив Д. Д . Шостаковича — ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 1


Премьеры:

  • В концертном исполнении в редакции Г. Рождественского — 18 сентября 1978 года в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии.
    Исполнители: артисты Московского камерного музыкального театра и Симфонический оркестр Ленинградской государственной филармонии. Дирижер Г. Рождественский.
  • 12 июня 1983 года в оперном театре г. Вупперталь (ФРГ) состоялась сценическая премьера оперы «Игроки» в редакции польского композитора К. Мейера, дописавшего музыку.

Первое издание:  Партитура. Шостакович Д. Д. Собр. соч., т.23, М., 1986. Партитура и клавир. Советский композитор, 1981.

 

«Я неправильно стал писать эту оперу. Решил написать на неизменный текст Гоголя, не пропуская ни одного слова, — и когда я написал примерно страниц десять гоголевского текста, то оказалось, что это уже идет у меня 50 минут. А там еще осталось у меня страниц тридцать!»


«Игроки»
Неоконченная опера по одноимённой пьесе
Н. Гоголя б/н соч.

  В литературе упоминается версия, согласно которой замысел оперы «Игроки» по одноимённой комедии Гоголя возник у Шостаковича чуть ли не в 1938 году. Вверху первой страницы эскиза «Игроков» выставлена дата «28 V 1942», что даёт основание отнести начало работы над оперой к более позднему времени. В опубликованном эпистолярии композитора процесс сочинения оперы отражён скупо.
  Первое упоминание об этой работе фигурирует в письме В. Я . Шебалину от 10 июня 1942 года:
«Я пишу оперу „Игроки“. Слова полные и неизменные (sic!)». Письмо тому же адресату от 11 ноября 1942 года гласит: «Пишу понемногу нереальную оперу „Игроки“. Нереальной я её зову по причине её нереальности: уже написано музыки на 30 (sic!) минут, а это является примерно одной седьмой всей оперы. Слишком длинно. Однако занимаюсь этим делом не без увлечения и удовольствия». А в письме тому же адресату от 27 декабря 1942 года Шостакович сообщает: «Работу, которую я тебе показывал, будучи в Москве („Игроки“), прекратил, ввиду полной бессмысленности этого предприятия». О том же — в письме И. Д . Гликману от 1 марта 1943 года: «Сильно продвинул оперу „Игроки“, но оперу эту не рекламирую, т. к. писать её уже бросил». И в письме М. С . Шагинян, датированном тем же днём: «<...> оперу <...> писать бросил, хотя возился с ней около года». Шостакович работал над «Игроками» значительную часть 1942 года.
  После войны Шостакович подарил автограф партитуры «Игроков» своей ученице Галине Уствольской, но зимой 1974 года забрал его обратно, чтобы включить материал из оперы в Альтовую сонату соч. 147 — своё последнее произведение, завершённое летом 1975 года.
  Премьера оперы «Игроки» в концертном исполнении состоялась в Ленинграде 18 сентября 1978 года. Пели солисты Московского камерного музыкального театра: Владимир Рыбасенко (Алексей), Борис Тархов (Ихарев), Валерий Белых (Гаврюшка), Николай Курпе (Кругель), Ашот Саркисов (Швохнев), Ярослав Радионик (Утешительный). Симфоническим оркестром Ленинградской филармонии дирижировал Геннадий Рождественский; соло на басовой балалайке — Валерий Судак. Запись премьерного исполнения была выпущена фирмой «Мелодия» в 1979 году, переиздана на компакт-диске в 1998-м (вместе с оперой «Нос» под управлением Рождественского, «Мелодия»).
  Удачный опыт завершения «Игроков» предпринял биограф Шостаковича, польский композитор,
выдающийся мастер стилизации Кшиштоф Мейер.


записи:

  • Симфонический оркестр Ленинградской Государственной филармонии. Солисты: В. Рыбасенко, Б. Тархов, В. Белых, Н. Курпе, А. Саркисов, Я. Радивоник. Дирижёр: Г. Рождественский. 1978 // Melodia Eurodisc 200 370-405, 1979
  • Симфонический оркестр Ленинградской Государственной филармонии. Солисты: В. Рыбасенко, Б. Тархов, В. Белых, Н. Курпе, А. Саркисов, Я. Радивоник. Дирижёр: Г. Рождественский. 1978 // Мелодия С 10-11599-600, 1979

назад

Годы жизни