Works Chamber Instrumental Ensembles

Trio No. 1

Opus 6 Opus SO

Opus 8
1923 year

Trio No 1. Op. 8. Trio No 2. Op. 67.
premiere:

13-December-1923

Petrograd Conservatory

first publication:

Collected Works, Vol. 37. Muzyka

manuscripts:

RSALA, rec. gr. 2048, inv. 2, f. 8, 52; Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 113, 324.


Dedication: “To Tatyana Ivanovna Glivenko”
Duration: 14'

"Trio. There is a good deal of lyricism in it, many fine phrases and lines. Particularly pleasing is the arrangement where I succeeded in creating a relatively dialectic effect"


Trio No. 1, op.8

  Trio for piano, violin, and violoncello No. 1, Op. 8 was written in 1923. It was Shostakovich’s first major composition during his conservatory years. This Trio was dedicated to Tatyana Ivanovna Glivenko.
  Shostakovich began working directly on Trio while taking a cure during the summer in the Crimea. Here he made the acquaintance of a young Moscow woman called Tatyana Glivenko. His young infatuation inspired him to write the new score. In August, he wrote Glivenko, who had by this time returned to Moscow, a letter from Gaspra: “I have begun composing a Trio for the piano, violin, and violoncello. I hope you don’t mind that I am dedicating it to you. I think it will be one-movement, in the form of an Allegro sonata with a very large development, into which Andante and Scherzo fragments will be directly incorporated.
  The literature indicates that Trio No. 1 was composed in the Crimea (Koreiz and Gaspra), as well as in Petrograd. But in the list of works which most likely relates to 1932, Shostakovich indicated that Trio, Op. 8 was written in Moscow and Petrograd.
  The premiere of Trio took place on 13 December 1923 in the hall of the Petrograd Conservatory in a concert of the works of student composers. The successful premiere was followed by several performances of Trio during 1924-1925.
  In October 1925, well-known Austrian composer Franz Schrecker came to Leningrad for the performance of his opera Distant Call. A concert was arranged in his honour at the conservatory, the programme of which included Shostakovich’s Trio.
  Trio was a huge success. “The Berlin university professor liked my Trio, which I in no way expected, —the composer informed the same person in a letter of 25 October. —He conveyed through his interpreter many good things and wished me health and success. We performed the Trio very well. Violinist Sher was particularly brilliant and, without any false modesty, I will say that pianist Shostakovich was too. Violoncellist Vinogradov was also good, considering he played after only three rehearsals. But he was much worse than Pekker, who played the violoncello part earlier. The large audience was enthralled by Trio. There was thunderous applause and they encored the composer.”
  After the sensational premiere of the First Symphony a few months later, Trio, Op. 8, as most of Shostakovich’s early works, fell into oblivion. It made its comeback after it was published in Collected Works following the composer’s death.


recordings:

Oleg Kagan (violin), Natalya Gutman (cello), Eliso Wirsaladze (piano). 1982 // Live Classics LCL 110 (2004).

MOSCOW TRIO: Vladimir Ivanov (violin), Mikhail Utkin (cello), Aleksandr Bonduryansky (piano). 1993 // Le Chant du Monde Russian Season RUS 288 088 (1994).


back

Years


1923

more

Сочинения Камерные инструментальные ансамбли

Трио № 1

Opus 6 Opus SO

Opus 8
1923 год

Трио № 1. Соч. 8. Трио № 2. Соч. 67.
премьера:

13-декабря-1923

Малый зал Петроградской консерватории

первое издание:

Собр. соч. Т. 37.

рукописи:

РГАЛИ, ф. 2048, оп. 2, ед. хр. 8, 52; Архив Д.Д. Шостаковича, ф. 1, р. 1, ед. хр. 113, 324,


Посвящено: Татьяне Ивановне Гливенко
Длительность: 14'

«Трио. В нем много лиризма, много хороших оборотов и линий. Особенно удалась разработка, в которой мне удалось добиться относительной диалектичности».


Трио № 1, соч.8

  Трио для рояля, скрипки и виолончели № 1 соч. 8 написано в 1923 году. Оно явилось первым значительным по масштабам произведением Шостаковича, сочинённым в консерваторские годы. Трио посвящено Татьяне Ивановне Гливенко.
  Непосредственную работу над Трио Шостакович начал летом, находясь на лечении в Крыму. Здесь он познакомился с молодой москвичкой Таней Гливенко. Юношеское увлечение стало стимулом к созданию новой партитуры. В августе в письме из Гаспры он сообщил Гливенко, уехавшей к этому времени в Москву: «Я начал здесь сочинять Трио для рояля, скрипки и виолончели. Посвящается тебе, если ты ничего не будешь иметь против. Думаю, что оно будет одночастное, в форме сонатного Allegro с очень большой разработкой, в которую непосредственно войдут фрагменты Andante и Скерцо».
  Именно Крым (Кореиз, Гаспра), а также Петроград указываются в литературе в качестве мест, где создавалось Трио № 1. Однако в списке произведений, относящемся, по всей видимости, к 1932 году, Шостакович указал, что Трио соч. 8 написано в Москве и Петрограде.
  Премьера Трио состоялась 13 декабря 1923 года в зале Петроградской консерватории в концерте из произведений студентов-композиторов. За удачной премьерой последовал ряд исполнений Трио в течение 1924–1925 годов.
  В октябре 1925 года в Ленинград приехал в связи с постановкой его оперы «Дальний звон» известный австрийский композитор Франц Шрекер. В его честь в консерватории был устроен концерт, в программу которого было включено и Трио Шостаковича.
  Трио имело несомненный успех. «Моё трио профессору берлинского Вуза понравилось, чего я совсем не ожидал, — информировал композитор того же адресата в письме от 25 октября. — Через переводчицу он наговорил мне много хороших вещей и пожелал мне здоровья и успехов. Сыграли мы трио очень хорошо. В особенности на высоте задачи стоял скрипач Шер и, без ложной скромности скажу, пианист Шостакович. Виолончелист Виноградов был тоже хорош, принимая во вниманье, что он играл его с трёх репетиций. Но он куда хуже Пеккера, прежнего исполнителя виолончельной партии. У многочисленной аудитории трио имело очень большой успех. Зверски хлопали и вызывали автора».
  После состоявшейся несколько месяцев спустя сенсационной премьеры Первой симфонии Трио соч. 8, как и большинство ранних сочинений Шостаковича, было надолго забыто. Его возрождение произошло в результате публикации (в составе Собрания сочинений) уже после смерти композитора.


записи:

Олег Каган (скрипка), Наталия Гутман (виолончель), Элисо Вирсаладзе (фортепиано). 1982 г. // Live Classics LCL 110 (2004 г.)

«Московское трио»: Владимир Иванов (скрипка), Михаил Уткин (виолончель), Александр Бондурянский (фортепиано). 1993 // Le Chant du Monde Russian Season RUS 288 088 (1994 г.)


назад

Годы жизни