Works Piano Compositions

8 Preludes

Opus 1 Opus 3

Opus 2
1919-1920 year

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Miniatures of Different Years
premiere:

08-May-1920

Author. Petrograd. House of Arts (exhibition of paintings by B. M. Kustodiev). The cycle was presented in full to his teacher Leonid Nikolayev on 6 September 1921.

first publication:

D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol.39, Moscow, Muzyka, 1983

manuscripts:

RSALA rec. gr. 2, inv. 14


Eight Preludes
for Piano. Op. 2

 The piano prelude genre in Shostakovich’s oeuvre is represented by three opuses, as well as several pieces without opus numbers, written before or soon after he began studying at the conservatory.
  The second opus includes eight preludes written in 1919 (No. 1) and 1921 (Nos. 2-8).

  •   No. 1, G minor. Agitato (September 1919),
  •   No. 2, G Mixolydian. Andante (June 1921),
  •   No. 3, E minor. Allegro non troppo e furioso (June1921),
  •   No. 4, B flat major. Allegretto (June 1921),
  •   No. 5, A minor. Allegro molto (June 1921),
  •   No. 6, F minor. Andante (June 1921),
  •   No. 7, D flat major. Moderato (before 6 September 1921),
  •   No. 8, D flat major. Allegretto. Prestissimo (before 5 September 1921).

  The dating for most of these preludes (Nos. 1-6) is based on an incomplete copy done by an unidentified person (Mariya Shostakovich) and titled “8 Preludes”. The dates for the last two have been reconstructed from indirect evidence: first, on the basis of the fact that Maksimilian Steinberg was shown all the preludes on 6 September 1921, about which there is an entry in his diary, and second, on the basis of the dedicatory inscription of 5 September 1921 in the author’s manuscript of Prelude No. 8.
  There are also dedicatory inscriptions in the author’s manuscript of Prelude No. 7, notated in the album of pianist and Shostakovich’s classmate Marianna Gramenitskaya, as well as in the author’s manuscript of Prelude No. 5.
  Each of the preludes has a dedication. They were made to artist Boris Mikhaylovich Kustodiyev (Prelude No. 1), the composer’s sister Masha (Mariya Dmitriyevna) Shostakovich (preludes Nos. 2-5) and “N.K.”—Natasha (Natalia Nikolayevna) Kube (preludes Nos. 6-8).
  The very appearance of Op. 2 can be related to a collective idea: in his conservatory years, Shostakovich and his colleagues, student composers Georgy Klements and Pavel Feldt, decided to write a cycle of preludes for piano in all 24 keys, eight each. But the work was not finished. There is a holograph, the so-called “Collective Exercise Book”, containing 18 preludes, of which Shostakovich wrote five: in A minor (No. 2), G flat major (No. 3), E minor (No. 4), D flat major (No. 15) and F minor (No. 18).
  There is currently no information that could shed light on what came first—the idea for the collective exercise book, or composing the preludes as a separate cycle, but it is clear that when writing in the exercise book, Shostakovich already had completed all the items belonging to the cycle: he wrote No. 1 as early as 1919, Nos. 2-6 in the summer of 1921, and Nos. 7-8 at the end of the summer and beginning of September 1921. The exercise book includes Nos. 2, 3, 5, 6 and 7 (in keeping with the numbering of Op. 2).


back

Years


1919

more

Сочинения Сочинения для фортепиано

8 прелюдий

Opus 1 Opus 3

Opus 2
1919-1920 год

Фортепианные миниатюры Д. Шостаковича разных лет
премьера:

08-мая-1920

Автор. Петроград. Дом искусств (выставка картин Б. М. Кустодиева). Полностью цикл был представлен учителю Л. В. Николаеву 6 сентября 1921 года.

первое издание:

Д. Шостакович. Собрание сочинений, т. 39, Москва, Музыка, 1983

рукописи:

ЦГАЛИ ф.2048, оп.2, ед.хр.14.


Восемь прелюдий
для фортепиано. Соч. 2

  Жанр фортепианной прелюдии в творчестве Шостаковича представлен тремя опусами, а также рядом пьес без опусных номеров, написанных преимущественно до поступления или вскоре после поступления в консерваторию.
  Второй опус включает восемь прелюдий, написанных в 1919 (№ 1) и 1921 (№ 2–8) годах.

  •   № 1, g-moll. Agitato (1919, сентябрь),
  •   № 2, миксолидийский G. Andante (1921, июнь),
  •   № 3, e-moll. Allegro non troppo e furioso (1921, июнь),
  •   № 4, B-dur. Allegretto (1921, июнь),
  •   № 5, a-moll. Allegro molto (1921, июнь),
  •   № 6, f-moll. Andante (1921, июнь),
  •   № 7, Des-dur. Moderato (1921, до 6 сентября),
  •   № 8, Des-dur. Allegretto. Prestissimo (1921, до 5 сентября).

  Датировка большей части этих прелюдий (№ 1–6) основана на неполной копии, выполненной неустановленным лицом (М. Д. Шостакович) и озаглавленной «8 Preludes». Датировка двух последних восстановлена по косвенным признакам: во-первых, на основании того, что 6 сентября 1921 года состоялся показ всех прелюдий М. О. Штейнбергу, о чём имеется запись в дневнике последнего, и, во-вторых, на основании датированной 5-м сентября 1921 года дарственной надписи на автографе прелюдии № 8.
  Дарственные надписи проставлены и на автографах прелюдии № 7, вписанной в альбом пианистке и соученице Шостаковича М. Ф. Граменицкой, а также на автографе прелюдии № 5.
  Каждая из прелюдий имеет посвящение. Адресатами были художник Борис Михайлович Кустодиев (прелюдия № 140), сестра композитора Маша (Мария Дмитриевна) Шостакович (прелюдии № 2–5) и «Н. К.» — Наташа (Наталья Николаевна) Кубе (прелюдии № 6–8).
  Само появление соч. 2 может быть связано с коллективным замыслом: в консерваторские годы Шостакович и его коллеги, студенты-композиторы Георгий Клеменц и Павел Фельдт, решили написать цикл прелюдий для фортепиано во всех 24 тональностях, каждый по восемь. Но работа не была завершена. Существует автограф, так называемая «Коллективная тетрадь», содержащая 18 прелюдий, из которых Шостаковичем написаны пять в тональностях a-moll (№ 2), G-dur (№ 3), e-moll (№ 4), Des-dur (№ 15) и f-moll (№ 18).
  В настоящее время нет данных, которые бы позволяли определить, что было первично — идея коллективной тетради или написание прелюдий как отдельного цикла, но ясно, что, заполняя тетрадь, Шостакович уже имел на руках все входящие в цикл пьесы: № 1 был написан им ещё в 1919 году, № 2–6 — летом 1921-го, а № 7–8 — в конце лета и начале сентября 1921 года. В тетрадь входят пьесы № 2, 3, 5, 6, 7 (по нумерации соч. 2).


назад

Годы жизни