Works Orchestral Compositions

“From Jewish Folk-Poetry”

Opus 79 Opus SO

Opus 79a
1948 year

Shostakovich’s Vocal Cycles.
premiere:

19-February-1964

Town of Gorky. Orchestra of the Gorky Philharmonia. Conductor G. Rozhdestvensky. Soloists: L. Avdeyeva, G. Pisarenko, A. Maslennikov.

first publication:

1982. D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 31, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 2048, Inv. 3, Item 9).


“From Jewish Folk-Poetry”
Song Cycle for Soprano, Contralto, Tenor and Orchestra

    The idea for a vocal composition on verses from Jewish folk poetry arose after Shostakovich became acquainted with a collection of song translations.
   The copy of the collection of poems in the composer’s library, from which he took the texts for his cycle, is full of pencil notes that testify to the long process of selecting the poems.
   Shostakovich initially marked 24 texts in the Contents in red pencil. Only five of them: ‘Sun and Rain’, ‘Rock-a-Bye Baby’, ‘My Son is the Fairest in the World’, ‘Listen, Khasya’, and ‘Ele, the tavern keeper’ were used in the cycle.
   Later, having made his final selection, the composer marked all the poems chosen for the first, eight-part, version of the composition in the actual text of the book, including ‘Oh, Abraham’, ‘My Sheyndl is lying in Bed’ and ‘The Roof is Sleeping in the Attic’, which were not marked in the Contents.
   At different stages of the preliminary work on the selection of texts, 48 poems drew Shostakovich’s attention, only eleven of which were eventually used in the cycle.
   Two complete author’s manuscripts of the cycle have survived: an earlier one, which belonged to Galina Ustvolskaya and is now kept in the Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel (Switzerland), and a later, final, one, which is kept in the Russian State Archives of Literature and Art (RSALA) in Moscow, where Shostakovich submitted it.
   Shostakovich performed the eight-part cycle, which he considered finished, for friends and students in August-September 1948.
   Shostakovich began writing the orchestral score right after he finished the eight-part version of the composition. The three new parts were first written in the score, which was completed and dated on 1 october. The entire composition in the piano score was completed on 24 october.
   The premiere of the orchestral version was first held abroad. On 9 and 10 September 1963, the cycle was performed at East Berlin’s Metropolitan Theatre by Maria Croonen, Anneliese Burmeister and Peter Schreier accompanied by the Berlin Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Kurt Sanderling. The songs were performed in German translation by Alfred Kurella.40 In October 1963, a studio recording with the same performers was done.
   The first performance of the cycle with an orchestra in the Soviet Union was held during the Second Contemporary Music Festival in Gorky (15-23 February 1964), entirely devoted to Shostakovich’s oeuvre.
   The entire cycle of Jewish Songs was not performed with professional singers at home until 25 September 1950. Among those invited (a total of 45 people) were Svyatoslav Richter, Mstislav Rostropovich, composers Moisey Vainberg, Nikolai Peyko, Yuri Levitin, Revold Bunin, pianist Tatyana Nikolayeva, Samuel Marshak, film director Leo Arnshtam, and Isaak Glikman who came from Leningrad.
   The premiere of the cycle From Jewish Folk Poetry was held in leningrad on 15 January 1955 in the Glinka Hall at an ‘Evening with Dmitri Shostakovich’. It was performed by Nina Dorliak, Zara Dolukhanova, Alexander Maslennikov, and the author. On 20 January, the cycle was first performed in Moscow by the same ensemble in the Small Hall of the Conservatory.
   During 1955, the composition was also performed in Minsk, Riga, Vilnius and Gorky.


recordings:

  • State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia named after E.F. Svetlanov. Soloists: Sharova T., Kuznetsova L., Martynov A. Conductor: Polyansky V.K. 1996 // CHANDOS CHAN 9600, 1998
  • Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam. Soloists: Wenkel O., Zöderström E., Karchikovsky R. Conductor: Haitink B. 1983 // DECCA 425 069-2, 1993
  • Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra. Soloists: Fomina N.V., Sinyavskaya T., Mishechkin A. Conductor: Yurovsky M.V. 1995 // CAPRICCIO 10 778, 1998
  • Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra. Soloists: Orgonazova L., Stutzman N., Langridge F. Conductor: Järvi N. 1992 // DeutscheGrammophon 439 860-2 G H, 1994
  • Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam. Soloists: Wenkel O., Zöderström E., Karchikovsky R. Conductor: Haitink B. 1983 // LONDON 444 430-2 L C 11, 441-2, 1995
  • Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam Soloists: Wenckel O., Zöderström E., Karchikovsky R. Conductor: Haitink B. 1983 // DECCA 417 581-2, 1987

back

Сочинения Сочинения для оркестра

«Из еврейской народной поэзии»

Opus 79 Opus SO

Opus 79a
1948 год

Вокальные циклы Д. Д. Шостаковича.
премьера:

19-февраля-1964

Горький. Оркестр Горьковской филармонии. Дирижер Г. Рождественский. Солисты: Л. Авдеева, Г. Писаренко, А. Масленников.

первое издание:

1982. Шостакович Д. Д. Собр. соч., т. 31, Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф партитуры в ЦГАЛИ (ф. 2048, оп. 3, ед. хр. 9).


«Из еврейской народной поэзии»
вокальный цикл для сопрано, контральто и тенора с оркестром

   Замысел вокального сочинения на слова из еврейской народной поэзии возник в результате знакомства со сборником переводов литературных текстов.
В сохранившемся в библиотеке композитора экземпляре сборника, из которого он взял тексты для своего цикла, имеются его карандашные пометки, свидетельствующие о длительном процессе отбора стихотворений.
   Первоначально Шостакович отметил в содержании красным карандашом 24 текста. Только пять из них: «Солнце и дождик», «Бай, бай, бай», «Мой сынок всех краше в мире», «Слушай, Хася» и «Элекабатчик» были использованы в цикле.
   В дальнейшем, сделав окончательный выбор, композитор пометил в самом тексте книги все стихотворения, отобранные для первой, восьмичастной, версии сочинения, в том числе «Ой, Абрам», «Лежит моя Шейндл в кровати» и «Крыша спит на чердаке», не отмеченные в содержании.
   На разных стадиях предварительной работы по отбору текстов, внимание Шостаковича привлекли 48 стихотворений, из которых только 11 вошло в цикл.
   Сохранились два полных автографа цикла: более ранний, находящийся ныне в собрании Пауля Захера (Paul Sacher Stiftung) в Базеле (Швейцария), принадлежавший Г. Уствольской, и более поздний, окончательный, хранящийся в Российском государственном архиве литературы и искусства (РГАЛИ) в Москве, переданный туда Д. Шостаковичем.
   Восьмичастный цикл, который Шостакович считал законченным, он показывал друзьям и ученикам в августе–сентябре 1948 года.
   Оркестровую партитуру цикла Шостакович начал писать сразу после завершения восьмичастной версии сочинения. Новые три части были сначала написаны в партитуре, завершение которой датировано 1 октября. В клавире всё произведение закончено 24 октября.
   Премьера оркестровой версии состоялась сначала за границей. 9 и 10 сентября 1963 года цикл прозвучал в берлинском Metropolitan Theater в исполнении Марии Кроонен, Аннелизы Бурмейстер и Петера Шрайера в сопровождении Берлинского симфонического оркестра под руководством Курта Зандерлинга. Песни исполнялись на немецком языке в переводе А. Куреллы. В октябре 1963 года цикл был записан теми же исполнителями на грампластинку.
   Первое исполнение цикла с оркестром в СССР состоялось в рамках масштабного Второго музыкального фестиваля «Современная музыка» в Горьком (15–23 февраля 1964 года), который был целиком посвящён творчеству Шостаковича.
   Исполнение всего цикла «Еврейских песен» в домашней обстановке силами профессиональных певцов состоялось лишь 25 сентября 1950 года. Среди приглашённых (всего 45 человек) были С.Т. Рихтер, М.Л. Ростропович, композиторы М.С. Вайнберг, Н.И. Пейко, Ю.А. Левитин, Р.С. Бунин, пианистка Т.П. Николаева, С.Я. Маршак, кинорежиссёр Л.О. Арнштам, из Ленинграда приехал И.Д. Гликман.
Премьера цикла «Из еврейской народной поэзии» состоялась в Ленинграде 15 января 1955 года в Зале им. М.И. Глинки в рамках «Творческого вечера Д.Д. Шостаковича». Исполнители: Н. Дорлиак, З. Долуханова, А. Масленников и автор. 20 января в исполнении того же ансамбля цикл впервые прозвучал в Москве, в Малом зале консерватории.
   В течение 1955 года произведение прозвучало также в Минске, Риге, Вильнюсе, Горьком.


записи:

  • Государственный академический симфонический оркестр России им. Е. Ф. Светланова. Солисты: Шарова Т., Кузнецова Л., Мартынов А. Дирижер: Полянский В.К. 1996 // CHANDOS CHAN 9600, 1998
  • Королевский оркестр Концертгебау, Амстердам. Солисты: Венкель О., Зёдерстрём Э., Карчиковский Р. Дирижер: Хайтинк Б. 1983 // DECCA 425 069-2, 1993
  • Симфонический оркестр Кёльнского радио. Солисты: Фомина Н.В., Синявская Т., Мишечкин А. Дирижер: Юровский М.В. 1995 // CAPRICCIO 10 778, 1998
  • Гётеборгский симфонический оркестр. Солисты: Оргоназова Л., Штуцман Н., Лэнгридж Ф. Дирижер: Ярви Н. 1992 // Deutsche
  • Grammophon 439 860-2 G H, 1994
  • Королевский оркестр Концертгебау, Амстердам. Солисты: Венкель О., Зёдерстрём Э., Карчиковский Р. Дирижер: Хайтинк Б. 1983 // LONDON 444 430-2 L C 11, 441-2, 1995
  • Королевский оркестр Концертгебау, Амстердам Солисты: Венкель О., Зёдерстрём Э., Карчиковский  Р. Дирижер: Хайтинк Б. 1983 //  DECCA 417 581-2, 1987

назад