Works Piano Compositions

“Aphorisms”

Opus 12 Opus 14

Opus 13
1927 year

Aphorisms for Piano
Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Miniatures of Different Years
premiere:

19-May-1927

Leningrad Conservatory Malyi Hall. Dmitri Shostakovich

first publication:

Triton, Leningrad

manuscripts:

The Glinka All-Russia Museum Association of Musical Culture (VMOMK), rec. gr. 146, f. 241; rec. gr. 32, f. 2278; RSALA, rec. gr. 2048, inv. 2, f. 16


“Aphorisms”
Ten Miniatures for Piano

  According to the pieces’ datings in the fair manuscript from the Y avorsky Foundation, the Aphorisms cycle was written between 25 February and 7 April 1927. In the Questionnaire on the Psychology of the Creative Process, Shostakovich stated: “At the beginning of March, … in Leningrad, I began composing and wrote ten pieces in one fell swoop. The preparatory stage lasted a month.”
  The title Aphorisms, instead of Suite, was suggested by Boris Yavorsky. “I have finished my Suite,” Shostakovich wrote to Yavorsky, “and called it ‘Aphorisms’ (as you suggested). I composed a total of 12. Two of them I threw in the trash.” Soon the author’s manuscript with dedication was sent to the dedicatee.
  Aphorisms is a cycle of ten concise pieces with genre or programmatic titles:

     1. Recitative;
     2. Serenade;
     3. Nocturne;
     4. Elegy;
     5. Funeral March;
     6. Etude;
     7. Dance of Death (Original name—“Dance of Dead”);
     8. Canon;
     9. Legend;
    10. Lullaby.

  Each of the ten titles refers to a specific musical “topos”, but in most cases the music, runs contrary to all expectation. “Nocturne”, in Shostakovich’s interpretation, is the antithesis of nocturne as a romantic genre: it has “no melody, harmony, time or bar-lines”. In “Funeral March”, the metronome designation quater = 152 (indicating a quick movement of short rhythmic units), the major mode and constantly changing time play the same role. While in “Etude”, the title implies nothing more than an absurd combination of genre formulas.
  Shostakovich played Aphorisms for the first time on 19 May 1927 at the Leningrad Conservatory, during the second concert of the Leningrad Association of Contemporary Music.
  Soon after the cycle was completed, Aphorisms was accepted for publication by Triton Publishers and came out in 1927, and then in 1929.
  Subsequent publications did not appear until the end of the 1960s. There was an equally long gap between the performances of Aphorisms, from the end of the 1920s until the end of the 1960s (almost 40 years!). Despite the absence of this composition in the publishing plans and concert announcements, in 1948, it appeared on the list of Shostakovich’s works that were banned from performance and removed from the repertoire.
  Aphorisms was recorded for the first time by Vladimir Pleshakov in 1969 at the Orion company.


recordings:

  • Arranged by B. Bekhterev and V. Spivakov. Moscow ensemble of contemporary music:
    A. Melnikov, N. Sabinova, V. Yampolsky, V. Popov, S. Ampleev. 1994
    TRITON 17 011, 1996
  • E. Varvarova. 1989
    LDC 278 1012, 1989

back

Years


1927

more

Сочинения Сочинения для фортепиано

«Афоризмы»

Opus 12 Opus 14

Opus 13
1927 год

Афоризмы для фортепиано
Фортепианные миниатюры Д. Шостаковича разных лет
премьера:

19-мая-1927

Ленинград, Малый зал консерватории. Автор

первое издание:

Л.: Тритон

рукописи:

ВМОМК, ф. 146, ед. хр. 241; ф. 32, ед. хр. 2278; РГАЛИ, ф. 2048, оп. 2, ед. хр. 16


Афоризмы
Десять пьес для фортепиано

  Согласно датировке каждой из десяти пьес в чистовой рукописи из фонда Яворского, цикл «Афоризмы» создавался с 25 февраля по 7 апреля 1927 года. В Анкете по психологии творческого процесса Шостакович сообщал: «В начале марта, <...> в Ленинграде, я стал сочинять и залпом написал 10 пьес. Подготовительная стадия длилась месяц».
  Название «Афоризмы», пришедшее на смену «Сюите», было предложено Б. Л. Яворским. «Сюиту я свою кончил, — писал Шостакович Яворскому, — и назвал (чтя Ваши слова) „Афоризмами“. Сочинил я всего 12. Два из них выбросил на помойку». Вскоре автограф с дарственной надписью был отправлен адресату посвящения.
  «Афоризмы» представляют собой цикл из десяти лаконичных пьес под жанровыми или программными названиями:

     1. Речитатив;
     2. Серенада;
     3. Ноктюрн;
     4. Элегия;
     5. Похоронный марш;
     6. Этюд;
     7. Пляска смерти (Первоначальное название — «Пляска смерди»),
     8. Канон;
     9. Легенда;
    10. Колыбельная песня.

  Каждое из десяти названий отсылает к определённым музыкальным «топосам», но в большинстве случаев музыка, по словам «опрокидывает» ожидание. «Ноктюрн» в трактовке Шостаковича служит антитезой ноктюрна как романтического жанра: в нём «нет мелодии, гармонии, нет размера, тактовых черт». В «Похоронном марше» в той же роли выступают метрономическое обозначение темпа: четрерть = 152 (и слишком быстро, и слишком мелкая мера), мажорный лад и постоянно меняющийся размер и т. д. А в «Этюде» соответствие названию оборачивается абсурдной комбинацией жанровых формул.
  Впервые Шостакович сыграл «Афоризмы» 19 мая 1927 года в зале Ленинградский консерватории, на втором концерте Ленинградской ассоциации современной музыки.
  Вскоре после завершения «Афоризмы» были приняты к публикации в издательстве «Тритон» и вышли из печати в 1927-м, а затем и в 1929 году.
  Последующие издания появились лишь в конце 1960-х годов. Столь же длительным (почти 40 лет!) был и перерыв между исполнениями «Афоризмов» с конца 1920-х и до конца 1960-х годов. Несмотря на отсутствие этого сочинения в издательских планах и концертных афишах, в 1948 году оно вошло в список запрещённых к исполнению и снятых с репертуара сочинений Шостаковича.
  «Афоризмы» впервые были записаны Владимиром Плешаковым в 1969 году на фирме Orion.


записи:

  • Аранжировка Б. Бехтерева и В. Спивакова. Московский ансамбль современной музыки:
    А. Мельников, Н. Сабинова, В. Ямпольский, В. Попов, С. Амплеев. 1994
    TRITON 17 011, 1996
  • Е. Варварова. 1989
    LDC 278 1012, 1989

назад

Годы жизни