Works Compositions for Choir and Orchestra (with or without soloists)

“The Song of the Forests”

Opus SO Opus 83

Opus 81
1949 year

“The Song of the Forests”. Op. 81. Oratorio. Score.
“The Song of the Forests”. Op. 81. Oratorio. Piano score.
premiere:

15-November-1949

Leningrad. The Great Hall of the Philharmonia. State Academic Choir Capella. The Boys' Choir of the Capella. Conductor. Y. Mravinsky.

first publication:

1959. Score "Muzgiz" Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 653, Inv. 3, Item 11); Proofs with the composer's corrections (Stack 2048, Inv.1, Item 41).


The Song of the Forests 
Oratorio for Soloists (Tenor and Bass), a Boys' Choir, a Mixed Choir and
Symphony Orchestra with Words by Y. Dolmatovsky.

     The oratorio The Song of the Forests was written quickly; however, it is difficult to establish the exact time it was composed. As mentioned above, at the end of July 1949, work had already begun on it, and by 15 August, according to the dates in the author’s manuscripts, it was finished.
     The oratorio consists of seven movements:
1. ‘When the War Was over’ (bass soloist with mixed choir and orchestra, Andante);
2. ‘Clothe the Homeland in Forests’ (mixed choir and orchestra, Allegro);
3. ‘recollection of the Past’(bass soloist with mixed choir and orchestra, Adagio);
4. ‘Pioneers Plant the Forests’ (boys’ choir and orchestra, Allegretto). attacca;
5. ‘Stalingraders Go Forward’ (mixed choir and orchestra, Allegro con brio);
6. ‘A Walk into the Future’ (tenor soloist with mixed choir and orchestra, Adagio);
7. ‘Glory’ (orchestral-choral fugue and finale with participation of all the performers, Allegretto-Moderato-Moderato con moto-Andante).
     The premiere of Dmitri Shostakovich’s oratorio The Song of the forests was held in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic on 15 November 1949 conducted by Yevgeni Mravinsky. The performers included the Choir of the Leningrad Academy Cappella directed by Georgi Dmitrevsky, choir soloist Ivan Tyatov and singer from the Kirov Leningrad State Theatre of Opera and Ballet Vladimir Ivanovsky, the boys’ choir from the Academy Cappella, and the Honoured Republican Collective of the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra. The second performance of the oratorio featuring the same musicians was held the next day, on 16 November.
     The work’s Moscow premiere was held on 26 November of the same year in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, again conducted by Mravinsky, but with an enlarged cast. In addition to the participants in the world premiere, soloists Ivan Tyatov and Vladimir Ivanovsky, the following Moscow collectives also took part in it: the State Choir of Russian Song, the Moscow State Choral School Boys’ Choir directed by Aleksandr Sveshnikov and the USSR State Symphony Orchestra (chief conductor Konstantin Ivanov).
     In 1950, oratorio The Song of the forests was awarded the Stalin prize (First Class) along with the music to the film The fall of Berlin directed by Mikhail Chiaureli and, in so doing, ranked as one of the top three in the hierarchy of Shostakovich’s oeuvre along with the Piano Quintet (awarded the Stalin prize [First Class] in 1941) and the Seventh Symphony (awarded the Stalin prize [First Class] in 1942). At the same time, in 1950, the score of the oratorio was published by Muzgiz. And a year later, a gramophone record was issued featuring The Song of the forests, conducted by Yevgeni Mravinsky.
     The oratorio was first performed overseas on 4 November 1951 in San Francisco (California, USA) in an English translation done by Leo E. Christiansen.


back

Years


1949

more

Сочинения Вокально-симфонические сочинения

«Песнь о лесах»

Opus SO Opus 83

Opus 81
1949 год

«Песнь о лесах». Соч. 81. Оратория. Партитура.
«Песнь о лесах». Соч. 81. Оратория. Клавир.
премьера:

15-ноября-1949

Ленинград, Большой зал филармонии. Государственная академическая хоровая капелла. Хор мальчиков капеллы. Дирижер Е. Мравинский.

первое издание:

1959. Музгиз, партитура.

рукописи:

Автограф в РГАЛИ (ф. 653, оп. 3, ед. хр. 11), корректура с правкой композитора (ф. 2048, оп. 1, ед. хр. 41).


«Песнь о лесах»
Оратория для солистов (тенор и бас), хора мальчиков, смешанного хора и
симфонического оркестра на слова Е. Долматовского.

     Оратория «Песнь о лесах» была написана быстро, однако точные сроки её написания установить затруднительно. В конце июля 1949 года работа над ней уже началась, а к 15 августа, согласно датировкам автографов, закончилась.
     Оратория состоит из семи частей:
1. «Когда окончилась война» (соло баса со смешанным хором и оркестром, Andante);
2. «Оденем родину в леса» (смешанный хор и оркестр, Allegro);
3. «Воспоминание о прошлом» (соло баса со смешанным хором и оркестром, Adagio);
4. «Пионеры сажают леса» (хор мальчиков с оркестром, Allegretto); attacca;
5. «Сталинградцы выходят вперед» (смешанный хор и оркестр, Allegro con brio);
6. «Будущая прогулка» (соло тенора со смешанным хором и оркестром, Adagio);
7. «Слава» (оркестрово-хоровая фуга и финал с участием всех исполнителей, Allegretto — Moderato — Moderato con moto — Andante).
     Премьера оратории «Песнь о лесах» прошла в Большом зале ленинградской филармонии 15 ноября 1949 года под управлением Евгения Мравинского. Её участниками стали хор Ленинградской академической капеллы (под руководством Г.А. Дмитревского), солист капеллы И.Н. Тятов и певец Ленинградского академического театра оперы и балета им. С.М. Кирова В.В. Ивановский, хор мальчиков Училища при капелле, Заслуженный коллектив Республики оркестр Ленинградской филармонии (под руководством Е.А. Мравинского). Второе исполнение оратории в том же составе прошло на следующий же день — 16 ноября.
     Московская премьера сочинения прошла 26 ноября того же года в Большом зале Московской консерватории вновь под управлением Мравинского, но в значительно обновлённом составе исполнителей. Помимо участников мировой премьеры солистов Ивана Тятова и Владимира Ивановского, в ней выступили московские коллективы: Государственный хор русской песни, хор мальчиков Государственного хорового училища под руководством А.В. Свешникова и Государственный симфонический оркестр СССР (главный дирижёр К.К. Иванов).
     В 1950 году оратория «Песнь о лесах», вместе с музыкой к кинофильму «Падение Берлина» режиссера м. Чиаурели, была удостоена Сталинской премии I степени и, таким образом, заняла в официальной иерархии работ Шостаковича одно из трёх высших мест наряду с Квинтетом (Сталинская премия I степени 1941 года) и Седьмой симфонией (Сталинская премия I степени 1942 года). Тогда же — в 1950 году — партитура оратории была издана Музгизом. А ещё через год появилась грампластинка с её записью под управлением Е. Мравинского.
     На зарубежной эстраде оратория впервые прозвучала 4 ноября 1951 года — в Сан-Франциско (Калифорния, США) в переводе на английский Е. Христиансена.


назад

Годы жизни