Works Compositions for the Stage

“Orango”. Unfinished Satirical Opera (Political Lampoon)

Opus 32 Opus 34

Opus SO
1932 year

Orango. Unfinished Satirical Opera (Political Lampoon)
Orango. Sans op. Unfinished Satirical Opera (Political Lampoon). Piano score. Score.
premiere:

02-December-2011

The semi-staged world premiere of the opera was performed at the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, USA (directed by Peter Sellars, lighting design by Ben Zamora). The opera was performed by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen, the Los Angeles Master Chorale (choir master Grant Gershon).

first publication:

Piano score. DSCH Publishers, 2010. “Dmitri Shostakovich Archive” series; Piano score, score DSCH Publishers. 2014. Volume 57 of the New Collected Works.

manuscripts:

Glinka All-Russia Museum Association of Musical Culture, rec. gr. 32, f. 2164


Orango
Unfinished Satirical Opera

Libretto by Alexei Tolstoy and Alexander Starchakov
June — July 1932, Moscow — Leningrad
Unfinished 

Instrumentation by Gerard McBurney

Orchesta:
Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, Corno inglese, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 2 Clarinetti (B), Clarinetto basso (B), 2 Sassofoni (Soprani (B), Alto (Es), 2 Fagotti, Contrafagotto
6 Corni (F), 3 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Sonagli, Legno, Castagnetti, Raganella, Tamburino, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam, Fischio di milizia, Claxon
Jazz batteria
Campanelli, Silifono, Flauto a coulisse, Flessatono
Banjo, Baritono (B)
Archi.
Coro SATB.

Duration: 32–38′.

Cast of Characters:

Susanna, foreigner—soprano
Renée, Armand Fleury’s daughter—contralto
Armand Fleury, embryologist—tenor
Paul Mâche, journalist—tenor
1st Foreigner—tenor
2nd Foreigner—tenor
Zoologist—tenor
Orango, human-like ape—baritone
Voice from the crowd—bass
Veselchak (Cheery Fellow-Master of Ceremonies)—bass
Nastya Terpsikhorova—ballerina


     Soviet Russia, caught up in a wave of enthusiasm, began preparing for the main red-letter day of the year, the 15th anniversary of the October Revolution, at the very beginning of 1932. All of the capital’s theatres and concert organisations were inexorably drawn into the vortex of the pre-celebration arrangements, and their ups and downs were diligently and regularly discussed in the press.
    Shostakovich was engaged in this October bacchanalia in all genres at the same time. Judging from the announcements in the press, he had promised to commemorate the festive events with a truly impressive torrent of creative works.
An opera, an operetta, a massive multi-movement symphony with choir, incidental music, film music, and music for a TRAM march were the components of the lavish celebration bouquet Shostakovich blithely promised for the red-letter days (but did not deliver until the end of the year and in a ludicrously sparse version). Of course, the composer gave special attention to the opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, his pet composition and main “trump card” of 1932. However in the spring, at the peak of the general pre-October hysteria, Shostakovich unexpectedly received a flattering offer which he could not and did not want to refuse.
    Preoccupied with the upcoming October festivities, the Bolshoi Theatre began drawing up a celebratory programme at the very beginning of the anniversary year. On 31 January, the theatre’s administration and poet Demyan Bedny signed a contract on creating a heroic-epic play in five acts called The Key (based on a feuilleton by Bedny of the same name), which was to form the framework of “a musical composition for a performance to be put on at GABT (State Academic Bolshoi Theatre) in celebration of the 15th anniversary of the October Revolution”. Shostakovich became involved in this massive heroic-epic idea generated from folklore-revolutionary propaganda more than a month later.
    But the heroic-epic idea cherished by the Bolshoi Theatre never did come to pass. On 10 May 1932, five days before the deadline stipulated in the contract for submitting the script, Demyan Bedny informed the theatre in a letter of contrition that he was terminating the contract: “I cannot finish the work by the date I committed myself to. I am entirely to blame for the contract not being fulfilled.”
    Demyan Bedny’s letter came as an unexpected shock to the Bolshoi’s administration, placing the anniversary undertakings in jeopardy. The play had to be urgently replaced with another and an author found whose professionalism and ability to meet the urgent deadline aroused no doubts. Theatre made an immediate and seemingly heaven-sent decision to ask prominent writer Alexei Nikolayevich Tolstoy (with his permanent co-author Alexander Osipovich Starchakov) to help out, and as early as 12 May 1932 received a written reply: “I hereby agree to write an opera with D.D. Shostakovich and A.O. Starchakov on the theme of human growth during revolution and building socialism.
    The same day, 12 May 1932, Shostakovich also gave his written consent to participate in the new cooperation. But after dealing with Demyan Bedny’s sudden change of heart, the composer tried to safeguard himself against such force majeurs in the future with the assistance of a new mandatory item in the contract—that the deadlines for submitting the libretto should be insured against the arbitrariness of its writers. In his statement to the theatre’s administration, he wrote: “I hereby inform you of my consent to switch the contract I have already signed with GABT to write the opera The Key to a contract for writing an opera on a text by Tolstoy and Starchakov. The conditions remain the same. I consider it necessary to include an item in the contract on the deadlines for submitting the libretto to me, in particular: the first act by 20 June 1932. The rest, stage-wise, by 1 November 1932. DShostakovich 12 V 1932.”
    Shostakovich could not actually begin work until after 20 June 1932, after he received the first act of the play from the librettists. The Bolshoi’s administration, seeing no new difficulties with the long-suffering anniversary performance and wishing to draw special attention to it and provide the theatre with a full collection, hastened to make an announcement about it in advance: “The Bolshoi Theatre of the USSR will show a new satirical opera Orango in the upcoming season [1932/33]. The opera libretto is being written by Alexei Tolstoy and A. Starchakov. Music by composer D. Shostakovich. The opera Orango has been conceived as a political lampoon against the bourgeois press. The plot of the libretto has been borrowed from A. Starchakov’s story ‘The Career Rise of Arthur Christie’.”
    The new performance Orango also promised to be “rousing” and “stirring”. And also, most likely, “lively” and “charging”. The loosely interpreted theme “on human growth during revolution and building socialism”, which was in keeping with the course of enlightenment being steered by the Bolshoi Theatre (“bringing up new proletarian builders of socialism”), made it very possible for the future opera to join the ongoing process of “cultural service”…
    But unfortunately for the Bolshoi Theatre events careened out of control again and began to develop according to the already well-known and grievous scenario: the writers never did write the libretto and the question of an opera on a topical theme became redundant.
    Still, termination of the contract on Orango was not as wrenching as it might have been, since at the same time Shostakovich and the Bolshoi Theatre entered a new contract, this time on the performance in 1933 of the opera Lady Macbeth, which both sides were equally interested in, and, as it seemed, compensated more than generously for the mutual moral and financial outlays. If it were a success, this opera premiere could indeed remove the bitter aftertaste left by the October fiasco.

By January-February 1933, after a two-month break, Shostakovich once again set feverishly to work composing the opera Lady Macbeth, preceding the beginning of the sketch work on the 4th act with the notes “4th Act / Scene 9”, his personal signature and the date: “DShostakovich 15 / X 1932”. At the same day he signed a rejection on the hapless Orango, for which there was indeed no longer either the possibility, time, desire, or moral strength to see through. The fact that Starchakov and Tolstoy had failed to write the libretto meant that the composer was entirely blameless for the aborted anniversary performance; the new agreement with the Bolshoi Theatre changed the vector of interests...


back

Years


1932

more

Сочинения Сочинения для музыкального театра

«Оранго». Неоконченная опера-буфф (политический памфлет)

Opus 32 Opus 34

Opus SO
1932 год

Оранго. Неоконченная опера-буфф (политический памфлет)
«Оранго». Б/н соч. Неоконченная опера-буфф (политический памфлет). Клавир. Партитура.
премьера:

02-декабря-2011

Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles, USA. Мировая премьера сочинения с элементами театрализации. Режиссёр Peter Sellars, световое оформление Ben Zamora). Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, дирижер Esa-Pekka Salonen, Los Angeles Master Chorale, хормейстер Grant Gershon.

первое издание:

Клавир. Издательство DSCH, 2010. Серия «Архив Д. Д. Шостаковича»; Клавир, партитура Издательство DSCH. 2014. Том 57 Нового собрания сочинений.

рукописи:

Клавир. Автограф, 8 л. (Всероссийское музейное объединение музыкальной культуры им. М.И. Глинки, ф. 32, ед. хр. 2164).


«Оранго»
Неоконченная опера-буфф

Либретто Алексея Толстого и Александра Старчакова
Июнь — июль 1932, Москва — Ленинград
Не завершена

 Инструментовка Джерарда МакБёрни.

Состав оркестра:
Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, Corno inglese, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 2 Clarinetti (B), Clarinetto basso (B), 2 Sassofoni (Soprani (B), Alto (Es), 2 Fagotti, Contrafagotto
6 Corni (F), 3 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Sonagli, Legno, Castagnetti, Raganella, Tamburino, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam, Fischio di milizia, Claxon
Jazz batteria
Campanelli, Silifono, Flauto a coulisse, Flessatono
Banjo, Baritono (B)
Archi.
Coro SATB.

Длительность: 32–38′.

Действующие лица:

Сюзанна, иностранка — сопрано
Рене, дочь Армана Флери — контральто
Арман Флери, эмбриолог — тенор
Поль Маш, журналист — тенор
1-й иностранец — тенор
2-й иностранец — тенор
Зоолог — тенор
Оранго, человек-обезьяна — баритон
Голос из толпы — бас
Весельчак — бас
Настя Терпсихорова — балерина


    С первых дней 1932 года охваченная энтузиазмом советская Россия начала готовиться к главной юбилейной дате — 15-летию Октябрьской революции. В водоворот предпраздничной подготовки почти в принудительном порядке были втянуты все столичные театры и концертные организации, а её перипетии стали исправно и регулярно обсуждаться в печати.
    В этой октябрьской вакханалии Шостакович был задействован сразу по всем жанровым направлениям. Судя по анонсам в прессе, он обещал ознаменовать праздничные даты поистине впечатляющим творческим залпом.
    Опера, оперетта, масштабная многочастная симфония с хором, музыка к драматическому спектаклю, киномузыка, музыка трамовского марша — таков был роскошный праздничный букет, беспечно обещанный Шостаковичем к «красным датам», и в конце года до смешного поредевший. Особое внимание, конечно, композитор уделял опере «Леди Макбет Мценского уезда», любимому сочинению, главному своему «козырю» 1932 года. Однако весной, в разгар всеобщей предоктябрьской истерии, Шостакович неожиданно получил лестное предложение, от которого не смог, да и не захотел уклониться.
    Озабоченный грядущими октябрьскими торжествами, Большой театр начал формировать праздничную программу с первых же недель юбилейного года. 31 января Дирекция театра и поэт Демьян Бедный заключили договор на создание героико-эпической пьесы в пяти актах «Разгадка» (на тему одноимённого фельетона Бедного), которая должна была лечь в основу «музыкального произведения для постановки в ГАБТ к XV-й годовщине октябрьской революции». Шостакович подключился к этому масштабному героико-эпическому замыслу, рождённому из фольклорно-революционной агитки, более месяца спустя.
    Однако лелеемый Большим театром героико-эпический замысел так и не воплотился. 10 мая 1932 года, за пять дней до указанного в договоре срока сдачи литературного материала, Демьян Бедный покаянным письмом известил театр о расторжении договора: «к тому сроку, который я себе выговорил, я не справился с работой. вина в невыполнении договора целиком лежит на мне».
    Для дирекции Большого театра письмо Демьяна Бедного явилось шоковой неожиданностью, ставившей под удар юбилейные мероприятия. Требовалась срочная замена пьесы с привлечением автора, чей профессионализм и способность уложиться в сжатые сроки не вызывали бы сомнений. Театр принял молниеносное и казавшееся спасительным решение привлечь к сотрудничеству видного писателя Алексея Николаевича Толстого (с его постоянным соавтором Александром Осиповичем Старчаковым) и уже 12 мая 1932 года получил письменный отклик: «Настоящим подтверждаю своё согласие на написание оперы совместно с Д. Д. Шостаковичем и А. О. Старчаковым на тему о росте человека в процессе революции и социалистического строительства.
    В этот же день, 12 мая 1932 года, дал своё письменное согласие на новое сотрудничество и Шостакович. Однако, столкнувшись с отказом от работы Демьяна Бедного, композитор попытался оградить себя от подобных форс-мажоров в будущем при помощи нового обязательного пункта договора — о сроках сдачи ему либретто, страховавших от произвола литераторов. В своём заявлении дирекции театра он писал: «Настоящим сообщаю о своём согласии перезаключить имеющийся у меня с Габтом договор на написание оперы „Разгадка“ на договор по написанию оперы на текст Толстого и Старчакова. Условия остаются те же. Считаю необходимым вставить в договор пункт о сроках сдачи мне либретто, а именно: 1-й акт 20 июня 1932 г. остальные в постепенном порядке до 1-го ноября 1932 г. ДШостакович12 V 1932».
    Реально приступить к работе Шостакович мог только после 20 июня 1932 года, получив от либреттистов I акт пьесы. Дирекция Большого театра, не предвидя новых осложнений с многострадальным юбилейным показом, желая привлечь к нему особое внимание и обеспечить театру полный сбор, поспешила дать анонс заблаговременно: «Большой театр СССР в будущем сезоне [1932/33] покажет новую оперу-буфф „Оранго“. Либретто оперы пишут Алексей Толстой и А. Старчаков. Музыку — композитор Д. Шостакович. Опера „Оранго“ задумана как политический памфлет, направленный против буржуазной печати. Тема для либретто заимствована из повести А. Старчакова „Карьера Артура Кристи“».
    Новый спектакль «Оранго» тоже обещал быть «бодрящим» и «вооружающим». а ещё, вероятно, — «живым» и «зарядковым». Широко трактуемая тема «о росте человека в условиях революции и социалистического строительства», отвечающая просветительской линии Большого театра («воспитание новых пролетарских кадров социалистических строителей»), вполне позволяла будущей опере подключиться к непрерывному процессу «культурного обслуживания»...
    Но, к несчастью для Большого театра, события снова вышли из-под контроля и стали развиваться по уже известному плачевному сценарию: литераторы так и не написали либретто, и вопрос об опере на злободневный сюжет отпал сам собой.
    И всё же расторжение договора на «Оранго», надо думать, прошло достаточно безболезненно, поскольку в эти же дни Шостакович и Большой театр заключили новый договор — на постановку в 1933 году оперы «Леди Макбет», равно желанный для обеих сторон и, как казалось, с лихвой возмещавший обоюдные моральные и финансовые издержки. В случае успеха эта оперная премьера, действительно, могла бы притупить горький привкус «октябрьского» фиаско.

    К январю–февралю 1933 года, после двухмесячного перерыва, Шостакович вновь принимается за сочинение оперы «Леди Макбет», предваряя начало эскизной работы над IV актом пометами «4-й акт / 9-я картина», личной росписью и датой: «ДШостакович 15 / X 1932». В этот же день он подписал отказ от незадачливого «Оранго», для которого действительно уже не оставалось ни возможностей, ни времени, ни желания, ни душевных сил. Отсутствие либретто Старчакова– Толстого снимало с композитора ответственность за сорванный юбилейный показ; новое соглашение с Большим театром меняло вектор интересов... 


назад

Годы жизни