Works Choral Compositions

Two Russian Folk Songs

Opus 103 Opus SO

Opus 104
1957 year

Ten Russian Folk Songs. Sans op. (1951). Two Russian Folk Songs. Op. 104 (1957). Choruses a cappella from Film Music.
premiere:

24-November-1957

Moscow. Great Hall of the Conservatoire. State Academic Russian Choir of the USSR. Conductor A. Sveshnikov.

first publication:

1960. Score “Muzgiz” Publishers, Moscow.

manuscripts:

Choral score in the Sheet-Music Library of the State Academic Russian Choir.


Two Russian Folk Songs
Adaptation for a mixed choir

     Shostakovich wrote the adaptations of Two Russian Folk Songs, Op. 104, for a mixed choir a cappella in 1957. The opus includes a lyrical wedding song called ‘The Winds were Blowing’, which was popular in the Kuibyshev (Samara) Region, and the roundelay ‘As I was a Young Girl’, recorded in the Novgorod Region.
     The music transcripts of the songs were published in different years, after the publication of Shostakovich’s adaptations. ‘The Winds were Blowing’ was first printed in the collection Russian Folk Songs of the Volga Region (Moscow, 1959). The music transcript of the jocular dance song ‘As I was a Young Girl, How My Husband Cruelly Beat Me’ was printed for the first time in 1979 in the collection Traditional Folklore of the Novgorod Region.
     Shostakovich’s Two Russian Folk Songs were published in a collection of choral adaptations titled Russian Folk Songs (Leningrad, 1957) as two independent items (“‘The Winds were Blowing’ as No. 9 and ‘As I was a Young Girl’ as No. 17). Nevertheless, the composer himself designated them as a single opus, as a cycle.
     Op. 104 was first performed in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory on 24 November 1957 by the USSR State Academic Russian Choir under the baton of Aleksandr Sveshnikov. Later the State Choir performed one song from the cycle (‘As I was a Young Girl’) in Moscow’s Tchaikovsky Concert Hall (6 December 1958) and in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic (10 March 1971). In the 1960s, the adaptations were also performed by the Republican Russian Choral Capella under the baton of Aleksandr Yurlov (30 December 1967, Tchaikovsky Concert Hall; 22 February 1968, Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic). Later, other outstanding choir masters, Viktor Popov (Boys’ Choir of the Moscow Choral Academy), Vladislav Chernushenko (Glinka Leningrad Academic State Cappella), Boris Tevlin (Moscow Youth and Student Choir, Chamber Choir of the Moscow Conservatory) and others included Two Russian Folk Songs in their programmes.
     The only recording of Op. 104 issued during Shostakovich’s lifetime (the song ‘As I was a Young Girl’) was done in 1969 by the State Omsk Russian Folk Choir under the baton of Georgi Pantyukov. Later the cycle was recorded by Vladislav Chernushenko (1982), Michael Schnack (1987, Yale Russian Chorus), Boris Tevlin (1988 and 2006), Yevgeni Tytyanko (1995) and Nikolai Kornev (1999).
     The adaptations of Two Russian Folk Songs were first published in 1957 in the collection Russian Folk Songs, as well as in the form of a score and parts (Muzfond, Moscow, 1957); the score was also printed in 1960 by Muzgiz. Then the adaptations were repeatedly published in various choral collections: From the Repertoire of the Lenin Kazan University Choir (Moscow, 1964, only No. 2), The Omsk Folk Choir Sings (Moscow, 1966, 1971, only No. 2), Choruses a cappella  (Leningrad, 1972) and others. In 1985, Two Russian Folk Songs were included in Vol. 34 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow). The foreign edition of Op. 104 was put out by Zen-On Music in 1997.


back

Years


1957

more

Сочинения Сочинения для хора

Две русские народные песни

Opus 103 Opus SO

Opus 104
1957 год

Десять русских народных песен. Б/н соч. (1951). Две русские народные песни. Соч. 104 (1957). Хоры без сопровождения из кинофильмов.
премьера:

24-ноября-1957

Москва. Большой зал консерватории. Государственный академический русский хор СССР под управлением А. Свешникова.

первое издание:

1960. Партитура «Музгиз», Москва.

рукописи:

Хоровая партитура. Нотная библиотека Государственного академического русского хора.


Две русские народные песни
Обработки для смешанного хора

     Обработки Двух русских народных песен соч. 104 для смешанного хора без сопровождения были сделаны Шостаковичем в 1957 году.  В опус вошли лирическая свадебная песня «Венули ветры», бытовавшая в Куйбышевской (Самарской) области, и хороводная «Как меня, младу-младёшеньку», записанная в Новгородской области.
     Нотные расшифровки песен были изданы в разные годы, уже после публикации обработок Шостаковича. «Венули ветры» была впервые напечатана в сборнике «Русские народные песни Поволжья» (М., 1959). Нотная расшифровка шуточной плясовой песни «Как меня, младу-младёшеньку, муж больно бил» была впервые напечатана только в 1979 году в сборнике «Традиционный фольклор Новгородской области». 
     Две русские песни Шостаковича были опубликованы в сборнике хоровых обработок «Русские народные песни» (Л., 1957) как два самостоятельных номера («Венули ветры» под № 9 и «Как меня, младу-младёшеньку» под № 17). Тем не менее сам композитор обозначил их единым опусом — как цикл.
     Первое исполнение опуса 104 состоялось в Большом зале Московской консерватории 24 ноября 1957 года Государственным академическим русским хором СССР под управлением А.В. Свешникова. Позже Госхор исполнял одну из песен цикла («Как меня, младу-младёшеньку») в московском Концертном зале имени П.И. Чайковского (6 декабря 1958), в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии (10 марта 1971). В 1960-х годах обработки исполнялись также Республиканской русской хоровой капеллой под руководством А.А. Юрлова (30 декабря 1967 года, КЗЧ; 22 февраля 1968 года, БЗЛФ). В дальнейшем Две русские народные песни включали в свои концертные программы другие выдающиеся хоровые дирижёры: В.С. Попов (Хор мальчиков Московского хорового училища), В.А. Чернушенко (Ленинградская академическая государственная капелла имени М.И.Глинки), Б.Г. Тевлин (Московский хор молодежи и студентов, Камерный хор Московской консерватории) и другие.
     Единственная прижизненная запись опуса 104 (песня «Как меня, младу-младёшеньку») была сделана в 1969 году Государственным Омским русским народным хором под руководством Г.Н. Пантюкова. Впоследствии цикл записывали В.А. Чернушенко (1982), М. Шнэк (1987, Yale Russian Chorus), Б.Г. Тевлин (1988, 2006), Е.С. Тытянко (1995), Н.Н. Корнев (1999).
     Обработки Двух русских народных песен были впервые опубликованы в 1957 году в сборнике «Русские народные песни», а также в виде партитуры и голосов (М., Музфонд, 1957); партитура также была напечатана в 1960 году Музгизом. Затем обработки неоднократно издавались в различных хоровых сборниках: «Из репертуара хора Казанского университета им. В.И. Ленина (М., 1964, только № 2), «Поёт Омский народный хор» (М., 1966, 1971, только № 2), «Хоры без сопровождения» (Л., 1972) и др.  В 1985 году «Две русские народные песни» вошли в 34 том Собрания сочинений Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка). Зарубежное издание опуса 104 вышло в издательстве Zen-On Music в 1997 году.


назад

Годы жизни