Works Choral Compositions

“Loyalty”. Eight Ballads

Opus 135 Opus 137

Opus 136
1970 year

“Loyalty”.  Op. 136.
premiere:

05-December-1970

December 5, 1970. Concert Hall “Estonia”. State Academic Male Chorus of the Estonian SSR. The Moscow premiere of the cycle of ballads “Loyalty” took place on February 25, 1971 in the Great Hall of the Conservatoire with the same performers. Conductor G. Ernesaks.

first publication:

1970. “Muzyka” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the archive of the composer’s family


The work was written for the centenary of Lenin’s birth. Completed on February 13, 1970
Dedication: “To Gustav Gustavovich Ernesaks”
Duration: 25’ 

“In this historic year, the centenary of Lenin’s birth, each of us is obliged to look back over his past life, to make a close study of the current state of art in our country and to note what plans there are for the future. <...> Lenin’s life and work have always been, are and will be an inspiring example for us - the builders of Soviet culture. <...> We have to create works that are worthy of our great, immortal leader - Vladimir Ilyich Lenin.”


Loyalty
Eight Ballads for Male Choir a capella
Words by Yevgeni Dolmatovsky

     Loyalty—Eight Ballads for Male Choir—was written in the winter of 1970. It was composed for the 100th anniversary of Vladimir Ilyich Lenin’s birth.
     The ballads were written for male choir a cappella.
     The composer decided to dedicate the future composition to Gustav Ernesaks and his outstanding choir—the State Academic Male Voice Choir of the Estonian SSR, whose art the composer truly admired.
     The precise date work began on the cycle has not been established. Only the date it was finished is given in the author’s manuscripts—at the end of the hand-written score, Shostakovich wrote, ‘13 february 1970’.
     The first performance was held on 5 December 1970 in the Concert Hall of the Estonian Philharmonic. It was the 3,000th appearance of the Estonian State Academic Male Voice Choir under the baton of Ernesaks.
     The first performance in Moscow was held on 25 february 1971 in the Grand Hall of the Conservatory (with the same performers) in the author’s presence.
     All the major newspapers wrote about the premiere of Loyalty. After the Moscow concert, articles and comments appeared in the national press—in Pravda, Izvestia, Vechernyaya Moskva and Sovetskaya kultura.
     On 26 March, the ballads were first performed in Leningrad in the Concert Hall of the Glinka Academic Cappella within the framework of the ‘For the 24th Congress of the CPSU’ concert cycle. Other performers participated in this premiere—the male choir of the Leningrad Academic Cappella under the direction of Fedor Kozlov.
     In 1974, the Loyalty ballads were awarded a prestigious government prize—the Glinka State Prize of the RSFSR.
     The only recording of the cycle was done during the composer’s lifetime, in 1971 (the Estonian SSR State Academic Male Voice Choir, conductor Gustav Ernesaks). In 1974, the same performance was reissued by the American company Angel Melodiya (SR-40245).
     The first publications of the cycle came out in 1970, even before the premiere. Three of the ballads—‘In Some Immemorial Year’, ‘“People Believing in the flame’ and ‘On Meetings of the Young Generation’— were published in the journal Sovetskaya muzyka (No. 9, 1970). following them, the choral score was published (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1970). Two copies of the score of Loyalty without the publisher’s imprint and the above-mentioned music with an inscription by Shostakovich to Ernesaks of 22 March 1970 (with the manufacturer’s trademark ‘Eesti maaehitusprojekt’ Rotaprint, 1970) are kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive. Outstanding choir conductor Vladislav Sokolov included his own arrangement of one of the ballads (‘I Want to Learn All about Him’) for children’s choir in the collection Crimson Stars. Songs and Choruses for Schoolchildren (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1979). The ballad ‘In Some Immemorial Year’ was included in the collection The Estonian SSR State Academic Male Voice Choir Sings (Sovetsky kompozitor, Moscow, 1983). In 1985, the cycle was published in Vol. 34 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow). The foreign edition of Loyalty was published in 1999 by Zen-On and G. Schirmer (jointly) and was accompanied by texts of the ballads in Russian and Japanese.


recordings:

  • State Academic Male Choir of the Estonian SSR. Conductor: G. Ernesaks. 1971 // Angel Melodiya SR-40245, 1974

back

Years


1970

more

Сочинения Сочинения для хора

«Верность», восемь баллад

Opus 135 Opus 137

Opus 136
1970 год

«Верность». Соч. 136.
премьера:

05-декабря-1970

5 декабря 1970 года. Концертный зал «Эстония». Государственный академический мужской хор Эстонской ССР. Московская премьера цикла баллад «Верность» состоялась 25 февраля 1971 года в Большом зале консерватории, в том же исполнении. Дирижер Г. Эрнесакс.

первое издание:

1970. «Музыка», Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф партитуры хранится в архиве семьи композитора.


Произведение написано к 100-летию со дня рождения В. И. Ленина, окончено 13 февраля 1970 года
Посвящение: «Густаву Густавовичу Эрнесаксу».
Длительность: 25’

«В этот исторический год, год столетия со дня рождения В. И. Ленина, каждый из нас обязан обернуться на пройденный путь, глубоко изучить современное состояние нашего искусства, наметить перспективный план наших дел в будущем. <...> Жизнь и работа Ленина всегда были, есть и будут вдохновляющим примером для нас — советских строителей культуры. <...> Нам надо создавать произведения, достойные великого бессмертного вождя, Владимира Ильича Ленина».


«Верность»
Восемь баллад для мужского хора без сопровождения
Слова Е. Долматовского

     Восемь баллад для мужского хора «Верность» были написаны зимой 1970 года. Сочинение было приурочено к 100-летнему юбилею В.И. Ленина.
     Баллады были написаны для мужского хора a cappella.
     Будущее сочинение композитор решил посвятить Густаву Эрнесаксу и его выдающемуся коллективу — Государственному академическому мужскому хору Эстонской ССР, творчеством которых композитор искренне восхищался.
     Точная дата начала работы над циклом не установлена. В автографах сохранилась лишь дата её окончания — в конце рукописной партитуры Шостаковичем записано: «13 февраля 1970 года».
     Первое исполнение состоялось 5 декабря 1970 года в Концертном зале Эстонской филармонии. Это было 3000-е выступление Государственного академического мужского хора ЭССР под руководством Эрнесакса.
     Первое исполнение в Москве состоялось 25 февраля 1971 года в Большом зале консерватории (исполнители те же) в присутствии автора.
     О премьере «Верности» писали во всех крупных газетах; после московского концерта появились статьи и заметки в центральной прессе — в газетах «Правда», «Известия», «Вечерняя Москва», «Ленинградская правда», «Советская культура».
     26 марта баллады были впервые исполнены в Ленинграде в Концертном зале Академической капеллы имени М.И. Глинки в рамках абонемента «К XXIV съезду КПСС». В этой премьере приняли участие уже другие исполнители — мужская группа Ленинградской академической капеллы под управлением Ф.М. Козлова.
     В 1974 году баллады «Верность» были отмечены высокой правительственной наградой — Государственной премией РСФСР имени М.И. Глинки.
     Единственная запись цикла была осуществлена при жизни композитора — в 1971 году (Государственный академический мужской хор Эстонской ССР, дирижёр Г. Эрнесакс). В 1974 году это же исполнение было переиздано американской фирмой Angel Melodiya (SR-40245).
     Первые издания хорового цикла вышли в 1970 году, ещё до премьеры. Три баллады — «Как в незапамятном году», «Люди верили в пламя» и «На встречах юных поколений» — были опубликованы в журнале «Советская музыка» (1970, № 9). Вслед за ними была издана хоровая партитура (М., Музыка, 1970). В архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича также сохранились два экземпляра партитуры «Верности» без указания выходных данных и ноты с дарственной надписью Шостаковича Эрнесаксу от 22 марта 1970 года (с логотипом издательства «Eesti maaehitusprojekt» Rotaprint, 1970). Выдающийся хоровой дирижёр Вл.Г. Соколов включил собственное переложение одной из баллад («Я всё о нём хочу узнать») для детского хора в сборник «Алые звёзды. Песни и хоры для школьников» (М., Музыка, 1979). Баллада «Как в незапамятном году» вошла в сборник «Поёт Государственный академический мужской хор Эстонской ССР» (М., Советский композитор, 1983). В 1985 году цикл был опубликован в 34 томе Собрания сочинений Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка). Зарубежное издание «Верности» было осуществлено в 1999 году издательствами Zen-On и G. Schirmer (совместно) и сопровождалось текстами баллад на русском и японском языках.


записи:

  • Государственный Академический мужской хор Эстонской ССР. Дирижёр: Г. Эрнесакс. 1971 // Angel Melodiya SR-40245, 1974

назад

Годы жизни