Works Compositions for Choir and Orchestra (with or without soloists)

“The Sun shines over our Motherland”

Opus SO Opus 91

Opus 90
1952 year

“The Sun Shines Over Our Motherland”. Op. 90. Cantata. Score.
“The Sun Shines Over Our Motherland”. Op. 90. Cantata. Piano score.
premiere:

06-November-1952

Moscow. Great Hall of the Conservatoire. Conductor K. Ivanov

first publication:

Score published by "Muzgiz" Publishers in 1953.

manuscripts:

Hand-written score is in the RNMM (Stack 32, Item 55). Authorized score and also the corrected score in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 653, Inv. 6, Item 18).


The Sun Shines Over Our Motherland
Cantata for boys' choir, mixed chorus and symphony orchestra. 
Words by Y. Dolmatovsky

  At the end of the 1940s-beginning of the 1950s, a new cantata-oratorio genre appeared in Dmitri Shostakovich’s oeuvre, represented by two compositions—the oratorio “The Song of the Forests”, Op. 81 (1949), and the cantata "The Sun Shines Over Our Motherland”, Op. 90 (1952). The composer was forced to write music in this format by the conditions of the times: the composers were required to write on current topics in a “realistic” musical language that had to be simple, expressive and understandable to the mass audience. It stands to reason that musical compositions with words, primarily involving large choral forces, became especially popular. At that time, the cantata and oratorio appeared as “the main conveyors of totalitarian ideology and mythology”, “creating an aesthetic contrast to modernism and formalism”, and were approved as the leading genre of Soviet music.
  The idea for the cantata “The Sun Shines Over Our Motherland” evidently arose in the autumn of 1950. Shostakovich intended writing a choral composition in the same oratorio genre as “The Song of the Forests”. However, writing the oratorio was postponed.
  According to Sofya Khentova, Shostakovich returned to the cantata in the summer of 1952, while he was staying at the dacha in Komarovo (the date work began on the cantata is not given in the author’s manuscripts).
  Shostakovich initially called his new composition “Cantata about the Party”, which features in the manuscript of the score; it also appeared with the same title in an announcement in Sovetskoe iskusstvo on the eve of the premiere. According to certain reviewers,  the cantata was written to coincide with the 19th CPSU Congress, which was held in Moscow from 5 to 14 October 1952 for the first time after a 13-year hiatus. Later, Shostakovich discarded the name “Cantata about the Party” and replaced it with the words from the first line of the composition; the score was sent to press with the title “The Sun Shines Over Our Motherland” in December 1952.
  The available information does not allow to establish for certain the date of the cantata’s premiere. Sofya Khentova’s book, as well as several other references, gives 6 November 1952 as the date of the first performance. However, the announcement in the newspaper Sovetskoe iskusstvo reported that the cantata would be first heard in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory on 7 November. Shostakovich’s Diary also has a note about the upcoming concert on 7 November (“At 20.30 concert in the G.H.”), while on 6 November there is only an entry about a rehearsal (“At 11 rehearsal in the G.H.”).  There is no programme booklet or poster of the cantata’s first performance in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive.
  After the premiere, Shostakovich’s new choral composition quickly became part of the repertoire and in the 1950s-1960s, it was often performed in Moscow and Leningrad under the baton of outstanding conductors— Samuil Samosud, Aleksandr Melik-Pashayev, Karl Eliasberg, Arvīds Jansons, Boris Khaikin, Aleksandr Gauk, Eduard Grikurov, Kirill Kondrashin and others.


back

Years


1952

more

Сочинения Вокально-симфонические сочинения

«Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет»

Opus SO Opus 91

Opus 90
1952 год

«Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет». Соч. 90. Кантата. Партитура.
«Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет». Соч. 90. Кантата. Клавир.
премьера:

06-ноября-1952

Москва, Большой зал консерватории. Дирижер К. Иванов.

первое издание:

1953. «Музгиз», Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф хранится в РНММ (ф. 32, ед. хр. 55). Авторизованная рукопись, а так же корректура — ЦГАЛИ (ф. 653, оп. 6, ед. хр. 18).


«Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет»
кантата для хора мальчиков, смешанного хора и симфонического оркестра. 
Слова Е. Долматовского

  В конце 1940-х — начале 1950-х годов в творчестве Д. Д. Шостаковича появляется новый, кантатно- ораториальный жанр, представленный в чистом виде двумя сочинениями: ораторией «Песнь о лесах» соч. 81 (1949) и кантатой «Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет» соч. 90 (1952). Обращение композитора к музыке подобного формата было продиктовано прежде всего условиями времени: от авторов требовалось создание сочинений на актуальные темы, написанных «обновлённым», «реалистичным» музыкальным языком — простым, выразительным, понятным массовому слушателю. Одной из популярных форм естественным образом стала музыка с текстом, преимущественно хоровая; и именно кантата и оратория признаются в это время «основными ретрансляторами тоталитарной идеологии и мифологии», которые «формируют эстетическую оппозицию модернизму и формализму», утверждаясь в качестве ведущего жанра советской музыки.
  Замысел кантаты «Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет» возник, по-видимому, осенью 1950 года. Шостакович предполагал написать хоровое произведение в том же, что и «Песнь о лесах», жанре оратории. Однако создание оратории откладывалось.
  К сочинению кантаты Шостакович вернулся, по предположению С. М. Хентовой, летом 1952 года, во время пребывания на даче в посёлке Комарово (дата начала работы над кантатой в автографах не указана).
  Первоначально Шостакович назвал новое сочинение «Кантатой о партии», что отражено в автографе партитуры; под этим же заголовком оно фигурировало и в анонсе газеты «Советское искусство накануне премьеры. По утверждению отдельных рецензентов, кантата была приурочена к XIX съезду КПСС, который проходил в послевоенной Москве (впервые после тринадцатилетнего перерыва) с 5 по 14 октября 1952 года. В дальнейшем название «Кантата о партии» было Шостаковичем снято и заменено на слова из первой строки сочинения; под заголовком «Над Родиной нашей солнце сияет» партитура была отдана в печать в декабре 1952 года.
  Сведения о дате премьеры кантаты расходятся. В книге С. М. Хентовой, а также в ряде справочных изданий в качестве даты первого исполнения указано 6 ноября 1952 года. В анонсе газеты «Советское искусство», однако, сообщалось, что кантата впервые прозвучит в Большом зале Московской консерватории 7 ноября. В ежедневнике Шостаковича отметка о предстоящем концерте также зафиксирована на странице 7 ноября («В 20.30 концерт в Б.З.»), а от 6 ноября имеется лишь запись о репетиции («В 11 репетиция в Б.З.»). Программка или афиша первого исполнения кантаты в Архиве Д.Д.Шостаковича отсутствуют.
  После премьеры новое хоровое сочинение Шостаковича быстро вошло в репертуар многих коллективов и в 1950-е — 1960-е годы неоднократно исполнялось в Москве и Ленинграде рядом выдающихся дирижёров — С. А. Самосудом, А. Ш. Мелик-Пашаевым, К. И. Элиасбергом, А. Янсонсом, Б. Э. Хайкиным, А. В. Гауком, Э. П. Грикуровым, К. П. Кондрашиным и другими.


назад

Годы жизни