Works Piano Compositions

Piano Pieces from 1918-1920

Opus 1

Opus SO
1918-1920 year

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Miniatures of Different Years
manuscripts:

"Funeral March in Memory of the Victims of the Revolution" — the author’s copy kept in family archive of Olga Belova, the greatgranddaughter of Nina Kokoulina, St. Petersburg, sheet 2rev.; "Nostalgia" — The manuscript kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, inv. 1, f. 271, 1 sheet; "Piece in C major" — The manuscript kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 264/1, 4 sheets; "Prelude-March" — The manuscript kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 264/1, sheets 4-6; "In the Forest" — The manuscript kept in Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 264/1, sheets 6-8rev; "Bagatelle" — The manuscript kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, section 1,f. 270, 1 sheet; "Minuet, Prelude, Intermezzo" — The copy RNMM, rec. gr. 32, f. 44, 2 sheets.


Funeral March in Memory of the Victims of the Revolution. Sans op. 1918

  The “Funeral March” was dedicated to the memory of Ministers of the Provisional Government Fedor Fedorovich Kokoshkin and Andrei Ivanovich Shingarev, who were killed during the night of 7 January 1918 by anarchist sailors while undergoing treatment in the Mariinsky Hospital. A little earlier, between January and April 1917, Shostakovich was an involuntary participant in several events related to the revolutionary movement.
  The composition is based on the rhythmic and textural formulas of the funeral march. In terms of form, this is a repeated period rather than a usual three-part structure with a middle part in major mode.
  The piece is being published for the first time. It was previously published only as a facsimile.


Nostalgia. Sans op. 1918

  Another version of the title is “Soldier Reminiscing about His Homeland”. This may be either the piece’s initial name or its intended subtitle.
  Along with the piece “Reminiscence”, “Nostalgia” belonged to the cycle the author designated as Op. 5.
  Judging from the content and the initial title, it can be presumed that the work was a response to the events of the First World War.
  “Nostalgia” was later renamed “Melancholia”, and with this title was included in the exercise book bearing the inscription “1919” on the cover. However, since the last four bars of “Melancholia” have not survived, the first version of the piece is being published.
  “Nostalgia” has not been published or performed before, and was put out only in the form of a facsimile.


[Piece in C Major]. Sans op. 1919

  Shostakovich included three piano pieces of 1919 in an exercise book titled “1919”. These are a “Piece in C major”, which does not have an author’s heading; “Prelude-March”; and “In the Forest”. The fourth piece, “Melancholia”, coincides with the “Nostalgia” of 1918 and appears in the exercise book in an incomplete form. The pieces have not been published before. There is no information about their performances.
  The “Piece in C major” might have been performed as a prelude at entrance exams to the conservatory in September 1919. This assumption is based on the fact that it is dated as 1919, the presence in the author’s manuscript of the title “I Prelude”, entered by another person, and the nature of the music built on genre formulas of the prelude. Moreover, the main theme of this piece, by its general textural outline, anticipates the beginning of the Prelude in C major from Op. 34.


Prelude-March. Sans op. 1919

  The “Prelude-March” is another, along with the “Funeral March”, early composition in the genre of “marche funèbre”, more innovative in texture and form and more complicated in piano technique. The theme of the “Prelude-March” was used in the “Piece in C sharp minor”, a relatively large-scale composition in passagework texture that has not survived in full.
  This piece also belongs to the exercise book called “1919”.


In the Forest. Sans op. 1919

  The piece “In the F orest” from the same exercise book titled “1919” is possibly related to the time Shostakovich studied with Georgy Bruni—it is known that this professor, who encouraged improvisation, offered Shostakovich themes related to nature: “In the Forest”, “In the Meadow”, “The Little Stream”. The piece’s first section was written in imitation of Liszt’s “Forest Murmurs”—sextuplets of semiquavers in the right hand accompany the solo in the left. In the second section (Tempo di valse), trills appear in the upper register, while in the recapitulation they are moved downward; the author innovatively transforms the theme of the first section into a sequence of trills placed under the right-hand figurations.


Bagatelle. Sans op. 1919

  This piece for piano was written in 1919 and dedicated to Marianna Fedorovna Gramenitskaya, with whom the author studied first in Ignati Glyasser’s courses and then in Professor Leonid Nikolayev’s piano class at the conservatory. However, at present there are no data showing that the piece was given to the person it was dedicated to, or even if Gramenitskaya knew about the existence of this work. In the same year 1919, Shostakovich rearranged the musical material of “Bagatelle” and included it in Prelude No. 2 in G major.
  There are still no documents testifying to any public performances of “Bagatelle”, so the première of this work should be considered 30 September 2016, when it was played by Sergey Redkin in the Small Hall of the St. Petersburg Conservatory at a concert during the International Conference Dedicated to the 110th Anniversary of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Birthday: New Documents, Research, Interpretations.
  A fragment of the work’s holograph was reproduced in the book Shostakovich at the Leningrad Conservatory.
  The first publication was issued by St. Petersburg’s Kompozitor Publishers in 2016.


Three Pieces. Sans op. 1919-1920
Minuet, Prelude, Intermezzo

  The manuscript of these three pieces was kept in the archive of Aleksandra Rozanova-Nechayeva, Shostakovich’s piano teacher in 1917-1920.
  Shostakovich does not mention the pieces in his reminiscences, and only Rozanova’s nephew, Aleksandr Rozanov, has anything to say about them. According to him, Shostakovich rewrote his piano pieces and presented them to Rozanova, while Rozanov himself later gave the manuscript to the State Central Museum of Musical Culture (now Russian National Museum of Music).
  He also did the attribution, but this has still not been confirmed by other data. The fact that the pieces were not written in Shostakovich’s hand is worthy of particular mention. Nor is there any information confirming the generally accepted date most likely inferred on the basis of the time the composer studied in Rozanova’s class at the conservatory. It seems quite possible that the pieces date back to an earlier time, since, according to Olga Digonskaya and Galina Kopytova, they feature an element of stylization that is not characteristic of the time the composer studied in the conservatory.
  At present, the foreign and Russian music reference guides indicate that Minuet was written during 1919-1920, which corresponds to the time the composer was studying in Rozanova’s class.
  The pieces were first published in 1983 in Volume 39 of Collected Works. Furthermore, Minuet was
published as part of Shostakovich’s Selected Piano Works in 1985 in Kiev.
  The first performance and recording were done in the 1980s by Viktoria Postnikova.


back

Years


1920

more

Сочинения Сочинения для фортепиано

Фортепианные пьесы 1918–1920 годов

Opus 1

Opus SO
1918-1920 год

Фортепианные миниатюры Д. Шостаковича разных лет
рукописи:

"Траурный марш памяти жертв революции" — авторская копия хранится в Семейном архиве правнучки Н. И. Кокоулиной — О. Ю. Беловой, СПб., л. 2 об.; "Тоска" —Автограф хранится в Архиве Д. Д. Шостаковича, ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 271, 1 л.; "Пьеса C-dur" —Автограф хранится в Архиве Д. Д. Шостаковича, ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 264/1, 4 л.; "Прелюд-марш" —Автограф хранится в Архиве Д. Д. Шостаковича, ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 264/1, л. 4–6; "В лесу" —Автограф хранится в Архиве Д. Д. Шостаковича, ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 264/1, л. 6–8 об.; "Багатель" —Автограф хранится в Архиве Д. Д. Шостаковича — ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 270, 1 л.; "Менуэт", "Прелюдия", "Интермеццо" — Копия РНММ, ф. 32, ед. хр. 44, 2 л.


Траурный марш памяти жертв революции. Б/н соч. 1918.

  Траурный марш посвящён памяти министров Временного правительства Фёдора Фёдоровича Кокошкина и Андрея Ивановича Шингарёва, которые были убиты матросами-анархистами в период их нахождения в Мариинской больнице на лечении в ночь с 6 на 7 января 1918 года. Чуть ранее, в период с января по апрель 1917 года, Шостакович оказался невольным участником нескольких событий, связанных с революционным движением.
  Сочинение основано на ритмических и фактурных формулах похоронного марша. По форме это повторённый период — взамен обычной для образцов жанра трёхчастной формы с мажорной средней частью.
  Публикуется впервые. Ранее публиковалось как факсимиле.


Тоска. Б/н соч. 1918.

  Ещё один вариант названия — «Солдат, вспоминающий о родине»198 — является подзаголовком или первым вариантом названия. Наряду с пьесой «Воспоминание», «Тоска» входила в цикл, озаглавленный автором как «op. 5».
  Судя по содержанию и по первому названию, можно предполагать, что произведение явилось откликом на события Первой мировой войны.
  «Тоска» впоследствии была переименована в «Меланхолию» и под этим названием продолжила ряд пьес из тетради с надписью на обложке «1919-ый год». Однако из-за того, что последние 4 такта «Меланхолии» не сохранились, публикуется первый вариант пьесы.
  Пьеса «Тоска» ранее не публиковалась и не исполнялась, обнародовалась только в виде факсимиле.


[Пьеса C-dur] Б/н соч. 1919.

  Три пьесы для фортепиано, написанные в 1919 году, были внесены автором в тетрадь, озаглавленную «1919-ый год». Это — пьеса C-dur, не имеющая авторского заголовка; «Прелюд-марш»; «В лесу». Четвёртая — под заголовком «Меланхолия» — совпадает с текстом пьесы «Тоска» 1918 года и не дописана в автографе. Пьесы ранее не издавались. Сведения об их исполнении отсутствуют.
  Пьеса C-dur, могла исполняться в качестве одной из прелюдий на вступительных экзаменах в консерваторию в сентябре 1919 года. Такое предположение основано на её датировке 1919-м годом, на наличии в автографе неавторского заглавия «I Прелюд» и на характере музыки, построенной на жанровых формулах прелюдии. Более того, основная тема Пьесы по общему контуру фактурного рисунка предвосхищает начало C-dur’ной прелюдии из соч. 34.


Прелюд-Марш. Б/н соч. 1919.

  «Прелюд-марш» — ещё одно, наряду с «Траурным маршем», раннее сочинение в жанре Marche funèbre, но более изобретательное по фактуре и форме и более сложное по фортепианной технике.
  Тема «Прелюда-марша» использована в неполностью сохранившемся развёрнутом сочинении в фигурационной фактуре — «Пьесе cis-moll» (Учебная пьеса консерваторского периода).
  «Прелюд-марш» также входит в состав тетради под названием «1919-ый год».


В лесу. Б/н соч. 1919.

  Пьеса «В лесу» из той же тетради «1919-ый год», возможно, связана с периодом обучения у Г. Ю. Бруни — известно, что этот педагог, поощрявший импровизацию, предлагал Шостаковичу темы, связанные с образами природы: «В лесу», «На лужайке», «Ручеёк». Первая часть пьесы написана в подражание «Шуму леса» Листа — секстоли шестнадцатых в правой руке сопровождают соло в левой. Во второй части (Tempo di valse) появляются трели в верхнем регистре, которые в репризе перемещаются вниз: тему первой части автор изобретательно превращает в последовательность трелей, звучащую под фигурации правой руки.


Багатель. Б/н соч. 1919.

  Пьеса для фортепиано, была написана в 1919 году и посвящена Марианне Фёдоровне Граменицкой, с которой автор обучался на курсах И. А. Гляссера, а затем и в классе фортепиано консерватории профессора Л. В. Николаева. Однако в настоящее время нет каких-либо данных, свидетельствующих о том, что пьеса передавалась адресату посвящения, и даже о том, что Граменицкой было известно о существовании этого сочинения. Музыкальный материал Багатели в том же 1919 году был переработан автором и вошёл в Прелюд № 2 G-dur.
  До настоящего времени не выявлены документы, свидетельствующие о публичных исполнениях Багатели, поэтому премьерой этого сочинения следует считать 30 сентября 2016 года, когда в концерте в рамках Международной конференции «К 110-летию со дня рождения Д. Д. Шостаковича: новые материалы, исследования, интерпретации» пьеса была сыграна Сергеем Редькиным в Малом зале Санкт-Петербургской консерватории.
  Фрагмент автографа был воспроизведён в книге «Шостакович в Ленинградской консерватории».
  Первое нотное издание вышло в Санкт-петербургском издательстве «Композитор» в 2016 году.


Три пьесы Б/н соч. 1919–1920.
Менуэт. Прелюдия. Интермеццо.

  Рукопись трёх пьес хранилась в архиве А. А. Розановой-Нечаевой, педагога Шостаковича по фортепиано в 1917–1920 годах.
  История пьес не отражена в воспоминаниях Шостаковича и известна лишь со слов племянника Розановой — А. С. Розанова: по его сообщению, Шостакович переписал свои фортепианные пьески и подарил их Розановой, а сам Розанов впоследствии передал рукопись в ГЦММК.
  Атрибуция была проведена им же, но другими данными до сих пор не подтверждена. В частности, следует отметить, что пьесы написаны не рукой Шостаковича. Не существует и данных, подтверждающих общепринятую датировку, сделанную, вероятнее всего, на основании периода обучения композитора в классе Розановой в консерватории. Напротив, возможно, что сочинения относятся к более раннему времени, т. к. в них, по наблюдению О. Г. Дигонской и Г. В. Копытовой, присутствует элемент стилизации, не характерный для консерваторского периода обучения автора.
  В настоящее время, в зарубежных и отечественных нотографических справочниках указано, что Менуэт был создан на протяжении 1919–1920 годов, что соответствует периоду обучения композитора в классе Розановой.
  Впервые пьесы были изданы в 1983 году в томе 39 Собрания сочинений. Кроме того, Менуэт был издан в составе Избранных фортепианных произведений Шостаковича в 1985 году в Киеве.
  Первое исполнение и запись осуществлены в 1980-х годах Викторией Постниковой.


назад

Годы жизни