Works Chamber Compositions for Voice and Songs

“Satires” (“Pictures of the Past”)

Opus 108 Opus 110

Opus 109
1960 year

Shostakovich’s Vocal Cycles of the 1940s-1960s.
premiere:

22-February-1961

Moscow. Small Hall of the Conservatoire. Performers M. Rostropovich and G. Vishnevskaya.

first publication:

1967. D. Shostakovich, Vocal Works, “Muzyka” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

The hand-written score is in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 2048, Inv. 2, Item 29).


Dedication:  “To G. P. Vishnevskaya”.
Duration:  12’

 “...Cheerful emotions are not alien to me. I have written five satirical romances to words by a well-known pre-revolutionary poet and satirist Sasha Chernyi. In a caustic and sarcastic way he makes fun of philistines from the reactionary years, which followed in the wake of the revolution of 1905. Chernyi writes with great malice about people who immersed themselves in mysticism and sought to hide away in a narrow, personal world”


“Satires” (“Pictures of the Past”)
For Voice and Piano on Verses by Sasha Chernyi

     The vocal cycle on verses by Sasha Chorny (Alexander Glikberg, 1880-1932) for soprano and piano was finished on 19 June 1960. Appearance of the cycle is associated with the publication of the first large collection of the poet’s poetry, who emigrated in 1920 from Soviet Russia and died in France 12 years later.
     The vocal cycle Satires (Pictures of the Past) on Verses by Sasha Chorny is dedicated to Galina Vishnevskaya.
     The premiere of the vocal cycle Satires (Pictures of the Past) on Verses by Sasha Chorny was held on 22 February 1961 in Moscow in the Small Hall of the Conservatory. It was performed by Galina Vishnevskaya and Mstislav Rostropovich (piano). The composition was a huge success and, at the audience’s request, was performed in its entirety a second time.
     The cycle on verses by Sasha Chorny was played for the first time in leningrad on 27 May 1961: Galina Vishnevskaya and Mstislav Rostropovich performed it in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic.
     On 28 May 1966, the cycle was performed in Leningrad in the Glinka Hall with the author’s participation for the last time. Vishnevskaya sang. on 29 May, the concert did not take place; during the night, the composer had a stroke.
     Satires was not published for the first time until six years after the premiere, in 1967, and not in the form of a separate publication, but as part of the collection: D. Shostakovich, Vocal Compositions, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1967.
In Volume 33 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1984), the cycle is published without a dedication (and without mention of the participants in the premiere in its introductory article) due to the censorship prohibition on mention in the press of the names of ‘ideological degenerates and defectors’ Mstislav Rostropovich and Galina Vishnevskaya.


recordings:

  • Šulcová B., Zichová Z. 1976 // PRAGA PRODUCTION PR 250009

back

Years


1960

more

Сочинения Камерные вокальные сочинения и песни

«Сатиры» («Картинки прошлого»)

Opus 108 Opus 110

Opus 109
1960 год

Вокальные циклы Д. Шостаковича 1940-х — 1960-х годов.
премьера:

22-февраля-1961

Москва. Малый зал консерватории. Исполнители М. Ростропович и Г. Вишневская.

первое издание:

1967. «Музыка», Д.Д. Шостакович. Вокальные сочинения. Москва.

рукописи:

Автограф в ЦГАЛИ (ф. 2048, оп. 2, ед. хр. 29).


Посвящение: «Г. П. Вишневской»
Длительность:  12’.

«...Мне не чужды и веселые переживания. Я написал пять сатарических романсов на слова известного дореволюционного поэта- сатирика Саши Черного. Он едко, с большим сарказмом  высмеивает обывателей эпохи реакции, наступившей после революции 1905 года. Ядовито Черный пишет о людях, бросившихся в лоно мистики, стремившихся скрыться в узком, личном мирке».


«Сатиры» («Картинки прошлого»)
для голоса и фортепиано на слова Саши Черного 

     Вокальный цикл на слова Саши Чёрного (Александра Михайловича Гликберга, 1880–1932) для сопрано и фортепиано был закончен 19 июня 1960 года. Появление цикла связано с выходом в свет первого большого собрания стихотворений поэта, в 1920 году эмигрировавшего из советской России и спустя 12 лет умершего во Франции.
     Вокальный цикл «Сатиры (Картинки прошлого) на слова Саши Чёрного» посвящён Галине Павловне Вишневской.
     Премьера вокального цикла «Сатиры (Картинки прошлого) на слова Саши Чёрного» состоялась 22 февраля 1961 года в Москве, в Малом зале консерватории. Исполнители — Г.П. Вишневская и М.Л. Ростропович (фортепиано). Сочинение имело громадный успех и по требованию публики было повторено целиком.
     Впервые в Ленинграде цикл на слова Саши Чёрного прозвучал 27 мая 1961 года: Г. Вишневская и М. Ростропович исполнили его в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии.
     28 мая 1966 года в Ленинграде в Зале им. Глинки состоялось исполнение цикла с участием автора в последний раз. Пела Вишневская. Концерт 29 мая не состоялся, поскольку в ночь с 28 на 29 у композитора случился инфаркт.
     Первая публикация «Сатир» состоялась только через шесть лет после премьеры, в 1967 году, но не в виде отдельного издания, а в составе сборника «Шостакович Д. Вокальные сочинения» (М., Музыка, 1967).
     В томе 33 Собрания сочинений Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1984) цикл опубликован без посвящения (и без упоминания участников премьеры во вступительной статье к тому) вследствие цензурного запрета на упоминание в печати имён «идейных перерожденцев и невозвращенцев» М.Л. Ростроповича и Г.П. Вишневской.


записи:

  • Šulcová B., Zichová Z. 1976 // PRAGA PRODUCTION PR 250009

назад

Годы жизни