Works Chamber Instrumental Ensembles

String Quartet No. 1

Opus SO Opus 54

Opus 49
1938 year

Quartet No.1 Score
Quartet No.1 Parts
Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartets Nos. 1-3
premiere:

10-October-1938

Leningrad. Glazunov Quartet. Ilya Lukashevsky, Aleksandr Pechnikov, Aleksandr Ryvkin, David Mogilevsky

first publication:

Leningrad. “Muzgiz” Publishers № 1054

manuscripts:

RNMM, piano score. Manuscript lost.


Premiere: October 10, 1938. Leningrad. Glazunov Quartet.
First Edition: The score of the quartet was published by “Muzgiz” Publishers in 1939.
Score. Moscow, SSK, 1947, “Steklograf”.
D. Shostakovich, Quartets, “Muzyka” Publishers, Moscow, 1964..

“When writing my first quartet, I tried to convey images of childhood - slightly naive and filled with light and moods of springtime”

“I began writing it (First String Quartet) without any particular thoughts and feelings, thinking that nothing would come out of it, for the quartet is one of the most demanding musical genres. The first page I wrote as a kind of unusual exercise in quartet form, without imagining I should ever finish it. Later the work on it became truly absorbing and I wrote it incredibly quickly...”
“There is no point in looking for any special depth in this, my first quartet...”


String Quartet No.1
in C Major
Op. 49

I. Moderato
II. Moderato
III. Allegro molto
IV. Allegro

     Quartet No. 1, written at a relatively favourable time for Shostakovich, was the first in what we might call a unique cycle of fifteen musical self-portraits that portrayed the composer in different life circumstances and moods. According to the dates on the sketches, work on Quartet No. 1 began on 30 May 1938 (twenty days after the birth of Shostakovich’s son Maxim) in Leningrad and continued until 17 July 1938. On 16 August 1938, Vechernyaya Moskva announced that Shostakovich had finished his string quartet.
     This is one of the Shostakovich’s shortest quartets: it takes no more than quarter of an hour to perform.
     On 10 October 1938, at the Leningrad branch of the Union of Soviet Composers, a hearing was held of Shostakovich’s Quartet No. 1 performed by the Glazunov Quartet: Ilya Lukashevsky, Grigory Ginzburg, Alexander Ryvkin and David Mogilevsky. Around the same time (before 16 October), the composer sent his manuscript to the musicians of the State Beethoven Quartet with comments about the nature of the move- ments and performance instructions. As early as 22 October, Shostakovich was in Moscow at a rehearsal of the Beethoven Quartet: Dmitri Tsyganov, Vasily Shirinsky, Vadim Borisovsky, and Sergei Shirinsky.
     The official premiere of Quartet No. 1 was held during the Ten-Day Festival of Soviet Music in the Small Hall of the Moscow Conservatory on 16 November 1938. It was performed by the Beethoven Quartet, which Shostakovich later entrusted with the first performances of all his quartets, apart from No. 15. The concert programme also included Sergey Prokofiev’s Quartet, Op. 50 and Nikolay Myaskovsky’s Quartet in F Minor. On the evening of the Moscow premiere, Shostakovich’s new opus was encored in its entirety.
     A report about the premiere appeared in Pravda the next day. The concert was called ‘the central event of the Ten-Day Festival of Soviet Music’, noting that ‘Dmitri Shostakovich’s Quartet performed for the first time from the manuscript enjoyed the greatest success. The audience called for an encore of all four movements of the Quartet in their entirety’.
     On 19 November 1938, Quartet No. 1 was performed again at the Moscow Conservatory at the All-Union Competition of Quartets by the Auer String Quartet, and on 21 November was performed on the radio by the Beethoven Quartet.
     Quartet No. 1 continued to enjoy success. Immediately after it appeared, it gained the reputation among Soviet critics as ‘a masterpiece of Soviet chamber literature’.  In the first monograph about the composer, it was given a detailed analysis and compared with ‘the best pages of Schubert’s romantic music’. It held a permanent place in the performance repertoire. In 1939, the score and parts of the Quartet were published by the Leningrad Branch of Muzgiz.
     France became acquainted with this work as early as November 1938 during a radio broadcast from Moscow. The following year, it was performed for American radio listeners (7 January), for Leningraders (26 January), for a Soviet audience (2 December), and for Lithuanians (22 December with performance of the second and fourth movements); while in 1941, it was heard in Hungary (23 March). The British premiere was held on 13 December 1941 (London, Aeolian Hall, Hirsch Quartet). On 3 August 1942, the Beethoven Quartet performed it on Moscow radio for American listeners, and on 3 September on KYA radio (San Francisco) performed by the San Francisco String Quartet (Naoum Blinder, Frank Houser, Ferenc Molnar, and Boris Blinder) in an all-Shostakovich programme.
     Quartet No. 1 was first recorded in New York by Columbia in July 1942 (on 78 rpm records). It was performed by the Stuyvesant Quartet featuring Sylvan Shulman, Maurice Wilk, Emanuel Vardi, Alan Shulman. Melodiya put out the first recording of this work in the Soviet Union in 1947 (also on 78 rpm records) performed by the Beethoven Quartet.
     The second movement of the Quartet (Moderato) was used to replace the previous sound accompaniment of captions when restoring in 1965 the film The Girlfriends (1935) by Leo Arnshtam, featuring Shostakovich’s music.
     Quartet No. 1 is one of Shostakovich’s five string quartets arranged by Rudolf Barshai for chamber orchestra and named in his versions “Chamber Symphonies” (transcription of Quartet No. 1 is designated as Op. 49a and has the subtitle of “Little Symphony”).


recordings:

  • Borodin Quartet: Dubinsky R.D., Aleksandrov Y.P., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1967 // Melodiya Seraphim SIC-6034, 1967-1968
  • Borodin Quartet: Dubinsky R.D., Aleksandrov Y.P., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1967 // Melodia Eurodisc 76 649 XK, 76 639,
  • Borodin Quartet: Dubinsky R.D., Aleksandrov Y.P., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1967 // Melody MG 087129, D-019277, 1967
  • Borodin Quartet: Kopelman M., Abramenkov A., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1978 // Melody C 10-11757-8, 1979
  • Borodin Quartet: Kopelman M., Abramenkov A., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1978 // HMV Melodiya EX 270339 E2703401, 1986
  • Shostakovich Quartet: Shishlov A.A., Pishchugin S., Galkovsky A.V., Korchagin A.A. 1981 // OLYMPIA OCD 531, 1994
  • Brodsky Quartet: Thomas M., Belton I., Cassidy P., Thomas J. 1989 // TELDEC 9031-71702-2, 1990
  • Beethoven Quartet: Tsyganov D.M., Zabavnikov N., Druzhinin F.S., Shirinsky S.P. 1960 // TRITON MECC-26018, 1995
  • Borodin Quartet: Kopelman M., Abramenkov A., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1995 // TELDEC 4509-98417-2, 1996
  • Talich Quartet: Messierur P., Kvapil J., Talich J., Rattay E. 1976 // PRAGA PR 254 042, 1994
  • Fitzwilliam Quartet: C. Rowland, J. Spary, A. George, I. Davis. 1979 // LONDON 455 777-2 (Set 455 776-2), 1998

back

Years


1938

more

Сочинения Камерные инструментальные ансамбли

Квартет № 1

Opus SO Opus 54

Opus 49
1938 год

Квартет №1 Партитура
Квартет №1 Голоса
Струнные квартеты Д. Д. Шостаковича № 1–3
премьера:

10-октября-1938

Ленинград. Квартет им. Глазунова: Илья Лукашевский, Александр Печников, Александр Ривкин, Давид Могилевский

первое издание:

Ленинград. "Музгиз", № 1054

рукописи:

РНММ, клавир. Местонахождение автографа партитуры неизвестно.


Первое исполнение: 10 октября 1938 года. Ленинград. Квартет имени Глазунова.
Первое издание: Партитура квартета издана Музгизом в 1939 году.
Партитура. М., ССК, 1947, Стеклограф.
Шостакович Д. Д. Квартеты. М., Музыка, 1964.

«Сочиняя свой первый квартет, я стремился передать в нем образы детства, несколько наивные, светлые, весенние настроения».

«Начал писать его (Первый квартет) без особых мыслей и чувств, думал, что ничего не получится. Ведь квартет — один из труднейших музыкальных жанров. Первую страницу я написал в виде своеобразного упражнения в квартетной форме, не думая его когда-нибудь завершить. Но потом работа над квартетом меня очень увлекла, и я написал его чрезвычайно быстро...»
«Не следует искать особенной глубины в этом первом моем квартете...»


Квартет № 1 до мажор
Соч. 49

I. Moderato
II. Moderato
III. Allegro molto
IV. Allegro

     Первый квартет, созданный в сравнительно благополучное для Шостаковича время, открыл уникальный в своём роде цикл из пятнадцати музыкальных автопортретов, показывающих художника в разных жизненных обстоятельствах и настроениях. Работа над Первым квартетом началась, согласно датировке эскизов, 30 мая 1938 года (через двадцать дней после того как у него родился сын Максим) в Ленинграде и продлилась до 17 июля 1938 года.
     Это один из самых сжатых по объёму квартетов Шостаковича: его исполнение не превышает четверти часа.  10 октября 1938 года в Ленинградском отделении Союза советских композиторов состоялось прослушивание Первого квартета Шостаковича в исполнении Квартета им. А. Глазунова в составе: Илья Лукашевский, Григорий Гинзбург, Александр Рывкин и Давид Могилевский. В те же дни (до 16 октября) композитор отправил рукопись артистам Гсударственного квартета им. Бетховена с комментариями по поводу характера частей и исполнительскими указаниями. Уже 22 октября Шостакович присутствовал в Москве на репетиции Бетховенского квартета в составе Дмитрия Цыганова, Василия Ширинского, Вадима Борисовского и Сергея Ширинского. 
     Официальная премьера Первого квартета состоялась во время Декады советской музыки в Малом зале Московской консерватории 16 ноября 1938 года. Исполнил его Квартет им. Бетховена, которому Шостакович в дальнейшем поручал первые исполнения всех своих квартетов, за исключением Пятнадцатого. В программе концерта стояли также Квартет С.С. Прокофьева соч. 50 и Квартет фа минор Н.Я. Мясковского. В вечер московской премьеры новый опус Шостаковича был полностью повторен на бис.
     Сообщение о состоявшейся премьере появилось уже на следующий день в газете «Правда». Концерт был назван «центральным событием декады советской музыки», при этом отмечалось, что «наибольший успех имел впервые исполненный по рукописи квартет Д. Шостаковича. По требованию публики были целиком повторены все четыре части квартета».
     19 ноября 1938 года Первый квартет ещё раз прозвучал в Московской консерватории — на Всесоюзном конкурсе квартетов в исполнении Квартета им. Л.С. Ауэра, а 21-го по радио в исполнении Квартета им. Бетховена.
     И в дальнейшем судьба Первого квартета складывалась удачно. Буквально сразу же после своего появления он заслужил в советской критике репутацию «шедевра советской камерной литературы», в первой монографии о композиторе удостоился подробного разбора и сравнения с «лучшими страницами романтической музыки Шуберта». Он постоянно находился в исполнительском репертуаре. В 1939 году партитура и голоса квартета были изданы Ленинградским отделением Музгиза.
     Франция познакомилась с этим сочинением ещё в ноябре 1938 года по трансляции из Москвы. В следующем году состоялись его исполнения для радиослушателей США (7 января), Ленинграда (26 января), СССР (2 декабря), Литвы (22 декабря с исполнением II и IV частей); в 1941 году — Венгрии (23 марта). Британская премьера прошла 13 декабря 1941 года (Лондон, Эолиан-холл, Хирш-квартет). 3 августа 1942 года Квартет им. Бетховена исполнил его на московском радио для радиослушателей США, а 3 сентября на радиостанции KYA (Сан-Франциско) — Сан-Францисский струнный квартет (Н. Блиндер, Ф. Хаузер, Ф. Моллнар, Б. Блиндер) в программе «All-Shostakovich program».
     Первая запись Первого квартета была осуществлена в Нью-Йорке фирмой Columbia в июле 1942 года (на пластинках 78 об/мин). Исполнители — Stuyvesant Quartet в составе: Сильван Шульман, Морис Уилк, Эмануэль Варди, Алан Шульман. В СССР запись этого сочинения вышла впервые в 1947 году на фирме «Мелодия» (также на пластинках 78 об/мин) в исполнении Квартета им. Бетховена.
     II часть квартета (Moderato) была использована для замены прежнего звукового сопровождения титров при восстановлении в 1965 году фильма режиссёра Лео Арнштама «Подруги» (1935) с музыкой Шостаковича.
     Первый квартет — один из пяти струнных квартетов Шостаковича, аранжированных Рудольфом Баршаем для камерного оркестра и в этой версии именуемых «Камерными симфониями» (транскрипция Первого квартета обозначена как соч. 49а и носит подзаголовок «Маленькая симфония»).


записи:

  • Квартет им. Бородина: Дубинский Р.Д., Александров Я.П., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1967 // Melodiya Seraphim SIC-6034, 1967-1968
  • Квартет им. Бородина: Дубинский Р.Д., Александров Я.П., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1967 // Melodia Eurodisc 76 649 XK, 76 639,
  • Квартет им. Бородина: Дубинский Р.Д., Александров Я.П., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1967 // Мелодия МГ 087129, Д-019277, 1967
  • Квартет им. Бородина: Копельман М., Абраменков А., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1978 // Мелодия С 10-11757-8, 1979
  • Квартет им. Бородина: Копельман М., Абраменков А., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1978 // HMV Melodiya EX 270339 E2703401, 1986
  • Квартет им. Шостаковича: Шишлов А.А., Пищугин С., Галковский А.В., Корчагин А.А. 1981 // OLYMPIA OCD 531, 1994
  • Brodsky Quartet: Thomas M., Belton I., Cassidy P., Thomas J. 1989 // TELDEC 9031-71702-2, 1990
  • Квартет им. Бетховена: Цыганов Д.М., Забавников Н., Дружинин Ф.С., Ширинский С.П. 1960 // TRITON MECC-26018, 1995
  • Квартет им. Бородина: Копельман М., Абраменков А., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1995 // TELDEC 4509-98417-2, 1996
  • Talich Quartet: Messierur P., Kvapil J., Talich J., Rattay E. 1976 // PRAGA PR 254 042, 1994
  • Фицвильям-квартет: К. Роулэнд, Дж. Спэри, А. Джордж, И. Дэвис. 1979 // LONDON 455 777-2 (Set 455 776-2), 1998

назад

Годы жизни