Works Piano Compositions

“A Child’s Exercise Book”

Opus SO Opus SO

Opus 69
1944-1945 year

Childhood Notebook for Piano
Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Miniatures of Different Years
premiere:

01-January-1945

Moscow. The House of Composers. D. Shostakovich.

first publication:

1945, "Muzfond" Publishers, Moscow,

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 2048, Inv. 2, Item 18) and in the RNMM (Stack 32, Item 79)


“A Child’s Exercise Book”
For Piano
Op. 69

     The collection A Child’s Exercise Book includes seven pieces written by Shostakovich for his daughter Galina in 1944-1945: No. 1 ‘March’ (C major); No. 2 ‘Waltz’ (A minor); No. 3 ‘The Bear’ (В major); No. 4 ‘Merry Tale’ (E minor); No. 5 ‘Sad Tale’ (G major); No. 6 ‘Clockwork Doll’ (B minor); and No. 7 ‘Birthday’ (A major).
     The first version of A Child’s Exercise Book included six pieces, arranged in the order of the initial keys in the circle of fifths (Nos. 1, 2, 5, 4, 3, 6); however, this sequence of the pieces is not found in the editions of Op. 69. Right up until 1983, the editions of the collection included six pieces. The seventh piece, ‘Birthday’, composed for Galina’s 9th birthday (on 30 May 1945), was first published as part of A Child’s Exercise Book in Volume 39 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Moscow, 1983).
     The six pieces from A Child’s Exercise Book were first performed in 1945, at a meeting of the children’s music sector of the Moscow Branch of the Union of Composers.
     The first recording of A Child’s Exercise Book (Nos. 1-7) was done by the author in Prague on 26 May 1947.
     During the composer’s lifetime, A Child’s Exercise Book in full, as well as its individual pieces included in various children’s collections, were published repeatedly both abroad and in the Soviet Union. The pieces from A Child’s Exercise Book feature consistently in the repertoire of music schools, in methodological literature, in class hour scenarios and interactive lessons, during which the performance of the pieces alternates with stories about the composer and a description of the music.


back

Years


1944

more

1945

more

Сочинения Сочинения для фортепиано

«Детская тетрадь»

Opus SO Opus SO

Opus 69
1944-1945 год

Детская тетрадь для фортепиано
Фортепианные миниатюры Д. Шостаковича разных лет
премьера:

01-января-1945

Москва. Дом композиторов. Д. Д. Шостакович.

первое издание:

1945, «Музфонд» СССР.

рукописи:

Автограф в ЦГАЛИ (ф. 2048, оп. 2, ед. хр.18) и в РНММ (ф. 32, ед. хр. 79).


«Детская тетрадь»
Для фортепиано
Соч. 69

     Сборник «Детская тетрадь» включает семь пьес, написанных Шостаковичем для дочери Галины в 1944–1945 годах: № 1 Марш (C-dur); № 2 Вальс (a-moll); № 3 Медведь (D-dur); № 4 Весёлая сказка (e-moll); № 5 Грустная сказка (G-dur); № 6 Заводная кукла (h-moll); № 7 День рождения (A-dur).
     Первый вариант «Детской тетради» включал шесть пьес, расположенных в порядке начальных тональностей квинтового круга (№1, 2, 5, 4, 3, 6), однако в изданиях соч. 69 такая последовательность пьес не встречается. Вплоть до 1983 года издания сборника включали шесть пьес. Седьмая пьеса, «День рождения», сочинённая к 9-летию Галины (30 мая 1945 года), впервые была опубликована в составе «Детской тетради» в томе 39 Собрания сочинений Д. Шостаковича (М., 1983).
     Первое исполнение шести пьес «Детской тетради» состоялось в 1945 году, на заседании секции детской музыки Московского отделения Союза композиторов.
     Первая звукозапись «Детской тетради» (№ 1–7) была осуществлена в исполнении автора в Праге 26 мая 1947 года.
     Уже при жизни композитора «Детская тетрадь» в полном составе и в виде отдельных пьес, включённых в различные детские сборники, многократно издавалась за рубежом и в СССР. Пьесы «Детской тетради» занимают устойчивое место в репертуарных списках музыкальных школ, им посвящены многочисленные методические разработки, сценарии классных часов, интерактивных уроков, в которых исполнение пьес чередуется с рассказами о композиторе и описанием пьес.


назад

Годы жизни