Works Chamber Compositions for Voice and Songs

Six Songs on Poems by Marina Tsvetaeva

Opus 142 Opus 143a

Opus 143
1973 year

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Compositions for Solo Voice(s).
premiere:

30-October-1973

October 30, 1973. Great Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonia. Performed by I. Bogachova and S. Vakman.

first publication:

1974. “Muzyka” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the archive of the composer’s family.


Duraion: 18'


Six Songs on Poems by Marina Tsvetaeva
Suite for Contralto and Piano

     The vocal cycle Six Songs on Poems by Marina Tsvetayeva was written at the beginning of August 1973 in the Estonian city of Pärnu, where Shostakovich was on holiday. The author’s manuscript of the piano score gives the exact days each romance was written: ‘My Poetry’ (1 August), ‘Whence Comes This Tenderness?’ (2 August), ‘Hamlet’s Dialogue with His Conscience’ (3 August), ‘The Poet and the Tsar’ and ‘No, Sounded the Drum…’ (6 August) and ‘To Anna Akhmatova’ (7 August).
     According to Shostakovich himself, the literary source was Tsvetayeva’s Selected Poetry put out by Sovetsky pisatel Publishers (Moscow, Leningrad) in 1965.
     The Leningrad premiere was held on 30 October 1973 in the Great Hall of the Philharmonic. The first performers of the cycle - I.P. Bogacheva and S.B. Wackman. 12 November 1973, the cycle was performed again in the Glinka Small Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic (with the same performers). The concert was recorded on tape, which is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive. The first performance in Moscow was held on 27 December 1973 in the Small Hall of the Conservatory.
     In 1976, the first performances of the cycle were held in other Soviet cities—Minsk, Kiev and Kislovodsk.
     Following the version for voice and piano, the cycle’s orchestral version was done under Op. 143a. It was completed on 9 January 1974, as indicated by the date at the end of the author’s manuscript of the score. The premiere of the version for contralto and chamber orchestra was held on 15 June 1974 in the Small Hall of the Moscow Conservatory performed by Irina Bogacheva and the Moscow Chamber Orchestra un­ der the baton of Rudolf Barshai. In 1975, the cycle was included in the repertoire of the Kiev Chamber Orchestra, about which its art director and conductor Igor Blazhkov informed Shostakovich in a letter on 3 April 1975. Blazhkov conducted the romances during the following concert season on 13 May 1976 in Kiev, with Tamara Kalustian performing the solo part.
     The first premieres of the cycle abroad took place at the end of the 1970s.
     The cycle’s first studio recordings were done on 5 April 1974 (version with piano) and in July 1974 (version with orchestra). Both versions were recorded with the participation of their first performers.
     Muzfond first published a collotype edition of the piano score of the Tsvetayeva cycle in 1974. The first romance in this edition had a different title than the one in the author’s manu­ script; it was called ‘My Verse’. Muzfond also published a collotype edition of the score of the suite with a corrected version of the name of the first item. Following this, the suite was published in a collection of Shostakovich’s vocal works put out by Muzyka Publishers (Moscow, 1974). A year later, the version for voice and piano was printed again by Muzyka in a separate edition. Later, the full score and piano score of the Tsvetayeva romances were published in Volume 31 (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1982) and Volume 33 (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1984) of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works, respectively. The last Russian edition of the piano score was published in the composer’s New Collected Works (Vol. 92, DSCH, Moscow, 2010).
     The foreign editions of the piano score were published by Peters (1978), G. Schirmer (1979) and Zen­on Music (1992).


recordings:

  • Bogacheva I.P., Wakman S.B. (piano) 1974 // Melodia S 10-05137-8, 1975
  • Bogacheva I.P., Wakman S.B. (piano) 1974 // Melodia Eurodisc 89 803 XDK

back

Years


1973

more

Сочинения Камерные вокальные сочинения и песни

Шесть стихотворений Марины Цветаевой

Opus 142 Opus 143a

Opus 143
1973 год

Вокальные сочинения Д. Д. Шостаковича.
премьера:

30-октября-1973

Большой зал Ленинградской филармонии 30 октября 1973 года. Исполнители И. Богачева, С. Вакман.

первое издание:

Цикл опубликован в 1974 году издательством «Музыка».

рукописи:

Автограф хранится в архиве семьи композитора.


Длительность: 18’


Шесть стихотворений Марины Цветаевой
Сюита для контральто и фортепиано

     Вокальный цикл «Шесть стихотворений Марины Цветаевой» был написан в начале августа 1973 года в эстонском городе Пярну, где Шостакович находился на отдыхе. В авторском клавире сохранились точные даты создания каждого из романсов: «Мои стихи» (1.08), «Откуда такая нежность?» (2.08), «Диалог Гамлета с совестью» (3.08), «Поэт и царь» и «Нет, бил барабан» (6.08), «Анне Ахматовой» (7.08).
     Литературным источником, по словам самого Шостаковича, послужил сборник сочинений Цветаевой «Избранные стихотворения», выпущенный издательством «Советский писатель» (М.,Л.) в 1965 году.
     Ленинградская премьера состоялась 30 октября 1973 года в Большом зале филармонии. Первые исполнители цикла — И.П. Богачёва и С.Б. Вакман. 12 ноября 1973 года цикл был повторен в Малом зале им. М.И. Глинки Ленинградской филармонии (исполнители те же). Концерт был записан на магнитофонную плёнку, которая сохранилась в Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича. Первое исполнение в Москве прошло 27 декабря 1973 года в Малом зале консерватории.
     В 1976 году прошли первые исполнения цикла в других городах СССР — Минске, Киеве, Кисловодске.
     Вслед за камерной версией цикла был сделан его оркестровый вариант под опусом 143а, завершённый 9 января 1974 года, о чём свидетельствует дата в конце автографа партитуры. Премьера версии для контральто и камерного оркестра состоялась 15 июня 1974 года в Малом зале Московской консерватории в исполнении И.П. Богачёвой и Московского камерного оркестра под управлением Р.Б. Баршая. В 1975 году цикл был включён в репертуар Киевского камерного оркестра, о чём его художественный руководитель и дирижёр И.И. Блажков сообщал Шостаковичу в письме от 3 апреля 1975 года. Под его руководством романсы прозвучали в следующем концертном сезоне, 13 мая 1976 года в Киеве, где сольную партию исполнила Т.С. Калустян.
     Первые зарубежные премьеры цикла состоялись в конце 1970­х годов.
     Первое издание клавира цветаевского цикла было осуществлено Музфондом в 1974 году стеклографическим способом. В этом издании начальный романс был озаглавлен иначе, чем в автографе, — «Мой стих». Тем же стеклографическим способом в Музфонде была напечатана и партитура сюиты с исправленным вариантом названия первого номера. Вслед за ними сюита была опубликована в сборнике вокальных сочинений Шостаковича, выпущенных издательством «Музыка» (М., 1974). Годом позже вариант для голоса и фортепиано был заново напечатан «Музыкой» уже в виде отдельного издания. В дальнейшем партитура и клавир цветаевских романсов вошли, соответственно, в 31­й (М., Музыка, 1982) и 33­й (М., Музыка, 1984) тома Собрания сочинений Д.Д. Шостаковича. Последнее отечественное издание клавира состоялось в рамках Нового собрания сочинений композитора (том 92, М., DSCH, 2010).
     Зарубежные издания клавира были осуществлены издательствами Peters (1978), G. Schirmer (1979), Zen­on Music (1992).


записи:

  • Богачева И.П., Вакман С.Б. (ф-п) 1974 // Мелодия С 10-05137-8, 1975
  • Богачева И.П., Вакман С.Б. (ф-п) 1974 // Melodia Eurodisc 89 803 XDK

назад

Годы жизни