Works Instrumental Sonatas

Sonata for Violin and Piano

Opus 133 Opus 135

Opus 134
1968 year

Sonata for Violin and Piano
Sonata for Violin and Piano. Op. 134. Unfinished Sonata for Violin and Piano. Sans op.
premiere:

03-May-1969

Moscow. Great Hall of the Conservatoire. Performed by D. Oistrakh and S. Richter.

first publication:

1969, Anglo-Soviet Music Press (London, Boosey & Hawkes); 1970, “Muzyka” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score in the RNMM (Stack 385). Rough drafts in the archive of the composer’s family.


Dedication: “To David Oistrakh (for his 60th birthday)”
Duration: 31’

“Shostakovich had the idea of making me a gift and writing a second concerto to coincide with my sixtieth birthday. He was a year out though. The concerto was ready by my fifty-ninth birthday. <...> Evidently, Shostakovich thought, that as he had made a mistake, it needed to be put right. That is how the Sonata for Violin and Piano came into being.... I had not expected it, although I had long dreamt that Shostakovich might write a violin sonata.
It was a wonderful gift, not just for me, of course, but to our country’s music as a whole”


Sonata for Violin and Piano
Op. 134

     The Second Violin Concerto was finished in May 1967, while October 1968 saw the completion of the Violin Sonata. Both works were composed for David Oistrakh’s 60th birthday and dedicated to him.
     Not until a month after the date the Sonata was finished (23 October 1968) did Shostakovich ask his colleagues and students, composers Boris Tchaikovsky (who played the violin part) and Mieczysław Weinberg, to play it on the piano four hands. On 17 November 1968, the composer did a recording at home on a tape recorder. Five days later, he sent this recording to Oistrakh.
     The recording done in Shostakovich’s home first came out on a vinyl record, and much later was put on a compact disc in the Shostakovich Plays Shostakovich series.
     The first public performance of the composition was held on 8 January 1969 at a meeting of the Board of the RSFSR Union of Composers. ‘The auditorium where the hearing was held could not hold all those wishing to hear the new composition in the magnificent performance by David Oistrakh and composer Mieczysław Weinberg,’ noted a correspondent of Sovetskaya kultura.
     The first concert performances of the Sonata took place on 3 and 4 May 1969 in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory; the violin part was played by David Oistrakh and the piano part by Svyatoslav Richter. Both performances were recorded. The recording assembled from these performances was published on a vinyl record in 1970 and 1971.
     In Leningrad, the Sonata was first performed by the same musicians on 23 September 1969 in the Small Hall and on 24 September in the Grand Hall of the State Philharmonic.
     Not only was this composition immediately incorporated into David Oistrakh’s active repertoire, but, on his recommendation as a member of the jury of the violin department of theThird International Tchaikovsky Competition (1970), the third movement of the Sonata was included in the violin programme of the second round as a mandatory composition.


recordings:

  • Brusilovsky A.Y., Godar P. 1997 // SC 53008, 1997
  • Kagan O.M., Richter S.T. 1985 // GRAMZAPIS' GCD 00095, 1995
  • Mints Sh., Postnikova V.V. 1991 // ERATO 2292-45804-2, 1992
  • Kholodenko A., Milshtein S. 1993 // REM 311210, 1993

back

Years


1968

more

Сочинения Инструментальные сонаты

Соната для скрипки и фортепиано

Opus 133 Opus 135

Opus 134
1968 год

Соната для скрипки и фортепиано
Соната для скрипки и фортепиано. Соч. 134. Неоконченная соната для скрипки и фортепиано. Б/н соч.
премьера:

03-мая-1969

Москва, Большой зал консерватории. Исполнители — Д. Ойстрах, С. Рихтер.

первое издание:

Соната напечатана в 1969 году фирмой Anglo-Soviet Music Press (London, Boosey & Hawkes), в 1970 году — издательством «Музыка» (Москва).

рукописи:

Автограф в РНММ (ф. 385). Черновики — семейный архив.


Посвящение:  «Давиду Ойстраху (в честь 60-летия»)
Длительность:  31’

«Дмитрий Дмитриевич задумал сделать мне подарок и написать для меня новый, второй концерт, приурочив его к моему 60-летию. Но он ошибся на один год. Концерт был готов к моему 59-летию. <...> Очевидно, Дмитрий Дмитриевич считал, что, раз он ошибся, ошибку надо исправить. Так появилась соната для скрипки и фортепиано... Я этого не ожидал, хотя уже давно мечтал, чтобы Шостакович написал скрипичную сонату.
Это был великолепный подарок не только мне, конечно, но всей нашей музыке».


Соната для скрипки и фортепиано
Соч. 134

     В мае 1967 года был завершён Второй скрипичный концерт, в октябре 1968-го— скрипичная соната. Оба сочинения написаны к 60-летнему юбилею Д.Ф. Ойстраха и ему посвящены.
     С даты окончания сонаты (23 октября 1968 года) прошёл почти месяц, когда Шостакович попросил исполнить её на рояле в четыре руки своих коллег и учеников, композиторов Б.А. Чайковского (играл партию скрипки) и М.С. Вайнберга. 17 ноября 1968 года композитор у себя дома сделал на катушечный магнитофон запись, которую он спустя пять дней отправил Ойстраху. Запись в доме Шостаковича сперва вышла на пластинке, а много позднее была помещена на диск серии «Шостакович играет Шостаковича».
     Первое публичное исполнение произведения состоялось 8 января 1969 года на заседании секретариата Правления Союза композиторов РСФСР. «Аудитория, где проходило прослушивание, не могла вместить всех желающих услышать новое сочинение в великолепном исполнении Д. Ойстраха и композитора М. Вайнберга»,— отмечал корреспондент газеты «Советская культура».
     Концертная премьера сочинения состоялась 3 и 4 мая 1969 года в Большом зале Московской консерватории в исполнении Д.Ф. Ойстраха и С.Т. Рихтера. В те вечера были сделаны записи, на основании которых затем смонтировали одну, в 1970 и 1971 годах вышедшую на пластинке.
     Премьерные исполнения сонаты в Ленинграде теми же артистами состоялись 23 сентября 1969 года в Малом зале и 24 сентября в Большом зале Государственной филармонии.
     Это произведение не только сразу же вошло в активный репертуар Д.Ф. Ойстраха, но и по его рекомендации как председателя жюри скрипичного отделения III Международного конкурса имени П.И. Чайковского (1970) III ч. сонаты была включена в скрипичную программу второго тура в качестве обязательного сочинения.


записи:

  • Брусиловский А.Я., Годар П. 1997 // SC 53008, 1997
  • Каган О.М., Рихтер С.Т. 1985 // ГРАМЗАПИСЬ GCD 00095, 1995
  • Минц Ш., Постникова В.В. 1991 // ERATO 2292-45804-2, 1992
  • Холоденко А., Мильштейн С. 1993 // REM 311210, 1993

назад

Годы жизни