Works Compositions for the Stage

“Motherland”

Opus 62 Opus SO

Opus 63
1942 year

“Motherland”. Op. 63. Vocal-symphonic suite. Score.
“Motherland”. Op. 63. Vocal-symphonic suite. Piano score. National Anthems. Sans. op.
premiere:

15-October-1942

Moscow. Song and Dance Ensemble at the Dzerzhinsky Central Club. Directed by S. Yutkevich. Choreographers: V. Vainonen and K. Goleizovsky. Choirmaster A. Stepanov. Conductor Y. Silantiev.

first publication:

1972. "Sovietsky kompozitor" Publishers, Moscow. 1986. D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Score Vol. 27, Piano score Vol. 28, Moscow.

manuscripts:

Whereabouts of the hand-written score and the piano score unknown.


Motherland
Vocal-Symphonic Suite

     In 1942, Dmitri Shostakovich wrote a series of pieces for the stage show Native Country performed by the NKVD Song and Dance ensemble at the Dzerzhinsky Central Club.
     The exact dates the music for Native Country was written are unknown since there is no author’s manuscript of the full score or piano score.
     For Native Country, the composer wrote four short items forming a short suite Native Leningrad for orchestra, choir and soloists to words by Sergei Alymov (the suite was assigned as Op. 63): No. 1 ‘Overture’, No. 2 ‘Song of the Victorious October’, No. 3 ‘Youth Dance’ (orchestral piece) and No. 4 ‘Ode to Leningrad’.
     The premiere of Native Country was held in Moscow on 7 November 194217 at the Dzerzhinsky Central Club.
     During March­May 1943, the show was performed repeatedly at the Vyborg House of Culture in Leningrad (the premiere was held on 6 March).
     The first edition of the suite came out in 1972 as part of the oratorio titled My Native Country (Sovetsky kompozitor, Moscow; full score). The oratorio was compiled by Yuri Silantyev (without Shostakovich’s knowledge) from music to all three shows of the NKVD ensemble.
     In 1977, Sovetsky kompozitor Publishers put out a collection called Music for Stage Shows, which included the item ‘Youth Dance’ titled ‘Folk Dance’. Originally, the four­ movement suite Native Leningrad based on verses by Sergei Alymov was published in Volume 28 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works—piano score (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1986). The full score was published in Volume 27 of the same collection (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1987).
     The ‘Youth Dance’ enjoyed particular popularity (in most editions it was published under the title ‘Folk Dance’). It was arranged for wind orchestra by Mikhail Vakhutinsky (Sovetsky kompozitor, Moscow, 1971), H. robert reynolds (Carl Fischer, New York, 1979), Torgny Hanson (Salvation army Brass Band Journal, 1994) and James Curnow (Curnow Music Press, Wilmore, 2000), etc.
     The first recording of the songs from Native Country—as part of the oratorio My Native Country—appeared in 1971.19 The performers were the grand Choir and Stage Symphony Orchestra of All­Union radio conducted by Yuri Silantyev, with Ludmila Belobragina, Andrei Sokolov, Denis Korolev and Mark reshetin as vocal soloists and Yuri Levitan as narrator. The recording of the suite with Sergei Alymov’s original verses was done in 2009 by the St. Petersburg State Academic Symphony Orchestra and Chamber Choir of Smolny Cathedral conducted by Aleksandr Titov, with soloists Boris Stepanov and Andrei Slavny. There are also several audio recordings of ‘Youth Dance’ in different arrangements.


back

Years


1942

more

Сочинения Сочинения для музыкального театра

«Отчизна»

Opus 62 Opus SO

Opus 63
1942 год

«Отчизна». Соч. 63. Вокально-симфоническая сюита. Партитура.
«Отчизна». Соч. 63. Вокально-симфоническая сюита. Клавир. Государственные гимны. Б/н соч.
премьера:

15-октября-1942

Москва, Ансамбль песни и пляски при Центральном клубе им. Ф. Э. Дзержинского. Постановка С. Юткевича. Балетмейстеры В. Вайнонен и К. Голейзовский. Хормейстер А. Степанов. Дирижер Ю. Силантьев.

первое издание:

1972. Москва, «Советский композитор». 1986. Шостакович Д. Д., Собр. соч. партитура т. 27, клавир. т. 28.

рукописи:

Местонахождение автографов партитуры и клавира неизвестно.


«Отчизна»
Вокально-симфоническая сюита

     В 1942 году Д.Д. Шостаковичем был написан ряд музыкальных номеров для театрализованного представления «Отчизна» ансамбля песни и пляски НКВД при Центральном клубе им. Ф.Э. Дзержинского.
     Точные даты создания музыкальных номеров к «Отчизне» неизвестны, поскольку рукопись авторских партитуры и клавира отсутствует.
     Для спектакля «Отчизна» композитор написал четыре короткие пьесы, составившие небольшую сюиту «Родной Ленинград» для оркестра, хора и солистов на слова С.Я. Алымова (сюите был присвоен опус 63): № 1 «Увертюра», № 2 «Песня Октябрьской победы», № 3 «Танец молодёжи» (оркестровый номер), № 4 «Ода Ленинграду».
     Премьера «Отчизны» состоялась в Москве 7 ноября 1942 года в Центральном клубе имени Ф.Э. Дзержинского.
     Первое издание сюиты — как части оратории под названием «Родная Отчизна» — вышло в 1972 году (М., Советский композитор; партитура). Оратория была составлена Юрием Силантьевым (без ведома Шостаковича) из музыки ко всем трём спектаклям ансамбля НКВД.
     В 1977 году издательством «Советский композитор» был выпущен фортепианный сборник «Музыка к драматическим спектаклям», куда вошёл номер «Танец молодёжи» под заголовком «Народная пляска». В первоначальном виде четырёхчастная сюита «Родной Ленинград» на слова Алымова была издана в рамках Собрания сочинений Шостаковича в томе 28 — клавир (М., Музыка, 1986). В томе 27 того же собрания была опубликована партитура (М., Музыка, 1987).
     Особую популярность завоевал номер «Танец молодёжи» (в большинстве изданий он публиковался под названием «Народная пляска»). Его аранжировки для духового оркестра были сделаны М.Б. Вахутинским (М., Советский композитор, 1971), Х.Р. Рейнолдсом (New York, Carl Fischer, 1979), Т. Хэнсоном (Salvation Army Brass Band Journal, 1994), Дж. Карноу (Wilmore, Curnow Music Press, 2000) и др.
     Первая грамзапись музыкальных номеров из «Отчизны» — в составе оратории «Моя Отчизна» — появилась в 1971 году в исполнении Большого хора и Эстрадно-­симфонического оркестра Всесоюзного радио под управлением Юрия Силантьева; солисты — Людмила Белобрагина, Андрей Соколов, Денис Королёв, Марк Решетин, Юрий Левитан (чтец). Запись сюиты с первоначальным текстом Сергея Алымова была осуществлена в 2009 году Санкт­-Петербургским государственным академическим симфоническим оркестром и камерным хором Смольного собора п/у Александра Титова; солисты Борис Степанов, Андрей Славный.
     Также существует несколько аудиозаписей «Танца молодёжи» в различных аранжировках.


назад

Годы жизни