Works Instrumental Concertos

Cello Concerto No. 2

Opus 123 Opus 127

Opus 126
1966 year

Cello Concerto No 2. Op. 126. Score.
Cello Concerto No 2. Op. 126. Piano score.
premiere:

25-September-1966

Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatoire. Concert to celebrate Shostakovich’s sixtieth birthday. State Symphony Orchestra. Conductor Y. Svetlanov. Soloist M. Rostropovich.

first publication:

.1967. Score, “Muzfond” Publishers, Moscow, 1967. Piano score, “Muzfond” Publishers, Moscow,

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the archive of the composer’s family.


Duration:  34’

M. Rostropovich:

“After I had studied this Concerto for the first time, I came to the Crimea - to Yalta - with my cello and my pianist and in some theatre or other, where there was a piano,I played this work to Shostakovich for the first time. This was the first time in my life that Shostakovich had shown me a work not yet complete: he never used to show people incomplete works, but he showed me the Second Concerto , when he had only written the beginning. He showed it to me, because he was not very happy with it and he realized that he was turning to the ‘evaluator’.  Meanwhile, I was ‘infected’ by this work and, you know, the wiser our genius became, the simpler the score became. I looked at the score and thought,  what a long time the strings are playing, then the harps come in, and for a long time as well. Yet you know, when you look at a score by Richard Strauss, there are so many instruments, the page looks like a close mesh. Yet when the orchestra plays it, it sounds fairly simple. With Shostakovich the opposite is the case: it looks very simple, but sounds amazing, like some kind of revelation. I simply adore this concerto and regard it as the best one Shostakovich wrote for our every-day life”


Cello Concerto No. 2
Op. 126

     Shostakovich wrote the Second Cello Concerto, Op. 126, in the spring of 1966. It is very likely that he composed the second movement of the Concerto first, which is based on the melody of a popular street song of the 1920s called “‘Bubliks For Sale’. Mstislav Rostropovich, to whom the Concerto is dedicated, recalled that Shostakovich played him the theme of ‘Bubliks’ on the piano at New Year in 1966 at his dacha in Zhukovka near Moscow. Shostakovich was probably thinking about the new cello concerto as early as 1963 when he did a new instrumentation of Robert Schumann’s Cello Concerto and designated it as Opus 125. The premiere of the First Cello Concerto of Shostakovich’s favourite student, Boris Tishchenko (1939-2011), held in Leningrad on 5 and 6 February 1966, could have given the composer an additional impetus for writing his Concerto. Shostakovich did not attend the premiere, but he saw the score and later, in 1969, did his own instrumentation of this concerto. Just like Tishchenko’s concerto, Shostakovich’s Second Cello Concerto opens with a solo cello monologue.
     In a letter to Isaak Glikman of 20 March, Shostakovich said: ‘I am now writing the Second Cello Concerto. I am finishing up the first movement.’ In the margins of the first page of the drafts of the first movement of the Concerto is the date: 17 III.
     There is reason to believe that the elegiac first movement was written after the composer found out about the death of great Russian poetess Anna Akhmatova (5 March 1966). The poetess’ funeral was held on 10 March in Leningrad at the Nikola Morskoy Cathedral and attended by tens of thousands of people. Shostakovich himself was in Moscow that day. After the rehearsal of his new Eleventh String Quartet in the composer’s flat soon after Akhmatova’s funeral, Shostakovich, according to Fyodor Druzhinin, the violist for the Beethoven Quartet, said the following in memory of Akhmatova: ‘Akhmatova was the queen of Russian poetry!’ A week later, he began the first, slow, movement of the new Cello Concerto.
     Shostakovich never wrote music to Akhmatova’s poems, but he often talked about her: ‘She is immutable. And quiet... She has experienced enough pain to last for several lifetimes… What she has been through is beyond compare.’ The lives of Shostakovich and Akhmatova were similar in many ways—both lived most of their lives in Soviet Russia; both were severely criticised by officialdom, Akhmatova in 1946 and Shostakovich in 1936 and 1948; and both were incredibly popular and loved. Intonations of the first and last movements of the Second Cello Concerto can clearly be heard in the finale, ‘To Anna Akhmatova’, of Shostakovich’s late vocal cycle, ‘Six Songs on Poems by Marina Tsvetayeva’ (1974).
     The Second Cello Concerto occupies a special place in Shostakovich’s creative work. It (and the Eleventh String Quartet that directly preceded it) is the start of the composer’s late period of creativity, which carries us back to the beginning of the 20th century, into the atmosphere of the so-called Silver Age, into the era in which Shostakovich was born and spent his childhood.
     The structure of the Second Cello Concerto is very unusual. It does not have any of the clearly expressed thematic contrasts of sonata form that play such an important role in many of Shostakovich’s other earlier works. The contrast of two themes is replaced by a clash of different aspects of one and the same theme, which changes beyond recognition depending on the context.
     Instrumentation of the Concerto is distinguished by the transparency typical of Shostakovich’s late period of creativity. There are relatively few instruments, double winds, but two harps; the brass group is represented by only two French horns, and, just as in the First Cello Concerto, the French horn is a sort of counterpart for the soloist in the first and second movements. In the finale, both French horns play together and in canon, prompting the solo cellist to compete: in the cadenza episodes, the cello solo, to the accompaniment of the tambourine, essentially imitates the signals of the French horn that were only just played.
The percussion instruments (four performers, as indicated by the composer in the author’s manuscript of the score) play an enormous part in the orchestra—their role perceptibly grows in Shostakovich’s late works. In the Second Cello Concerto, the solo cellist performs all of his solo episodes accompanied by percussion: the big drum, as well as the tambourine and small drum.
     The Second Cello Concerto was begun on 17 March 1966 in Moscow and finished on 27 April 1966 in Yalta. Shostakovich, who usually never showed unfinished compositions to the performers, made an exception this time: he, as Rostropovich testified, asked him how difficult it was to play parallel tenths, as well as double stops in fourths, on three strings. Incidentally, Shostakovich wrote the tenths as early as the rough draft of the first movement from the very beginning, while he only designated the chromatic course by means of broken fourths on three strings in the draft, writing only the two upper fourths and the word ‘chrom’, clearly doubting the possibility of performing this passage. Rostropovich assured Shostakovich that the parallel tenths would not be a problem and, to prove it, played them for the composer cleanly and convincingly. “Afterwards,” recalled Rostropovich, “I regretted this success, for every time I perform the work in public and arrive at that spot I get nervous, I have to pray that I wouldn’t miss that first chord. Dmitri Dmitriyevich suggested that he could give the lower voice to the violas, but I persuaded him to leave it in the way he had first written it.
     The Second Cello Concerto was first performed by Mstislav Rostropovich and the State U.S.S.R.Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Evgeny Svetlanov on the composer’s 60th birthday and in his presence in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory on 25 September 1966. As early as 5 October, Rostropovich performed the European premiere at the London Royal Festival Hall with the BBC orchestra under the baton of Colin Davis. The American premiere was held on 26 February 1967 in Carnegie Hall in New York, where Rostropovich soloed with the London Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Gennadi Rozhdestvensky.
     The Concerto score was first published by Muzfond in 1967 and by Sovetsky kompozitor Publishers in 1970. The piano score done by the composer himself was first published by Sovetsky kompozitor Publishers in Moscow in 1969 in 1,630 copies. A copy of the original manuscript of the score is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive in Moscow: 77 pages of score with the author’s pagination, plus a title page and page indicating the orchestral instruments.


recordings:

  • Boston Symphony Orchestra. Soloist: M. Rostropovich Conductor: S. Ozawa 1975 // Deutsche Grammophon 2530 653, 1976
  • The Big Symphony Orchestra of the All-Union Radio and Television. Soloist: V. Feigin Conductor: M. Shostakovich 1980 // Melodia C 10-13769-70

back

Years


1966

more

Сочинения Инструментальные концерты

Концерт № 2 для виолончели с оркестром

Opus 123 Opus 127

Opus 126
1966 год

Концерт для виолончели с оркестром № 2. Соч. 126. Партитура.
Концерт для виолончели с оркестром № 2. Соч. 126. Клавир.
премьера:

25-сентября-1966

Большой зал Московской консерватории. Концерт, посвященный 60-летию Шостаковича. Государственный симфонический оркестр. Дирижер Е. Светланов. Солист М. Ростропович.

первое издание:

1967. Партитура, «Музфонд». 1967. Клавир, «Музфонд», Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф партитуры хранится в архиве семьи композитора.


Длительность: 34’

М. Ростропович:

«Когда я впервые выучил этот концерт, я приехал в Крым, в Ялту, с виолончелью, и со своим пианистом, и где-то в каком-то драматическом театре, — там был рояль, я впервые сыграл Дмитрию Дмитриевичу это сочинение. С этим сочинением был единственный случай в моей жизни, когда Дмитрий Дмитриевич показал мне свое сочинение незаконченным, он никогда не показывал незаконченных произведений, а Второй концерт он мне показал, когда было написано только начало. Он мне показал, потому что сам был не очень доволен, он понимал, что он обращается к оценщику. Ну я можно сказать заболел этим произведением, и знаете, чем мудрее становился наш гений, тем проще его партитура была. Я смотрел партитуру — как долго играют струнные, потом появляются арфы — как долго. Но вы знаете, когда смотришь партитуру Рихарда Штрауса, там столько инструментов, такая сплошь записанная сетка. А когда это звучит в оркестре, это звучит довольно просто. У Шостаковича получается наоборот, очень просто выглядит, а звучит потрясающе, как будто какое-то откровение. Я этот концерт обожаю просто, считаю самый лучший концерт, который написан Дмитрием Дмитриевичем, для нашего жития и бытия. И я помню очень хорошо этот концерт, на его день рождения — он сидел в ложе, помню что он не очень хорошо себя чувствовал, но это для меня незабываемый день всей моей жизни».


Концерт № 2
для виолончели с оркестром
Соч. 126

     Второй виолончельный концерт оp. 126 был написан композитором весной 1966 года. Вполне возможно, что вначале была задумана вторая часть концерта, в основе которой лежит мелодия популярной уличной песенки 1920-х годов «Купите бублики». Мстислав Ростропович, которому концерт посвящен, вспоминает, что Шостакович играл ему тему «Бубликов» на рояле во время встречи нового 1966 года на своей даче в Жуковке, около Москвы. Шостакович, вероятно, думал о новом виолончельном концерте уже в 1963 году, когда оркестровал заново Виолончельный концерт Роберта Шумана, обозначив свою оркестровку опусом 125. Дополнительным импульсом к созданию концерта могла послужить и премьера Первого виолончельного концерта любимого ученика Шостаковича, Бориса Тищенко (1939–2011), которая состоялась в Ленинграде 5 и 6 февраля 1966 года. На премьере Шостакович не был, но партитуру видел и впоследствии, в 1969 году, сделал свою оркестровку этого концерта. Так же как и концерт Тищенко, Второй виолончельный кoнцерт Шостаковича открывается сольным монологом виолончели.
     В письме к Исааку Гликману 20 марта Шостакович сообщал: «Сейчас пишу 2-й концерт для виолончели с оркестром. Заканчиваю первую часть». На полях первой страницы эскизов первой части концерта cтоит дата: 17 III.
     Есть основания предполагать, что элегическая первая часть была написана по получении известия о смерти великой русской поэтессы Анны Ахматовой (5 марта 1966 года). 10 марта в Ленинграде, в соборе Николы Морского состоялось отпевание поэта, на котором присутствовали десятки тысяч людей. Сам Шостакович был в этот день в Москве. После репетиции нового, Одиннадцатого струнного квартета, состоявшейся на квартире композитора вскоре после похорон Ахматовой, Шостакович, по свидетельству Федора Дружинина, альтиста Квартета имени Бетховена, произнёс слова памяти Ахматовой: «Ахматова — королева русской поэзии!». Через неделю была начата первая, медленная часть нового Виолончельного концерта.
     Шостакович никогда не писал музыки на стихи Ахматовой, но говорил о ней часто: «Oна — несклоняемая. И — тихая». «Ее черного опыта хватило бы на много судеб... то, что выпало ей, ни с чем не сравнимо». Судьбы Шостаковича и Ахматовой были во многом похожи — оба прожили большую часть своей жизни в Советской России; оба были жестоко раскритикованы официозом — Ахматова в 1946 году, Шостакович — в 1936 и 1948. Оба были невероятно популярны и любимы. В финале позднего вокального цикла Шостаковича «Шесть cтихотворений Марины Цветаевой» (1974) — «Анне Ахматовой» отчётливо
слышатся интонации первой и последней частей Второго виолончельного концерта.
     В творчестве Шостаковича Второй виолончельный концерт занимает особое место. С него (и непосредственно предшествующего ему Одиннадцатого струнного квартета) начинается поздний период творчества композитора, который перекидывает мост к началу ХХ века, в атмосферу так называемого Cеребряного века, в эпоху которого Шостакович был рожден и провел своё детство.
     Структура Второго виолончельного концерта необычна. В ней нет отчётливо выраженных тематических контрастов сонатной формы, играющей столь важную роль во многих других, более ранних сочинениях Шостаковича. Противопоставление двух тем заменяется здесь столкновением разных обликов одной и той же темы, которая меняется до неузнаваемости в зависимости от контекста.
     Оркестровка концерта отличается прозрачностью, типичной для позднего периода творчества Шостаковича. Состав оркестра cравнительно небольшой, двойной, с двумя арфами; медная группа представлена только двумя валторнами; так же как и в Первом виолончельном концерте, валторна является своеобразным «двойником» солиста в первой и второй частях. В финале обе валторны играют и вместе, и в канон, вызывая солиста-виолончелиста на соревнование: в каденционных эпизодах виолончель соло под аккомпанемент бубна практически имитирует только что прозвучавшие «сигналы» валторн.
     Огромную роль в оркестре играет группа ударных инструментов (четыре исполнителя, как указано композитором в автографе партитуры) — их роль заметно возрастает в позднем творчестве Шостаковича. Во Втором виолончельном концерте солист-виолончелист исполняет все свои сольные эпизоды в сопровождении ударных: большого барабана, а также бубна и малого барабана.
     Второй виолончельный концерт был начат 17 марта 1966 года в Москве и закончен 27 апреля 1966 года в Ялте. Шостакович, обычно никогда не показывавший незаконченные сочинения исполнителям, на этот раз сделал исключение: он, по свидетельству Ростроповича, проконсультировался с ним о том, насколько трудно играть параллельные децимы, а также двойные ноты квартами по трём струнам. Децимы, впрочем, были сразу написаны Шостаковичем уже в черновике первой части c самого начала, а вот хроматический ход разложенными квартами по трём струнам Шостакович лишь наметил в эскизе, написав только две верхние кварты и слово «хром.», явно усомнившись в возможности исполнения этого пассажа. Ростропович заверил Шостаковича, что параллельные децимы не будут являться проблемой, и чтобы доказать это, сыграл их композитору чисто и убедительно. «Впоследствии, — вспоминал Ростропович, — я сожалел об этом своём успехе, потому что каждый раз, когда я исполняю это сочинение на публике и подхожу к этому месту, я нервничаю и начинаю молиться, чтобы попасть на первый интервал. Дмитрий Дмитриевич предложил отдать нижний голос альтам, но я убедил его оставить всё как он первоначально написал».
     Второй виолончельный концерт впервые был исполнен Мстиславом Ростроповичем и Государственным симфоническим оркестром СССР под управлением Евгения Светланова в день 60-летия композитора и в его присутствии в Большом зале Московской консерватории 25 сентября 1966 года. Уже 5 октября Ростропович сыграл европейскую премьеру в Лондонском Royal Festival Hall с оркестром ВВС под управлением Колина Дэвиса. Американская премьера состоялась 26 февраля 1967 года в Carnegie Hall, в Нью-Йорке, где Ростропович солировал с Лондонским симфоническим оркестром под управлением
Геннадия Рождественского.
     Партитура концерта была впервые издана Музфондом в 1967 году и издательством «Советский композитор» в 1970-м. Сделанный самим композитором клавир впервые опубликован издательством «Советский композитор» в Москве в 1969 году тиражом 1630 экземпляров. Копия оригинала рукописи партитуры хранится в архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича в Москве: 77 страниц партитуры, с пагинацией автора, плюс титульный лист и страница с составом оркестра.


записи:

  • Бостонский симфонический оркестр. Солист: М. Ростропович Дирижер: С. Озава 1975 // Deutsche Grammophon 2530 653, 1976
  • Большой симфонический оркестр Всесоюзного радио и телевидения. Солист: В. Фейгин Дирижер: М. Шостакович 1980 // Мелодия С 10-13769-70

назад

Годы жизни