Works Instrumental Concertos

Violin Concerto No. 1

Opus 74 Opus 79

Opus 77
1947-1948 year

Violin Concerto No 1. Op. 77. Score.
Violin Concerto No 1. Op. 77. Piano score.
premiere:

29-October-1955

Great Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonia. Conductor: Y. Mravinsky. Soloist: D. Oistrakh. Premiere abroad: December 1955. New York. Carnegie Hall. Orchestra of New York Philharmonia. Conductor D. Mitropoulos. Soloist D. Oistrakh.

first publication:

1956, Score, "Muzgiz" Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the RNMM (Stack 32, Item 43). The piano score is in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art.


Dedication: "To David Fyodorovich Oistrakh"
Duration: 36’.
Premiere: October 29, 1955 in the Great Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonia. Conductor: Y. Mravinsky. Soloist: D. Oistrakh.
Premiere abroad: December 1955. New York. Carnegie Hall. Orchestra of New York Philharmonia. Conductor D. Mitropoulos. Soloist D. Oistrakh.
First Edition: Score, "Muzgiz" Publishers, Moscow, 1956.

"We listened to Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto in his flat with the composer playing it on the piano. Shostakovich was playing from the score with virtuosity, which impressed us for its own sake (it is still a mystery for me how he managed to bring out the full texture of the Scherzo without missing out a single note of the violin part)..."

"A concerto always presents the performer with a particularly interesting task.This is, if you like, a significant, rich and 'Shakespearean' role,  demanding total emotional and
intellectual commitment from the performer..."


Violin Concerto No. 1
Op. 77

     Violin Concerto No. 1 was written in 1947-1948. Manashir Iakubov describes in detail how the Concerto was composed in Vol. 42 of New Collected Works.
     On 29 October 1995, the premiere of the Concerto was held in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic performed by D.F. Oistrakh and the Symphonic Orchestra of the Leningrad Philharmonic under the baton of Yevgeny Mravinsky. The next day, 30 October, a repeat performance of the Concerto was given in the same hall by the same performers. Shostakovich was present both times, although he did not arrive until the second half10 when his work was being performed (Brahms’ Fourth Symphony was performed in the first half).
     The first performances of the Concerto in Moscow were held later—on 4 and 5 February 1956 in the Grand Hall of the Conservatory. This time, the Concerto was performed by Oistrakh in the accompaniment of the USSR State Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Yevgeny Mravinsky.
     The first premiere of the Concerto abroad was held on 29 December 1955 in New York (Carnegie Hall) performed by David Oistrakh and the Symphony Orchestra of the New York Philharmonic under the baton of Dimitris Mitropoulos. Several days later, on 2 January 1956, the first gramophone recording of the Violin Concerto was made with the same performers as in the American premiere. The day after the premiere, on 30 December, the foreign press wrote: ‘The audience responded with tumultuous applause, with the men of the orchestra joining in. Six times the violinist was recalled… In the final one Mr. Mitropoulos lifted the score from the stand and held it up before the audience so the work itself could be applauded.’ In addition to the unusual structure of the Concerto (four movements instead of the traditional three) and its ‘unsymphonic’ nature, ross Parmenter, the author of the review, also noted how detached the violin sounded against the background of the oppressive, cold, and muffled sound of the orchestra. According to the critic, it was impossible not to sense a feeling of war in the Concerto: ‘This was not so evident in the opening Nocturne, which suggested a long mournful solo… But the war feeling came out in the ensuing Scherzo, which echoed some of the same sort of mordant wit of ‘L’Histoire du soldat’, the work that Stravinsky wrote after the close of the earlier World War… Oistrakh developed the plaintive melody in the cadenza [so that] it seemed to become a threnody… That the concerto communicated describable things so vividly was in large part the result of Oistrakh’s
intense absorption in thework’s inner meaning. He played it so personally that despite its pyrotechnics it did notsound like a display piece.” Similar reviews also ap- peared after the premiere of the Concerto at the London Festival Hall held on 23 February 1956 performed by David Oistrakh and the London Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Nikolai Malko. The Times reported that the audience was in such rapture over the Concerto that the finale was played again; it also remarked on Oistrakh’s brilliant performance.
     Among the first performers of the Concerto were Yehudi Menuhin and Leonid kogan; later it was performed by Oistrakh’s son, Igor Oistrakh. But, according to Shostakovich himself, only David Oistrakh was able to fully capture the work’s inner meaning, which the composer told the violinist about many years later: ‘It turns out, you understand, that I wrote the Concerto for just one violinist, you. Yes, yes, it is a Concerto for only one performer, others do not understand it all.’ Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was one of the favourite works in Oistrakh’s repertoire. And it remains such to this day for many other outstanding contemporary violinists.
     The author’s manuscript of the piano score of Violin Concerto No. 1 is kept at RSALA.
     The full piano score of the Concerto is the author’s manuscript written by Shostakovich on 73 sheets of music paper with 12 staffs without a trademark. There is no date on the piano score, but in all likelihood it was written at the same time as the score of the Concerto, since it contains the entire, completely notated piano part (in contrast to all the previous sketches).
     It is obvious that Shostakovich himself used this score to play the work (possibly even with someone’s assistance), since some pages have notes in red pencil done by the author: “Attention! It’s soontime to enter”. These notes refer to fragments in the piano part (marked by two crosses in the same red pencil) which were written not on two, but on three-four staffs (like a four-hand piano score). It is possible that Shostakovich used this score to perform the Concerto for his first listeners, for example, the students in his conservatory class.
     The first edition of the piano score was published in 1956 by Muzgiz Publishers. The second, third,and fourth editions of the piano score were published by Muzyka Publishers in 1957, 1964, and 1969, respectively.
     In all the listed editions, the Concerto was designated as Opus 99. Shostakovich first gave the opus this number since, in his opinion, the Concerto was not finished until 1955. The subsequent editions of the piano score were published as Opus 77.
     The fifth edition of the piano score was published in 1975 by Muzyka Publishers.
     The sixth edition of the piano score was published as part of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works by Muzyka Publishers in 1981. It appears in Volume 15 along with the piano score of Violin Concerto No. 2. According to the editor of the volume, A. Nikolayev, this publication was based on the edition that the author looked through. During its preparation, Shostakovich’s proofreading notes and the comments he made after the author’s arrangement of the Concerto was published were also taken into account. The music text was collated with the author’s manuscripts.


recordings:

  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Soloist: Belkin B. Conductor: Ashkenazi V.D. 1988 // DECCA 425793-2 D H, 1990
  • Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. Soloist: Oistrakh D.F. Conductor: Mravinsky E.A. 1957 // PRAGA PRODUCTION PR 250 052, 1994
  • Symphony Orchestra of the Leningrad State Philharmonic. Soloist: Oistrakh D.F. Conductor: Mravinsky E.A. 1956 // CHANT DU MONDE 278 882,
  • Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Rozhdestvensky G.N. 1962 // BBC RADIO CLASSICS 15656 91702, 1996
  • Symphony Orchestra of the Polish National Radio. Soloist: Kaler I. Conductor: Vit A. 1996 // NAXOS 8.550814, 1997
  • New York Philharmonic Orchestra. Soloist: Oistrakh D.F. Conductor: Mitropoulos D. 1956 // SONY CLASSICAL MHK 63327, 1998
  • Berlin Symphony Orchestra. Soloist: Erksleben M. Conductor: Flor K. 1990 // BERLIN CLASSICS BC 1049-2, 1993
  • Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Soloist: Perlman I. Conductor: Meta Z. 1988 // EMI CDC 7 49814 2, 1989
  • London Symphony Orchestra. Soloist: Vengerov M. Conductor: Rostropovich M.L. 1994 // TELDEC 4509-92256-2, 1994
  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Soloist: Mullova V. Conductor: Preven A. 1988 // PHILIPS 422 364-2, 1989
  • Air Force Symphony Orchestra. Soloist: Sitkovetsky D. Conductor: Davis E. 1989 // VC 7596012, 1990
  • Air Force Symphony Orchestra. Soloist: Sitkovetsky D. Conductor: Davis E. 1989 // VC 7596012, 1990

back

Years


1947

more

1948

more

Сочинения Инструментальные концерты

Концерт № 1 для скрипки с оркестром

Opus 74 Opus 79

Opus 77
1947-1948 год

Концерт для скрипки с оркестром № 1. Соч. 77. Партитура.
Концерт для скрипки с оркестром № 1. Соч. 77. Клавир.
премьера:

29-октября-1955

Большой зал Ленинградской филармонии. Дирижер Е. Мравинский. Солист Д. Ойстрах. Премьера за рубежом: декабрь 1955 г. Нью Йорк. Карнеги-холл. Оркестр Нью-Йоркской филармонии. Дирижер Д. Митропулос. Солист Д. Ойстрах.

первое издание:

1956, Москва, "Музгиз", партитура.

рукописи:

Партитура, автограф РНММ (ф. 32, ед. хр. 43). Клавир — ЦГАЛИ (ф. 32, ед. хр. 43).


Посвящение: «Давиду Федоровичу Ойстраху»
Длительность: 36’.
Премьера: 29 октября 1955 года в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии. Дирижер Е. Мравинский. Солист Д. Ойстрах.
Премьера за рубежом: декабрь 1955 г. Нью Йорк. Карнеги-холл. Оркестр Нью-Йоркской филармонии. Дирижер Д. Митропулос. Солист Д. Ойстрах.
Первое издание: Партитура. М., Музгиз, 1956 год.

«Первый скрипичный концерт Шостаковича мы услышали в его квартире в авторском исполнении на фортепиано. Дмитрий Дмитриевич играл по партитуре с виртуозностью, которая производила сильное впечатление уже сама по себе (как он выигрывал в Scherzo всю фактуру, не пропуская ни единой ноты скрипичной партии, — до сих пор остается для меня секретом)...»

«Концерт представляет исключительно интересную задачу для исполнителя. Это, если хотите, очень большая, содержательная, "шекспировская" роль, требующая от артиста полной эмоциональной и интеллектуальной отдачи...»


Концерт № 1
для скрипки с оркестром
Соч. 77

    Концерт № 1 для скрипки с оркестром был написан в 1947–1948 годах. История создания концерта подробно освещена М.А. Якубовым в томе 42 Нового собрания сочинений.
     29 октября 1955 года состоялась премьера Концерта в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии в исполнении Д.Ф. Ойстраха и Симфонического оркестра Ленинградской филармонии под управлением Е.А. Мравинского. На следующий день — 30 октября — Концерт был повторен в том же зале теми же исполнителями. Шостакович присутствовал и в тот и в другой день, причём только на втором отделении концертов, где исполнялось его произведение (в первом отделении концертов была исполнена Симфония № 4 И. Брамса).
     Первые исполнения Концерта в Москве прошли позже — 4 и 5 февраля 1956 года в Большом зале консерватории. На этот раз Концерт был исполнен Д.Ф. Ойстрахом в сопровождении Государственного симфонического оркестра СССР под управлением Е.А. Мравинского.
     Первая зарубежная премьера Концерта состоялась 29 декабря 1955 года в Нью-Йорке (Carnegie Hall) в исполнении Д.Ф. Ойстраха и Симфонического оркестра Нью-Йоркской филармонии под управлением Д. Митропулоса. Несколько дней спустя, 2 января 1956 года, тем же составом, что и на американской премьере, была сделана первая запись Скрипичного концерта на пластинку. На следующий день после премьеры, 30 декабря, зарубежная пресса писала: «Аудитория вместе с присоединившимися к ней музыкантами оркестра отреагировала бурными аплодисментами. Скрипач был вызван шесть раз <...> под конец мистер Митропулос снял партитуру с пюпитра и показал её слушателям, чтобы они могли аплодировать самому сочинению». Автор рецензии, Росс Парментер, помимо необычного строения Концерта (четыре части вместо традиционных трёх) и его «несимфоничности» («unsymphonic»), отметил обособленность звучания скрипки на фоне гнетущего, холодного, приглушённого звучания оркестра. По словам критика, нельзя не почувствовать, что Концерт был навеян образами войны: «... это не так очевидно во вступительном ноктюрне с протяжённым унылым соло скрипки <...> но ощущение войны появляется в следующем за ним скерцо, которое напоминает острую сатиру “истории солдата” — сочинения, написанного Стравинским по окончании первой мировой войны <...> Ойстрах исполняет горестную мелодию каденции так, что она становится похожей на погребальное пение <...> то, что музыка Концерта так ярко рисует названные образы, в большой степени является результатом глубокого погружения Ойстраха во внутренний смысл сочинения. Он играл Концерт так лично, что, вопреки виртуозности данного произведения, оно не звучало как “блестящая”, “показная” пьеса». Похожие отклики появились и после премьеры Концерта в Лондонском Festival Hall, состоявшейся 23 февраля 1956 года в исполнении Д.Ф. Ойстраха и Лондонского филармонического оркестра под управлением Н.А. Малько. Газета «The Times» сообщала, что публика принимала Концерт настолько восторженно, что финал был повторен; отмечалась превосходная игра Ойстраха.
     Среди первых исполнителей Концерта были И. Менухин, Л.Б. Коган; позже его исполнял сын Ойстраха — И.Д. Ойстрах. Однако, по собственному признанию Шостаковича, только лишь Д.Ф. Ойстраху удалось в полной мере воплотить замысел автора, о чём много лет спустя композитор поведал Давиду Федоровичу: «Понимаете, я вот, оказывается, написал Концерт для одного только скрипача, для Вас. Да-да, это Концерт для единственного исполнителя, другие не всё понимают». Концерт № 1 для скрипки Шостаковича был одним из любимых произведений в репертуаре Ойстраха. Таковым он остаётся до сих пор и для многих других выдающихся скрипачей современности.
     Автограф клавира Концерта № 1 для скрипки хранится в РГАЛИ.
     Полный клавир всего Концерта представляет собой автограф, выполненный рукой Шостаковича, на 73 листах нотной бумаги в 12 строк без знака изготовителя. В клавире отсутствует какая-либо датировка, однако, по всей видимости, он создавался почти одновременно с партитурой Концерта, поскольку в нём присутствует вся, полностью выписанная партия фортепиано (в отличие от всех предшествующих эскизов).
     Очевидно, что сам Шостакович играл по этим нотам (возможно, даже с чьей-то помощью), так как на нескольких страницах клавира встречаются надписи красным карандашом, сделанные автором:«Внимание! Скоро вступать». Данные пометки относятся к фрагментам в партии фортепиано (отмеченным двумя крестиками тем же красным карандашом), которые выписаны не на двух, а на трёх-четырёх строках (как четырёхручный клавир). Возможно, по этим нотам Шостакович демонстрировал Концерт его первым слушателям, например ученикам его класса в консерватории.
     Первое издание клавира вышло из печати в 1956 году (издательство «Музгиз»). Второе, третье и четвёртое издания клавира вышли в издательстве «Музыка» соответственно в 1957, 1964 и 1969 годах.
     Во всех перечисленных изданиях Концерт был обозначен как опус 99. Шостакович вначале указывал этот номер опуса, так как считал, что завершил Концерт лишь в 1955 году. Последующие издания клавира выходили под опусом 77.
     Пятое издание клавира вышло в 1975 году в издательстве «Музыка».
     Шестое издание клавира состоялось в рамках Собрания сочинений Д.Д. Шостаковича, предпринятого издательством «Музыка», в 1981 году в томе 15 вместе с клавиром Скрипичного концерта № 2. В основу данной публикации, по словам редактора тома А.А. Николаева, было положено издание, просмотренное автором. При её подготовке также были учтены корректурные пометки Шостаковича и замечания, сделанные им после выхода из печати авторского переложения Концерта. Нотный текст был сверен с автографами.


записи:

  • Королевский филармонический оркестр. Солист: Белкин Б. Дирижер: Ашкенази В.Д. 1988 // DECCA 425793-2 D H, 1990
  • Чешский филармонический оркестр. Солист: Ойстрах Д. Ф. Дирижер: Мравинский Е.А. 1957 // PRAGA PRODUCTION PR 250 052, 1994
  • Симфонический оркестр Ленинградской Государственной филармонии. Солист: Ойстрах Д. Ф. Дирижер: Мравинский Е.А. 1956 // CHANT DU MONDE 278 882,
  • Philharmonia Orchestra. Дирижер: Рождественский Г.Н. 1962 // ВВC RADIO CLASSICS 15656 91702, 1996
  • Симфонический оркестр Польского национального радио. Солист: Калер И. Дирижер: Вит A. 1996 // NAXOS 8.550814, 1997
  • Нью-Йоркский филармонический оркестр. Солист: Ойстрах Д. Ф. Дирижер: Митропулос Д. 1956 // SONY CLASSICAL MHK 63327, 1998
  • Берлинский симфонический оркестр. Солист: Эркслебен М. Дирижер: Флор К. 1990 // BERLIN CLASSICS BC 1049-2, 1993
  • Израильский филармонический оркестр. Солист: Перлман И. Дирижер: Мета З. 1988 // EMI CDC 7 49814 2, 1989
  • Лондонский симфонический оркестр. Солист: Венгеров М. Дирижер: Ростропович М.Л. 1994  // TELDEC 4509-92256-2, 1994
  • Королевский филармонический оркестр. Солистка: Муллова В. Дирижер: Превен А. 1988 // PHILIPS 422 364-2, 1989
  • Симфонический оркестр ВВС. Солист: Ситковецкий Д.Ю. Дирижер: Дэвис Э. 1989 // VC 7596012, 1990
  • Симфонический оркестр ВВС. Солист: Ситковецкий Д.Ю. Дирижер: Дэвис Э. 1989 // VC 7596012, 1990

назад

Годы жизни