Works Orchestral Compositions

Festive Overture

Opus SO Opus SO

Opus 96
1954 year

Orchestral Overtures of the 1950s-1960s. Scores.
premiere:

06-November-1954

Celebration Concert which was given in the Bolshoi Theatre of the USSR by the Orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre, Conductor. S. Samosud. Premieres abroad: November 16, 1955. New York. Conductor. M. Abravanel. February 16-17, 1956. New York. Carnegie Hall. Symphony Orchestra. Conductor D. Mitropoulos.

first publication:

1955. "Muzfond" Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

Hand-written score in the RNMM (Stack 2048, Inv. 1, Item 22).


Duration: 6’.
Premiere: November 6, 1954 at a Celebration Concert which was given in the Bolshoi Theatre of the USSR by the Orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre Conductor. S. Samosud.
The Festive Overture was included by Shostakovich in the programme for the only concert in which he appeared as a conductor and performer of his own works (November 12, 1962 in the town of Gorky with the symphony orchestra of the Gorky Philharmonia).
First Edition: "Muzfond" Publishers, Moscow, 1955.
Premieres abroad: November 16, 1955. New York. Conductor. M. Abravanel. February 16-17, 1956. New York. Carnegie Hall. Symphony Orchestra. Conductor D. Mitropoulos.

"In this work I seek to convey the mood of a man who has gone through the tribulations of the war years and, after the defeating the enemies of his Motherland, is now engaged in the reconstruction of his country. I want to embody in musical terms the pathos of peace-time labour on the construction sites of the new Five-Year Plan. The overture does not contain sharp dramatic conflicts. Its themes are melodious, its orchestral techniques varied."


Festive Overture

     Dmitri Shostakovich wrote the Festive Overture long before its first public performance.
     The premiere was held on 6 November 1954 at the Bolshoi Theatre, where the overture was performed by the theatre’s symphony orchestra under the baton of Aleksandr Melik-Pashayev.
     The Festive Overture quickly became popular among musicians and the public. During the 1954/1955 concert season, it was performed several times in Moscow: on 27 November in the Grand Hall of the Conservatory at Shostakovich’s concert-portrait (Moscow State Philharmonic Orchestra, conductor Samuil Samosud), on 28 November during another concert-portrait at the House of Scientists (the same performers as on 27 November), on 7 March and 22 April 1955 in the Grand Hall of the Conservatory (the same performers); on 23 February in Leningrad in the Grand Hall of the Philharmonic (Leningrad State Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Yevgeni Mravinsky) and on 22 April (Leningrad State Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Karl Eliasberg). The following season, the overture was also performed repeatedly in auditoriums of Moscow10 and Leningrad. Around the same time, the first overseas premieres of the overture were held—it was performed on 16 November 1955 in the USA by the Utah Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Maurice Abravanel, and on 16 February 1956, the composition was performed by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Dimitri Mitropoulos. In 1962, the overture was performed for the first time in Great Britain: on 27 August during the London Royal Albert Hall ‘Prom’ by the Philharmonic Orchestra of the BBC under the baton of George Hurst and on 3 September during the Edinburgh Festival dedicated to Shostakovich’s oeuvre in Asher Hall by the Royal Scottish National Orchestra under the baton of Alexander Gibson.
     Shostakovich’s Festive Overture was repeatedly performed during prominent international events—for example, at the 6th and 7th World Youth and Student Festivals, the first of which was held in Moscow in July-August 1957, becoming the largest event of this kind, and the second in July-August 1959 in Vienna. On 19 July 1980, the introductory fanfares of the overture sounded as a peculiar musical symbol at the opening ceremony of the 22nd Summer Olympic Games held in Moscow.
     The full score of the Festive Overture was first published in 1955 (Muzfond, Moscow). The next publication appeared in 1970 (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow). In 1984, the score was printed in Vol. 11 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow). Several arrangements of the overture were also published—Valery Petrov’s for large wind orchestra (Muzgiz, Moscow, 1958), Mikhail Vakhutinsky’s for wind orchestra (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1977), for piano four hands by Emin Khachaturian (Sovetskiy kompozitor Publishers, Moscow, 1960) and Aron Bubelnikov (Muzgiz, Leningrad, 1961). The score was first published overseas in 1957 in New York (Leeds Publishers); then the overture was printed twice by Edwin F. Kalmus Publishers (Boca Raton, USA). In 1997, the score was published by a Japanese publishing house, Zen-On Music (republished with Sikorski in 2012). There are also several adaptations of the overture for wind orchestra published overseas: by Donald Hunsberger (MCA Music, 1965; republished in 2000 by Schirmer and Hal Leonard), Peter Kitson (Kirklees Music, 1992) and Takeda Takakhashi (De Haske, 1997) and others.


recordings:

  • USSR State Academic Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: E. Svetlanov 1978 // Melody C 10-10399-400, 1978
  • Scottish National Orchestra. Conductor: N. Jarvey 1987 // Chandos ABRD 1279, 1988
  • University of Minnesota Orchestra. Conductor: F. Bencrishutto 1969 // Mark MES 40400,
  • Japanese children's wind instrument ensemble led by Tokutsu 1972 // JWR WA-1187-B,
  • Scottish National Orchestra. Conductor: Jarvey N. 1987-1988 // CHANDOS CHAN 7000, 1994
  • Scottish National Orchestra. Conductor: Jarvey N. 1987 // CHANDOS CHAN 8587, 1988
  • London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Shostakovich M.D. 1990 // COLLINS 11082, 1990
  • Philadelphia Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Muti R. 1992 // EMI CLASSICS 0777 7 54803 2 0, 1993
  • Grand Symphony Orchestra of the Central Television and All-Union Radio. Conductor: Svetlanov E.F. 1955 // REVELATION RV 1006, 1996
  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Ashkenazi V.D. 1994 // DECCA 436 762-2 D H, 1994
  • London Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Litton E. 1988 // UV VIRGIN CLASSICS 7243 5 61 113 2 8, 1994
  • Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: C. Ancherl. 1964 // Supraphon SV 8187, 1965
  • Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: C. Ancherl. 1964 // Supraphon SUA 10576 Mono SUA ST 50576 Stereo, 1965
  • Symphony Orchestra of the Plovdiv Philharmonic. Conductor: D. Petkov. 1978 // Balkanton BCA 10212

back

Years


1954

more

Сочинения Сочинения для оркестра

Праздничная увертюра

Opus SO Opus SO

Opus 96
1954 год

Оркестровые увертюры 1950-х — 1960-х годов. Партитуры.
премьера:

06-ноября-1954

Большой театр СССР, в исполнении оркестра Большого театра. Дирижер С. Самосуд. Премьеры за рубежом: 16 ноября 1955 г. Нью-Йорк. Дирижер М. Абравенель. 16 и 17 февраля 1956 г. Нью- Йорк. Карнеги-холл. Симфонический оркестр. Дирижер Д. Митропулос.

первое издание:

1955. «Музфонд», Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф в РНММ (ф. 2048, оп. 1, ед. хр. 22).


Длительность: 6’
Премьера: Москва, 6 ноября 1954 г. на праздничном концерте, состоявшемся в Большом театре СССР, в исполнении оркестра Большого театра. Дирижер С. Самосуд.
Праздничная увертюра была включена Шостаковичем в программу единственного концерта, в котором он выступил в качестве дирижера — исполнителя своих произведений (12 ноября 1962 года, г. Горький, симфонический оркестр Горьковской филармонии).
Первое издание: Музфонд, 1955 г.
Премьеры за рубежом: 16 ноября 1955 г. Нью-Йорк. Дирижер М. Абравенель. 16 и 17 февраля 1956 г. Нью- Йорк. Карнеги-холл. Симфонический оркестр. Дирижер Д. Митропулос.

«В этом произведении я хочу передать настроение человека, прошедшего через испытания военных лет, победившего врагов Родины и теперь восстанавливающего свою страну. Я хочу воплотить в музыкальных образах пафос мирного труда на стройках новой пятилетки. В увертюре нет острых драматических конфликтов. Ее темы напевны, разнообразны ее оркестровые средства».


Праздничная увертюра

     Праздничная увертюра была написана Д.Д. Шостаковичем задолго до её первого публичного исполнения.
     Премьера состоялась 6 ноября 1954 года в Большом театре, где увертюру сыграл симфонический оркестр театра под руководством А.Ш. Мелик-Пашаева.
     Праздничная увертюра быстро получила популярность у музыкантов и публики. В концертном сезоне 1954/55 года она исполнялась несколько раз в Москве: 27 ноября в Большом зале консерватории в авторском концерте Шостаковича (Государственный оркестр Московской филармонии, дирижёр С.А. Самосуд), 28 ноября также в авторском концерте в зале Дома учёных (исполнители те же, что и 27 ноября), 7 марта и 22 апреля 1955 года в Большом зале консерватории (исполнители те же); в Ленинграде — в Большом зале филармонии 23 февраля (Заслуженный коллектив республики Симфонический оркестр Ленинградской государственной филармонии, дирижёр Е.А. Мравинский) и 22 апреля (Заслуженный коллектив республики Симфонический оркестр Ленинградской государственной филармонии, дирижёр К.И. Элиасберг). В следующем сезоне увертюра также неоднократно звучала в залах Москвы и Ленинграда. В то же время прошли первые зарубежные премьеры увертюры — 16 ноября 1955 года в США её исполнил Симфонический оркестр штата Юта под руководством М. Абраванеля, а 16 февраля 1956 года сочинение прозвучало в исполнении Нью-Йоркского филармонического оркестра, дирижировал Д. Митропулос. В 1962 году увертюра впервые была исполнена в Великобритании: 27 августа в рамках «Променад-концертов» в Лондонском Королевском Альберт-холле Филармоническим оркестром ВВС под управлением Дж. Хёрста и 3 сентября в рамках Эдинбургского фестиваля, посвящённого творчеству Шостаковича, в Ашер-холле Шотландским национальным оркестром под руководством А. Гибсона.
     Праздничная увертюра Шостаковича не раз исполнялась в рамках знаменательных событий международного масштаба, например, на VI и VII Всемирных фестивалях молодёжи и студентов, первый из которых проходил в Москве в июле–августе 1957 года, став самым массовым за всю историю его проведения, а второй — в июле–августе 1959 года в Вене. 19 июля 1980 года вступительные «фанфары» увертюры в качестве своеобразной музыкальной эмблемы прозвучали на торжественной церемонии открытия XXII Летних Олимпийских игр, проходивших в Москве.
     Первое издание партитуры Праздничной увертюры вышло в 1955 году (М., Музфонд), следующее — в 1970-м (М., Музыка). В 1984 году партитура была напечатана в томе 11 Собрания сочинений Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка). Были также изданы несколько переложений увертюры: для Большого духового оркестра В.И. Петрова (М., Музгиз, 1958), для Духового оркестра М.Б. Вахутинского (М., Музыка, 1977), фортепианные переложения в 4 руки Э.Л. Хачатуряна (М., Советский композитор, 1960) и А.С. Бубельникова (Л., Музгиз, 1961). Первое зарубежное издание партитуры было осуществлено в 1957 году в Нью-Йорке (издательство Leeds); затем увертюру дважды печатало издательство E.F. Kalmus (г. Бока-Ратон, США). В 1997 году партитуру выпустило японское издательство Zen-on Music (переиздана совместно с Sikorski в 2012 году). Имеется также ряд опубликованных зарубежных переложений увертюры для духового оркестра: Д. Хансбергера (MCA Music, 1965; переиздано в 2000 году Schirmer совместно с Hal Leonard), П. Китсона (Kirklees Music, 1992) и Т. Такахаши (De Haske, 1997) и др.


записи:

  • Государственный академический симфонический оркестр СССР. Дирижер: Е. Светланов 1978 // Мелодия С 10-10399-400, 1978
  • Шотландский национальный оркестр. Дирижер: Н. Ярви 1987 // Chandos ABRD 1279, 1988
  • Оркестр Университета Миннесоты. Дирижер: Ф. Бенкришутто 1969 // Mark MES 40400,
  • Японский детский ансамбль духовых инструментов п/у Токуцу 1972 // JWR WA-1187-B,
  • Шотландский национальный оркестр. Дирижер: Ярви Н. 1987-1988 // CHANDOS CHAN 7000, 1994
  • Шотландский национальный оркестр. Дирижер: Ярви Н. 1987 // CHANDOS CHAN 8587, 1988
  • Лондонский симфонический оркестр. Дирижер: Шостакович М.Д. 1990 // COLLINS 11082, 1990
  • Филадельфийский симфонический оркестр. Дирижер: Мути Р. 1992 // EMI CLASSICS 0777 7 54803 2 0, 1993
  • Большой симфонический оркестр Центрального телевидения и Всесоюзного радио. Дирижер: Светланов Е.Ф. 1955 // REVELATION RV 1006, 1996
  • Королевский филармонический оркестр Дирижер: Ашкенази В.Д. 1994 // DECCA 436 762-2 D H, 1994
  • Лондонский филармонический оркестр Дирижер: Литтон Э. 1988 // UV VIRGIN CLASSICS 7243 5 61134 2 8, 1994
  • Чешский филармонический оркестр. Дирижёр: К. Анчерл. 1964 // Supraphon SV 8187, 1965
  • Чешский филармонический оркестр. Дирижёр: К. Анчерл.  1964 // Supraphon SUA 10576 Mono SUA ST 50576 Stereo, 1965
  • Симфонический оркестр Пловдивской филармонии. Дирижёр: Д. Петков. 1978 // Balkanton BCA 10212

назад

Годы жизни