Works Orchestral Compositions

Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orchestra

Opus 54 Opus 56

Opus SO
1938 year

Compositions for Wind Orchestra and Jazz Orchestra. Scores.
premiere:

28-November-1938

manuscripts:

The score and parts of Suite No. 2 for the jazz orchestra apparently did not survive. In 1999, in the personal fund of Dmitri Shostakovich at the M. Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture, among the “unidentified” manuscripts, was found a draft sketch of all three parts. The manuscript does not have a common name, and the parts are arranged in it in the wrong order that developed in the final version of the composition.


Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orchestra 
Sans op. (1938)

     Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orchestra in Three Movements (1. Scherzo, 2. Lullaby, 3. Serenade) was written in 1938 as ordered by the newly created USSR State Jazz Orchestra.
     Shostakovich’s suite occupied the central place in the new collective’s first programme. The head conductor of the State Jazz Orchestra Viktor Knushevitsky testifies that the premiere of this orchestra programme took place in November, during the Decade of Soviet Music, in the House of Unions Hall of Columns.
     The score and parts of Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orchestra have not survived.
     In 1999, a rough draft of all three pieces was found in Dmitri Shostakovich’s personal depository in the Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture (GSCMMC) among the unidentified author’s manuscripts. The author’s manuscript does not have a general heading, and the pieces are not arranged in it in the order they are in the final version of the composition.
     The rough drafts found in Dmitri Shostakovich’s personal depository at GSCMMC laid the foundation for this work’s return to the concert stage. In 2000, British composer Gerard McBurney revived and instrumented all three movements of Suite No. 2.
     On 9 September 2000, the world premiere of the revived composition took place in the Albert Hall in London. The BBC orchestra was conducted by Colin Davis. In Moscow, Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orchestra in Gerard McBurney’s instrumentation was heard for the first time on 19 September 2001 in the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall as performed by the State Symphonic Orchestra under the direction of Vladimir Ponkin.


recordings:

  • Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam. Conductor: Shayi R. 1991 // DECCA 433702-2 D H, 1993
  • Philadelphia Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Jansons M. 1997 // HMV 5 73047 2, 1998

back

Years


1938

more

Сочинения Сочинения для оркестра

Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра

Opus 54 Opus 56

Opus SO
1938 год

Произведения для  духового  оркестра  и  для  джаз-оркестра. Партитуры.
премьера:

28-ноября-1938

Декада советской музыки, в Колонном зале Дома Союзов.

рукописи:

Партитура и голоса Сюиты № 2 для джаз-оркестра, видимо, не сохранились. В 1999 году в личном фонде Д.Д.Шостаковича в Государственном центральном музее музыкальной культуры имени М.И.Глинки среди «неопознанных» автографов удалось найти черновой эскиз всех трёх пьес. Автограф не имеет общего названия, и пьесы расположены в нём не в том порядке, который сложился в окончательной версии сочинения.


Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра
б/н соч. (1938)

     Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра в трёх частях (1. Скерцо, 2. Колыбельная, 3. Серенада) была написана в 1938 году по заказу только что созданного Государственного джаз-оркестра СССР.
     Сюита Шостаковича заняла центральное место в первой программе коллектива. Главный дирижёр Государственного джаз-оркестра В. Кнушевицкий свидетельствует, что премьера этой программы оркестра состоялась в ноябре 1938 года, в дни Декады советской музыки, в Колонном зале Дома Союзов.
     Партитура и голоса Сюиты № 2 для джаз-оркестра не сохранились.
     В 1999 году в личном фонде Д.Д. Шостаковича в Государственном центральном музее музыкальной культуры имени М.И. Глинки среди «неопознанных» автографов удалось найти черновой эскиз всех трёх пьес. Автограф не имеет общего названия, и пьесы расположены в нём не в том порядке, который сложился в окончательной версии сочинения.
     Обнаруженные в личном фонде Д.Д. Шостаковича в ГЦММК черновые эскизы послужили основой для возвращения этого произведения на концертную эстраду. В 2000 году английский композитор Джерард МакБёрни (Gerard McBurney) восстановил и инструментовал все три части Сюиты № 2.
     9 сентября 2000 года в Лондоне, в Альберт-холле состоялась мировая премьера возрождённого сочинения. Оркестром Би-Би-Си (ВВС) дирижировал Колин Дэвис. В Москве Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра в инструментовке Дж. МакБёрни впервые прозвучала 19 сентября 2001 года в Концертном зале имени П.И. Чайковского в исполнении Государственного симфонического оркестра под управлением В. Понькина.


записи:

  • Королевский оркестр Концертгебау, Амстердам. Дирижер: Шайи Р. 1991 // DECCA 433702-2 D H, 1993
  • Филадельфийский симфонический оркестр. Дирижер: Янсонс М. 1997 // HMV 5 73047 2, 1998

назад

Годы жизни