Works Orchestral Compositions

“October”

Opus 130 Opus 132

Opus 131
1967 year

Music Memorials in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Oeuvre. Scores.
premiere:

16-September-1967

Moscow. Conservatory Bolshoi Hall. Orchestra of the Moscow State Philharmonia. Conductor M. Shostakovich.

first publication:

1969. Score, “Muzyka” Publishers.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the archive of the composer’s family.


Duration: 13’

“I had long planned to write a work dedicated to the Jubilee of our Soviet State, but had not achieved it. Then a few months ago I was at the ‘Mosfilm’ studios where they were preparing for the re-release of an old film by the Vasiliev brothers, ‘Volochayevka Days’, for which I had written the music many years before. I felt that my ‘Partisan Song’ had turned out quite successfully. The film reminded me of it and utterly unexpectedly the whole of the Poem then fell into place. I sat down to write. I re-wrote the main theme, filled with intonations from revolutionary songs and used as the second theme for the Poem the ‘Partisans’ Song’.  I did a significant re-working of both. The result was a major symphonic work lasting 12-13 minutes. “


October
Symphonic Poem for Orchestra

     The symphonic poem ‘October’ was written in the summer of 1967.
     In the autumn of 1967 the whole country was getting ready to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Great October Revolution. Several cultural events were organised for the anniversary date, in particular, Days of Culture and Art of the RSFSR held in Moscow from 21 to 29 September, Music of Soviet Russia concerts in Leningrad (end of September-beginning of October), and a Week of Soviet Music in Moscow (from 17 to 24 October). During these events, many premieres of the works of Soviet composers were held, including the first performance of Shostakovich’s ‘October’.
     Several different ensembles performed the new symphonic poem during the premiere series of concerts. At the first of them, on 16 September in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, ‘October’ was performed by the USSR State Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Maksim Shostakovich.
     Following the premiere on 21 September, the ‘October’ poem was performed at the opening of Days of Culture and Art of the RSFSR in the Kremlin Theatre in Moscow; Maksim Shostakovich was conducting now the Symphony Orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre. On 26 September, in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, the poem was performed by a third orchestra—the Symphony Orchestra of the Moscow Philharmonic conducted by Kirill Kondrashin. The same orchestra and conductor performed the poem on 17 October in the Grand Hall of the Conservatory at the opening of the Moscow Week of Soviet Music.
     The poem was first performed in Leningrad on Shostakovich’s birthday, on 25 September 1967, in the Grand Hall of the Philharmonic (by the Grand Symphony Orchestra of All-Union Radio and Television under the baton of Maxim Shostakovich).
     The symphonic poem was first published in a collotype version—the score came out almost at the same time as the premiere of the composition, in the autumn of 1967 (Muzfond, Moscow). In 1969, the poem was printed by Muzyka Publishers; later it was included in Volume 11 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1984). In 1977, Sovetsky Kompozitor Publishers put out an arrangement of ‘October’ for wind orchestra done by Daniil Braslavsky. The first foreign editions of the poem appeared at the same time as the Russian ones: in 1967, it was put out by two publishers—Japan-Soviet Music Inc. (full score) and Germany’s Hans Sikorski (orchestral parts). In 1972, ‘October’ was published by Peters.
     The discography of Op. 131 is primarily represented by foreign recordings. The Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra (conductor Heinz Rögner) and the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra (conductor Zdeněk Košler) were among the first to record the poem ‘October’ in 1977. As for Russian performers, the poem was recorded by Veronika Dudarova with the Moscow Symphony Orchestra (now the Moscow State Academic Symphony Orchestra).


recordings:

  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Batis E. 1990 // ASV DCA 707, 1990
  • Norrköpings Symfoniorkester. Conductor: Hirokami U. 1993 // FHCE 2014 FUN HOUSE INC., 1993
  • Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Jarvey N. 1988 // Deutsche Grammophon DG 427 616-2, 1989

back

Years


1967

more

Сочинения Сочинения для оркестра

«Октябрь»

Opus 130 Opus 132

Opus 131
1967 год

Музыкальные мемориалы в творчестве Шостаковича. Партитуры.
премьера:

16-сентября-1967

Москва. Большой зал Консерватории. Оркестр Московской государственной филармонии под управлением М. Шостаковича.

первое издание:

1969. Партитура, «Музыка».

рукописи:

Автограф в архиве семьи композитора.


Длительность: 13’

«Давно собирался я написать произведение, посвященное юбилею нашего Советского государства, но все не получалось. И вот несколько месяцев назад я был на "Мосфильме". Там готовили к выпуску на экран старую ленту братьев Васильевых "Волочаевские дни", к которой я в свое время писал музыку. И, как мне теперь показалось, довольно удачно у меня тогда получилась "Партизанская песня". Картина напомнила мне ее и совершенно неожиданно прояснила всю будущую поэму. Я сел писать. Главную тему сочинил вновь — она проникнута интонациями революционных песен, а второй темой поэмы стала "Партизанская песня". И ту и другую я подверг серьезной разработке. Получилось большое симфоническое произведение на 12—13 минут».


«Октябрь»
Симфоническая поэма для оркестра

     Симфоническая поэма «Октябрь» была написана летом 1967 года.
     Осенью 1967 года вся страна готовилась к празднованию 50-летия Великой Октябрьской революции. К юбилейной дате был приурочен ряд культурных мероприятий, в частности Дни культуры и искусства РСФСР, прошедшие в Москве с 21 по 29 сентября, концерты «Музыка Советской России» в Ленинграде (конец сентября—начало октября), Неделя советской музыки в Москве (с 17 по 24 октября). В рамках этих событий прошло много премьер сочинений советских композиторов, и в том числе — первые исполнения «Октября» Шостаковича.
     В премьерной серии концертов новую симфоническую поэму исполнили сразу несколько коллективов. На первом из них, 16 сентября в Большом зале Московской консерватории, «Октябрь» прозвучал в исполнении Государственного симфонического оркестра СССР под руководством М.Д. Шостаковича.
     Вслед за премьерой 21 сентября поэма «Октябрь» была исполнена на открытии Дней культуры и искусства РСФСР в Москве в Кремлёвском театре, где М.Д. Шостакович продирижировал уже Симфоническим оркестром Большого театра. 26 сентября в Большом зале Московской консерватории симфоническая поэма прозвучала в исполнении третьего коллектива — Симфонического оркестра Московской филармонии под руководством К.П. Кондрашина. Тем же составом сыграли поэму и 17 октября в БЗК на открытии московской Недели советской музыки.
     Первое исполнение поэмы в Ленинграде состоялось в день рождения Шостаковича, 25 сентября 1967 года, в Большом зале филармонии (Большой симфонический оркестр Всесоюзного радио и телевидения под управлением М.Д. Шостаковича).
     Первое издание симфонической поэмы было осуществлено стеклографическим способом—партитура вышла почти одновременно с премьерой сочинения, осенью 1967 года (М., Музфонд). В 1969 году поэма была напечатана издательством «Музыка»; позже вошла в 11 том Собрания сочинений Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1984). В 1977 году издательство «Советский композитор» опубликовало переложение «Октября» для духового оркестра, выполненное Д.А. Браславским. Первые зарубежные издания поэмы появились одновременно с отечественным: в 1967 году её опубликовали сразу два издательства — советско-японское Japan-Soviet Music Inc. (партитура) и немецкое Hans Sikorski (оркестровые партии). В 1972 году публикацию «Октября» предпринял Peters.
     Дискография сочинения 131 представлена преимущественно зарубежными записями. Среди первых, в 1977 году, поэму «Октябрь» записали Симфонический оркестр Берлинского радио (дирижер Х. Рёгнер) и Симфонический оркестр Чешского радио (дирижер З. Кошлер). Из отечественных исполнителей поэму записывала В. Дударова с Московским симфоническим оркестром (ныне — МГАСО, 1982).


записи:

  • Королевский филармонический оркестр. Дирижер: Батис Э. 1990 // ASV DCA 707, 1990
  • Норрчёпингский симфонический оркестр. Дирижер: Хироками Ю. 1993 // FHCE 2014 FUN HOUSE INC., 1993
  • Гётеборгский симфонический оркестр. Дирижер: Ярви Н. 1988 // Deutsche Grammophon DG 427 616-2, 1989

назад

Годы жизни