Works Chamber Compositions for Voice and Songs

“From Jewish Folk-Poetry”

Opus 77 Opus 79a

Opus 79
1948 year

Shostakovich’s Vocal Cycles of the 1940s-1960s.
premiere:

15-January-1955

1955 January 15. Small Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonia. Soloists: N. Dorliak, Z. Dolukhanova, A. Maslennikov and the composer at the piano.

first publication:

1961, "Sovietskii kompozitor" Publishers.

manuscripts:

Hand-written piano score and drafts in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 2048, Inv. 1, Items 50 and 51).


Written between August 1 and October 24, 1948.
Traditional words

  1. Lament for a Dead Infant
  2. The Loving Mother and Aunt
  3. Lullaby
  4. Before a Long Separation
  5. Warning
  6. The Abandoned Father
  7. Song of Misery
  8. Winter
  9. The Good Life
  10. Song of the young Girl
  11. Happiness

Duration:  23’

"Sometimes you have the urge to write music when you come across a literary source that moves you. The cycle 'From Jewish Folk-Poetry' probably would not have been written, if I had not come across a book of folk poetry..."


“From Jewish Folk-Poetry” 
Song Cycle for Soprano, Contralto and Tenor
with Piano Accompaniment
 

    Shostakovich composed the vocal cycle From Jewish Folk Poetry in two stages. The first eight songs were written in August 1948 in Kellomyaki (now the village of Repino). The dates and place they were composed are given in the author’s fair manuscript of the piano score of the cycle: “Lament for a Dead Infant”, “The Loving Mother and Aunt”, “Lullaby”, “Before a Long Separation”, “Warning”, “The Abandoned Father” , “Song of Misery”, and “Winter” .1 When he had completed the last item, Shostakovich wrote in his diary: “The Jewish cycle is finished.” 2 In September, the composer decided to add another three items that contrasted dramaturgically to a certain extent with the previous songs: “The Good Life”, “Song of the Young Girl” and “Happiness”. The songs were notated immediately in the score of the cycle, work on which the composer finished on 1 October, as indicated in the manuscript.
   After he had finished the cycle, Shostakovich was unsure about the wisdom of performing it publicly, evidently recalling the recent events (the February Resolution of the Central Committee of 1948). He wrote about this, in particular, to Kara Karayev (“I have still not shown my Jewish songs”). Shostakovich nevertheless presented the composition on several occasions to a narrow circle of friends and colleagues, which Yevgeni Makarov16 and Isaak Glikman testify to in their reminiscences. Apparently, there were also plans to perform the cycle at the Union of Composers, which follows from an entry in Shostakovich’s diary on 20 December 1948: “At 17:00 Jewish songs at UC.” Since he subsequently crossed out this phrase, the mentioned hearing obviously did not take place.
   Shostakovich began preparing for the cycle’s performance long before its official premiere. In the autumn of 1948, he performed the cycle for Nina Dorliac, which is shown by the repeated mention of her name in his diary: “At 20:00 to Dorliac’s” (23 September), “In the evening Nina Dorliac” (7 October), “At 21:00 to Dorliac’s” (10 October), and so on. According to the singer’s reminiscences, the composer played his new composition for her and Svyatoslav Richter, asking them to perform the songs and also look for a tenor and mezzo-soprano. The rehearsals began, first of the vocal trio comprised of Nina Dorliac, Tamara Yanko and Nikolai Belugin, and then with the participation of Shostakovich.
   The Jewish songs were performed with the same singers on Shostakovich’s birthday, 25 September1950, at which Samuil Marshak and Isaak Glikman were also present. According to the latter’s recollections, the cycle was the highlight of the evening: “Although the vocalists did not have time to polish their parts, the impression was grandiose. Samuil Marshak told me with tears in his eyes that this cycle was ona par with Shakespeare and that he had not been right to complain about the translators, since the music was elating and raised the verses to a supreme height.” 23 After this home concert, Shostakovich did not return to the idea of performing the cycle publicly for a long time and, according to Nina Dorliac, came back to it only in 1954.
  The cycle was first performed at Shostakovich’s recital in the Small Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic on 15 January 1955 along with his Quintet and Concertino for two pianos. As Isaak Glikman recalls, “Shostakovich, looking very handsome in evening dress, performed the piano part, while Nina Dorliac, Zara Dolukhanova and Alexei Maslennikov sang. The success was immense. The ‘Winter’ trio, ‘Lullaby’, and the concluding trio were all encored three times.”
   In Moscow, the cycle was first heard at Shostakovich’s recital on 20 January 1955, at which his Quintet, Concertino for two pianos, selected romances from Op. 62 and songs from the film Meeting on the Elbe were also performed. On 22 January, the composer told Glikman about the cycle’s success in Moscow. “Even illwishers, according to Shostakovich, flocked backstage and ‘squeezed’ him in their ‘embrace’.”
   During 1955, the cycle of Jewish songs was performed for the first time in several other Soviet cities: on 5 April in Riga (Nina Dorliac, Tamara Yanko, Alexei Maslennikov and the composer), on 6 and 7 April in Minsk, on 9 April in Kaunas and on 21 and 22 October in Gorky, now Nizhny Novgorod (with the same performers).Israel Gusman reported on the Gorky concerts as follows: “The hall of the philharmonic was not entirely full, but the reception was enthusiastic.”
   In the 1950s-1960s, several premieres of the cycle were held abroad.


recordings:

  • Shostakovich D.D. , Dolukhanova Z.A., Dorliak N.L., Maslennikov A.D. 1956 // RUSSIAN DISC RD CD 15 015, 1994

back

Years


1948

more

Сочинения Камерные вокальные сочинения и песни

«Из еврейской народной поэзии»

Opus 77 Opus 79a

Opus 79
1948 год

Вокальные циклы Д. Шостаковича 1940-х — 1960-х годов.
премьера:

15-января-1955

15 января 1955 года в Малом зале Ленинградской филармонии. Исполнители: Н. Дорлиак, З. Долуханова, А. Масленников. Автор — фортепиано.

первое издание:

1961, «Советский композитор».

рукописи:

Автограф клавира и эскизы в ЦГАЛИ (ф. 2048, оп. 1, ед. хр. 50 и 51).


Написан с 1 августа по 24 октября 1948 года.
Слова народные

  1. Плач об умершем младенце
  2. Заботливые мама и тетя
  3. Колыбельная
  4. Перед долгой разлукой
  5. Предостережение
  6. Брошенный отец
  7. Песня о нужде
  8. Зима
  9. Хорошая жизнь
  10. Песня девушки
  11. Счастье

Длительность: 23’

«Иногда возникает желание писать музыку, когда встретишь волнующий литературный источник. Цикл "Из еврейской народной поэзии", вероятно, не был бы написан, не попадись на глаза книжка народных текстов...»


«Из еврейской народной поэзии»
вокальный цикл для сопрано, контральто и тенора
в сопровождении фортепиано

    Вокальный цикл «Из еврейской народной поэзии» создавался Шостаковичем в два этапа. Первые восемь песен были написаны в августе 1948 года в Келломяки (ныне — посёлок Репино). В чистовом автографе клавира цикла указаны даты и место их сочинения: «Плач об умершем младенце» , «Заботливые мама и тётя» , «Колыбельная» , «Перед долгой разлукой» , «Предостережение» , «Брошенный отец» , «Песня о нужде» , «Зима» . Завершив последний номер, Шостакович записал в своём ежедневнике: «Кончен еврейский цикл». В сентябре композитор решил дописать ещё три номера, составившие в драматургическом плане определённый контраст предыдущим: «Хорошая жизнь», «Песня девушки» и «Счастье». Песни были записаны сразу в общей партитуре цикла, работу над которой композитор завершил 1 октября, как указано в рукописи.
   Закончив цикл, Шостакович сомневался в необходимости его публичной демонстрации, по-видимому, памятуя о недавних событиях (февральском Постановлении ЦК 1948 года), о чём, в частности, писал К. Караеву («Своих еврейских песен я ещё не показывал»). Сочинение тем не менее неоднократно демонстрировалось автором в узком кругу друзей и коллег, что отражено в воспоминаниях Е. П. Макарова и И. Д. Гликмана. По-видимому, предполагался показ цикла и в Союзе композиторов, что следует из записи в ежедневнике Шостаковича на 20 декабря 1948 года: «В 17 еврейские песни в ССК». Поскольку данная фраза была зачёркнута автором, очевидно, упомянутое прослушивание не состоялось.
   Задолго до официальной премьеры цикла Шостакович начал готовить его исполнение. Осенью 1948 года цикл был показан Н. Л. Дорлиак, о чём свидетельствует неоднократное упоминание её фамилии в ежедневнике композитора: «В 20 к Дорлиак» (23 сентября), «Вечером Н. Л. Дорлиак» (7 октября), «В 21 к Дорлиак» (10 октября) и т. д. По воспоминаниям певицы, композитор сыграл новое сочинение ей и С.Т.Рихтеру, предложив исполнить песни, а также подыскать тенора и меццо-сопрано. Начались репетиции, сначала вокального трио в составе Н. Л. Дорлиак, Т. Ф. Янко и Н. Н. Белугина, затем — с участием Шостаковича.
   Тем же составом еврейские песни были исполнены в день рождения Шостаковича, 25 сентября 1950 года, где, в том числе, присутствовали С. Я. Маршак и И. Д. Гликман. По воспоминаниям последнего, цикл был «гвоздём» вечера: «Хотя вокалисты не успели отшлифовать свои партии, впечатление было грандиозным. С. Я. Маршак со слезами на глазах говорил мне, что этот цикл равен Шекспиру и что он напрасно высказывал недовольство работой переводчиков, так как музыка окрылила и подняла на громадную высоту тексты стихов». После этого домашнего концерта Шостакович долгое время не возвращался к идее исполнить цикл публично и, по свидетельству Н. Л. Дорлиак, вновь обратился к ней лишь в 1954 году.
   Цикл впервые прозвучал в Малом зале Ленинградской филармонии 15 января 1955 года в авторском концерте Шостаковича наряду с его Квинтетом и Концертино для двух фортепиано. По воспоминаниям И. Д. Гликмана, «Шостакович — очень красивый, во фраке, исполнял фортепианную партию, пели: Нина Дорлиак, Зара Долуханова, Алексей Масленников. Успех был ошеломляющим. Трио „Зима“, Колыбельную, финальное трио бисировали по три раза».
Московская премьера состоялась в авторском концерте Шостаковича 20 января 1955 года, где были исполнены также его Квинтет, Концертино для двух фортепиано, избранные романсы из опуса 62 и песни из кинофильма «Встреча на Эльбе». 22 января композитор докладывал Гликману об успехе цикла в Москве. «Даже недруги, по словам Шостаковича, приходили толпами за кулисы и „тискали“ его „в объятиях“».
   В течение 1955 года цикл еврейских песен был впервые исполнен в ряде городов советских республик: 5 апреля в Риге (Н. Л. Дорлиак, Т. Ф. Янко, А. Д. Масленников и автор), 6 и 7 апреля в Минске, 9 апреля в Каунасе, 21 и 22 октября в Горьком (исполнители те же). О горьковских концертах И. Б. Гусман отзывался так: «Зал филармонии не был заполнен полностью, но приём был горячий».
   В 1950–1960-е годы прошли зарубежные премьеры цикла.


записи:

  • Шостакович Д.Д. , Долуханова З.А., Дорлиак Н.Л., Масленников А.Д. 1956 // RUSSIAN DISC RD CD 15 015, 1994

назад

Годы жизни