Works Chamber Instrumental Ensembles

String Quartet No.14

Opus SO Opus 143

Opus 142
1973 year

Quartet No.14 Score
Quartet No.14 Parts
premiere:

12-November-1973

November 12, 1973. Leningrad. Glinka Small Hall of the Conservatoire. On November 14th the quartet was performed in Moscow, in the Small Hall of the Conservatoire by the Beethoven Quartet.

first publication:

1974. Score, “Muzyka” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is kept in the archive of S.Shirinsky’s family.


Boris Tishchenko:

“As we know, Dmitri Dmitriyevich planned on writing an extensive cycle of twenty-four quartets. The Fourteenth Quartet is written in C major and follows the Thirteenth in B flat minor, which is an intense, sad, very lyrical, subtle and attenuated quartet, I would say. And whereas the Thirteenth Quartet was composed for a solo viola and a string trio, meaning it can be described as a viola quartet, and is dedicated to violist Borisovsky, the violist for the Beethoven Quartet, the Fourteenth Quartet is a cello quartet dedicated to Sergey Shirinsky. He [Shostakovich] dedicated a quartet to each of his friends, each member of the Beethoven Quartet, thus expressing his respect, gratitude and love for his music colleagues. Maybe since the previous quartet was written for the viola, the Fourteenth Quartet begins with a solo viola, following which the solo is passed on, like a baton, in this quartet super cycle, to the cello. Dmitri Dmitriyevich’s love for the cello prompted him to write numerous cello compositions. These include two concertos, a cello sonata and, in general it seems to me, Dmitri Shostakovich can be described as a ‘string’ composer. If we take a close look at his music and the orchestral instruments he wrote for, it may seem strange at first glance that they do not include any woodwind quintets or woodwind orchestras, the instruments prized by Hindemith and Stravinsky, for instance.”


String Quartet No.14
F-sharp Major
op. 142

I. Allegretto
II. Adagio
III. Allegretto

   If the Thirteenth Quartet can be called a “quartet with a solo viola,” then the Fourteenth Quartet is even more a “quartet with a solo cello.” Shostakovich dedicated it to the Beethoven Quartet cellist Sergei Petrovich Shprinsky (1903-1974).
   The numerous solo episodes of the Fourteenth Quartet in their own way reflect the composer's impressions of the creative appearance of the musician. Emphasizing his dedication, Shostakovich introduced into the finale of the quartet a fragment from the last act of the opera Katerina Izmailova - the heroine’s phrase into the words “Seryozha! My dear!". In addition, the letter designations of the sounds of the main theme of the finale also add up to the word "Seryozha".
   Quartet No. 14 was completed on April 23, 1973. On October 30, a new quartet was performed at the All-Union House of Composers performed by the Beethoven Quartet.
   The first performance of Quartet No. 14 took place on November 12, 1973 in Leningrad, in the Small Hall named after M. I. Glinka. On November 14, the quartet was performed in Moscow, in the Small Hall of the Conservatory, in one of the concerts of the III Congress of the Union of Composers of the RSFSR. The official Moscow premiere of the quartet took place on November 18, 1973 in the same performance and in the same hall.


recordings:

  • Beethoven Quartet: Tsyganov D.M., Zabavnikov N., Druzhinin F.S., Shirinsky S.P. 1974 // Melodia S 10-05137-8, 1975
  • Beethoven Quartet: Tsyganov D.M., Zabavnikov N., Druzhinin F.S., Shirinsky S.P. 1974 // Melodia Eurodisc 89 803 XDK,
  • Sukovo kvarteto: Novák A., Jouza V., Řehák K., Štros J. 1976 // Panton 11 0603 G, 1976
  • Borodin Quartet: Kopelman M., Abramenkov A., Shebalin D.V., Berlinsky V.A. 1981 // HMV Melodia EX 270339 E 2703451, 1986
  • Hagen Quartett: Hagen K., Hagen L., Schmidt R., Hagen W. 1994 // Deutsche Grammophon 445 864-2 GH, 1995
  • Brodsky Quartet: Thomas M., Belton I., Cassidy P., Thomas J. 1989 // TELDEC 9031-71702-2, 1990
  • Fitzwilliam Quartet: C. Rowland, J. Spary, A. George, I. Davis. 1975 // LONDON 455 782-2 (Set 455 776-2), 1998
  • Shostakovich Quartet: Shishlov A.A., Pishchugin S., Galkovsky A.V., Korchagin A.A. 1988 // OLYMPIA OCD 535, 1994
  • Beethoven Quartet: Tsyganov D.M., Zabavnikov N., Druzhinin F.S., Shirinsky S.P. 1974 // CONSONANS 81-3008, 1995
  • Glinka Quartet: A. Arenkov, S. Pischugin, M. Geller, D. Fershman 1977 // PRAGA PR 254 043, 1994

back

Years


1973

more

Сочинения Камерные инструментальные ансамбли

Квартет № 14

Opus SO Opus 143

Opus 142
1973 год

Квартет №14 Партитура
Квартет №14 Голоса
премьера:

12-ноября-1973

12 ноября 1973 года в Ленинграде, в Малом зале имени М. И. Глинки. 14 ноября квартет прозвучал в Москве, в Малом зале консерватории в исполнении Квартета им. Бетховена.

первое издание:

Партитура напечатана в 1974 году издательством «Музыка».

рукописи:

Автограф хранится в архиве семьи С. Ширинского.


Посвящение: «Сергею Петровичу Ширинскому».
Длительность: 25’

Б. Тищенко:

«Как известно, Дмитрий Дмитриевич собирался написать гигантский цикл из двадцати четырех квартетов. Четырнадцатый квартет написан в до мажоре, это квартет, следующий после Тринадцатого — b-moll-ного квартета. Напряженного, грустного, очень лиричного, тонкого и заостренного такого, я бы сказал, квартета. И если Тринадцатый квартет написан как бы для солирующего альта с трио, то есть является, если можно так выразиться, альтовым квартетом и посвящен альтисту Борисовскому — альтисту Квартета имени Бетховена, то Четырнадцатый квартет — это квартет виолончельный, посвящен он Сергею Петровичу Ширинскому. Он посвятил по квартету каждому из своих друзей, каждому члену Квартета имени Бетховена. И этим выразил дань уважения, признательности и любви к своим коллегам по искусству. Может быть, именно потому, что предыдущий квартет был альтовый, четырнадцатый квартет начинается с соло альта и затем соло передается, как эстафета, в этом квартетном суперцикле виолончели. Любовь Дмитрия Дмитриевича к виолончели сказалась на большом количестве произведений для виолончели. Это два концерта, это виолончельная соната, и вообще, мне кажется, Дмитрий Дмитриевич Шостакович — очень «струнный» композитор. Если внимательно посмотреть на его музыку и составы, для которых он писал, то покажется, на первый взгляд, странным, что среди составов, которыми он пользовался, нет таких составов, как, скажем, деревянные духовые квинтеты, духовые оркестры, то есть те составы, которые любили, скажем, Хиндемит, Стравинский».


Квартет № 14
фа-диез мажор
соч. 142

I. Allegretto
II. Adagio
III. Allegretto

  Если Тринадцатый квартет можно назвать «квартетом с солирующим альтом», то Четырнадцатый в еще большей мере— «квартетом с солирующей виолончелью». Шостакович посвятил его виолончелисту Квартета имени Бетховена Сергею Петровичу Ширинскому (1903—1974).
   Многочисленные сольные эпизоды Четырнадцатого квартета по-своему отражают впечатления композитора от творческого облика музыканта. Подчеркивая свое посвящение, Шостакович ввел в финал квартета фрагмент из последнего акта оперы «Катерина Измайлова» — фразу героини на слова «Сережа! Хороший мой!». Кроме того, буквенные обозначения звуков основной темы финала также складываются в слово «Сережа».
  Квартет № 14 завершен 23 апреля 1973 года. 30 октября новый квартет прозвучал во Всесоюзном Доме композиторов в исполнении Квартета имени Бетховена.
  Первое исполнение квартета № 14 состоялось 12 ноября 1973 года в Ленинграде, в Малом зале имени М. И. Глинки. 14 ноября квартет прозвучал в Москве, в Малом зале консерватории, в одном из концертов III съезда Союза композиторов РСФСР. Официальная московская премьера квартета состоялась 18 ноября 1973 года в том же исполнении и в том же зале.


записи:

  • Квартет им. Бетховена: Цыганов Д.М., Забавников Н., Дружинин Ф.С., Ширинский С.П. 1974 // Мелодия С 10-05137-8, 1975
  • Квартет им. Бетховена: Цыганов Д.М., Забавников Н., Дружинин Ф.С., Ширинский С.П. 1974 // Melodia Eurodisc 89 803 XDK,
  • Sukovo kvarteto: Novák A., Jouza V., Řehák K., Štros J. 1976 // Panton 11 0603 G, 1976
  • Квартет им. Бородина: Копельман М., Абраменков А., Шебалин Д.В., Берлинский В.А. 1981 // HMV Melodiya EX 270339 E 2703451, 1986
  • Hagen Quartett: Хаген К., Хаген Л., Шмидт Р., Хаген В. 1994 // Deutsche Grammophon 445 864-2 GH, 1995
  • Brodsky Quartet: Thomas M., Belton I., Cassidy P., Thomas J. 1989 // TELDEC 9031-71702-2, 1990
  • Фицвильям-квартет: К. Роулэнд, Дж. Спэри, А. Джордж, И. Дэвис. 1975 // LONDON 455 782-2 (Set 455 776-2), 1998
  • Квартет им. Шостаковича: Шишлов А.А., Пищугин С., Галковский А.В., Корчагин А.А. 1988 // OLYMPIA OCD 535, 1994
  • Квартет им. Бетховена: Цыганов Д.М., Забавников Н., Дружинин Ф.С., Ширинский С.П. 1974 // CONSONANS 81-3008, 1995
  • Квартет им. Глинки: Аренков А., Пищугин С., Геллер М., Фершман Д. 1977 // PRAGA PR 254 043, 1994

назад

Годы жизни