Works Chamber Compositions for Voice and Songs

Seven Poems by Alexander Blok

Opus 126 Opus 128

Opus 127
1967 year

Shostakovich’s Vocal Cycles of the 1940s-1960s.
premiere:

23-October-1967

Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatoire. Performers: G. Vishnevskaya, D. Oistrakh, M. Rostropovich and the author.

first publication:

1969. “Sovietskii kompozitor” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the archive of the composer’s family.


Duration: 20’

“In recent months I have been working a great deal. I began by writing seven romances for soprano accompanied by a piano trio to words by Blok. I selected ‘Ophelia’s Song’, ‘Gamayun, Bird of Prophecy’, ‘That Troubled Night’ , ‘Deep in Sleep’ and others. To the seventh and last romance I myself gave the title ‘Music’, because the text is about it. I want to give the same title to the whole cycle, because it is written to very musical words....”


Seven Poems by Alexander Blok
Vocal-instrumental Suite
for Soprano, Violin, Cello and Piano

     The seven romances on poems by Alexander Blok were written in the winter 1966/67. Shostakovich knew and highly appraised Blok’s poetry from an early age. But Shostakovich did not use Blok in his creative work until his later years.
     The literature does not give any precise information about the time work began on this composition. So it is dated according to the time it was finished and relates to 1967. But, the rough draft is marked with the date the last part of the cycle was completed: 19 December 1966. The work was finished on 3 February 1967.
     The premiere of Seven Poems by Alexander Blok was held in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory on 23 october 1967. It was performed by Galina Vishnevskaya, David Oistrakh, Mstislav Rostropovich and composer Moisey Vainberg (piano). The premiere was a huge success, and, at the audience’s request, the cycle was played again in its entirety.
     The composer decided to ask Leningrad singer Nadezhda Yureneva to perform for the premiere of the cycle in Leningrad. She performed the romances on 17 April 1968 in the Small Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic in an ensemble with Boris Gutnikov (violin), Anatoli Nikitin (violoncello), and Maria Karandashova (piano).
     On 4 September 1968, Vishnevskaya, Oistrakh, Rostropovich, and Evgeny Svetlanov (piano) performed the cycle for the first time at Royal Festival Hall in London.
     Seven Poems by Alexander Blok is dedicated to Galina Vishnevskaya. The first publication of the cycle came out in 1969. In Volume 33 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1984), the work is printed without the dedication, which was removed by the censors.


recordings:

  • Delman J., Dekov E., Olofsson A., Negro L. 1975 // BIS-CD-26, 1991
  • Trio "Bekova Sisters": Bekova E., Bekova E., Bekova A. Rogers D. 1996 // CHANDOS CHAN 9526 (2), 1997
  • Moscow trio: Bonduryansky A.Z., Ivanov V.M., Utkin M. Gerasimova N. 1993 // SAISSON RUSSE RUS 288 088, 1994
  • Munich Trio: Then-Bergh I., Zank G., Schafer M. A. Ablaberdieva 1989 // MD + GL 3334, 1989
  • Stockholm Arts Trio: Bojsten S., Almgren D., Thedeen T. Soldh A. 1995 // NAXOS 8.553297, 1996
  • Šulcová B. Leichner E., Leichner E. (Jr.), Duda A. 1970 // PRAGA PRODUCTION PR 250009,
  • Vishnevskaya G.P., Hurwitz E., Rostropovich M.L., Britten B. 1968 // CSCD 123, 1991
  • Pelle N. Borodin Trio: L. Edlin, R. Dubinsky, Yu. Turovsky. 1990 CHANDOS CHAN 8924, 1991
  • Vishnevskaya G.P., Oistrakh D.F., Rostropovich M.L., Vainberg M.S. 1967 // REVELATION RV 10101, 1998

back

Years


1967

more

Сочинения Камерные вокальные сочинения и песни

Семь стихотворений Александра Блока

Opus 126 Opus 128

Opus 127
1967 год

Вокальные циклы Д. Шостаковича 1940-х — 1960-х годов.
премьера:

23-октября-1967

Большой зал Московской консерватории. Исполнители: Г. Вишневская, Д. Ойстрах, М. Ростропович и автор.

первое издание:

1969. «Советский композитор», Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф в архиве семьи композитора.


Длительность: 20’

«Последние месяцы я много работал. Начал с того, что написал на слова А. Блока семь романсов для сопрано в сопровождении фортепианного трио. Остановился на стихах "Песня Офелии", "Гамаюн, птица вещая", "Мы были вместе, помню я", "Город спит, окутан мглою" и других. Последний, седьмой романс я сам назвал "Музыка", так как в тексте речь идет о ней впрямую. И весь цикл я хочу назвать так же, потому что он написан на очень музыкальные слова...»


Семь стихотворений Александра Блока
Вокально-инструментальная сюита
для сопрано, скрипки, виолончели и фортепиано

     Семь романсов на слова Александра Блока были написаны зимой 1966/67 года. Поэзию Блока Шостакович знал и высоко ценил с юных лет. Однако в своём творчестве Шостакович обратился к Блоку лишь в поздние годы.
     Точных сведений о времени начала работы над этим сочинением в литературе нет. Поэтому оно датируется по моменту окончания и относится к 1967 году. Но в черновом эскизе указана дата завершения последней части цикла: 19 декабря 1966 года. Закончено произведение 3 февраля 1967-го.
     Премьера «Семи стихотворений Александра Блока» состоялась в Большом зале Московской консерватории 23 октября 1967 года. Исполнители: Г. Вишневская, Д. Ойстрах, М. Ростропович и композитор Моисей (Мечислав) Вайнберг (фортепиано). Премьера прошла с огромным успехом, по требованию публики цикл был целиком исполнен повторно.
     Для премьеры цикла в Ленинграде композитор решил обратиться к ленинградской певице Надежде Юреневой. Она исполнила романсы 17 апреля 1968 года в Малом зале Ленинградской филармонии в ансамбле с Б. Гутниковым (скрипка), А. Никитиным (виолончель) и М. Карандашовой (фортепиано).
     4 сентября 1968 года Вишневская, Ойстрах, Ростропович и Евгений Светланов (фортепиано) впервые исполнили цикл в Royal Festival Hall в Лондоне.
     «Семь стихотворений Александра Блока» посвящены Галине Павловне Вишневской. Первое издание цикла вышло в 1969 году. В томе 33 Собрания сочинений Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1984) произведение напечатано без посвящения, снятого цензурой.


записи:

  • Delman J., Dekov E., Olofsson A., Negro L. 1975 // BIS-CD-26, 1991
  • Трио «Сестры Бековы»: Бекова Э., Бекова Э., Бекова А. Роджерс Д. 1996 // CHANDOS CHAN 9526(2), 1997
  • Московское трио: Бондурянский А.З., Иванов В.М., Уткин М. Герасимова Н. 1993 // SAISSON RUSSE RUS 288 088, 1994
  • Мюнхенское трио: Then-Bergh I., Zank G., Schafer M. А. Аблабердыева 1989 // MD+GL 3334, 1989
  • Stockholm Arts Trio: Bojsten S., Almgren D., Thedeen T. Soldh A. 1995 // NAXOS 8.553297, 1996
  • Šulcová B. Лейхнер Э., Лейхнер Э. (мл.), Duda A. 1970 // PRAGA PRODUCTION PR 250009,
  • Вишневская Г.П., Hurwitz E., Ростропович М.Л., Бриттен Б. 1968 // CSCD 123, 1991
  • Pelle N. Трио имени Бородина: Л. Едлина, Р. Дубинский, Ю. Туровский. 1990 CHANDOS CHAN 8924, 1991
  • Вишневская Г.П., Ойстрах Д.Ф., Ростропович М.Л., Вайнберг М.С. 1967 // REVELATION RV 10101, 1998

назад

Годы жизни