Works Orchestral Compositions

Scherzo

Opus SO Opus 2

Opus 1
1919 year

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Miniatures of Different Years
first publication:

Piano version in Vol. 109, DSCH, Moscow 2019; Orch. ver. in Vol. 10. Muzyka, M. 1984

manuscripts:

RSALA rec. gr. 2048, inv. 35. RNMM rec. gr. 32, inv. 77.


Dedication: "To my teacher Maximilian Oseyevich Shteinberg"
Duration: 5’

"Everything that I was taught by Shteinberg I eagerly devoured, sucking in like a sponge all his instructions and advice. Skilfully and sensitively Shteinberg nurtured good taste in his pupils. What I owe to him most of all is learning to value and love good music..."


In New Collected Works, the piano version of Scherzo is designated with the additional number 1a.


Scherzo
Op. 1

  The piece was initially written for piano. Then its orchestral version appeared, which Shostakovich considered the main one: this was the version Shostakovich assigned the first of his opus numbers.
  Traditionally, Scherzo is dated to 1919, which year “Shostakovich mentioned in his opus lists. Later it was included in the Music Reference Guide published during his lifetime, as well as in all the known biographical works about the composer”. However, according to Olga Digonskaya, Scherzo, “as an independent orchestral work, was finished no earlier than July and no later than September 1921”, while Shostakovich “composed [the piano version] no earlier than the spring of 1920, presumably at the beginning of his second year” at the Leningrad Conservatory.
  In contrast to the orchestral version of Scherzo, which was not performed until the 1980s, the author played the piano version several times at the beginning of the 1920s.
  The main theme of Scherzo was later used in “Clockwork Doll”, the No. 6 from A Child’s Exercise Book (1945-1946), which shows that the author remembered the composition he did at the age of fifteen and considered the music relevant enough to return to it again twenty-five years later.
  Four fragments of the piano version of Scherzo were published as a facsimile by Olga Digonskaya.
  However, the Scherzo’s piano version has never been published before in full. Nor are there currently any recordings of its piano performances.


recordings:

Symphony Orchestra of the Ministry of Culture of the USSR, conductor Gennady Rozhdestvensky. 1982 // Melodia C10 19103 004 1983


back

Years


1919

more

Сочинения Сочинения для оркестра

Скерцо

Opus SO Opus 2

Opus 1
1919 год

Фортепианные миниатюры Д. Шостаковича разных лет
первое издание:

Собр. соч., т.10, М., 1984, оркестровая версия; Новое собр. соч., Т. 109, DSCH, М. 2019, ф-п. версия.

рукописи:

ЦГАЛИ ф.2048, оп.1, ед.хр.35. ГЦММК им. М. И. Глинки ф.32, ед.хр.77.


Посвящение: «Моему учителю Максимилиану Осеевичу Штейнбергу»
Длительность: 5’

«Все, чему меня учил Штейнберг, я воспринимал с жадностью, впитывая, как губка, все его указания и советы. Штейнберг умело и чутко воспитывал в своих учениках хороший вкус. Ему я прежде всего обязан тем, что научился ценить и любить хорошую музыку...»


Фортепианная версия Скерцо в Новом собрании сочинений обозначена дополнительным номером 1а.


Скерцо
Соч. 1

  Вначале Скерцо было написано для фортепиано. Затем появилась оркестровая — основная для Шостаковича — версия сочинения: именно ей композитор присвоил первый из своих опусных номеров.
  Традиционно Скерцо датируется 1919 годом, который «был собственноручно проставлен Шостаковичем в его „опусниках“ (списках сочинений), а позднее вошёл в прижизненный „Нотографический справочник“ и во все известные биографические работы о композиторе». Однако, согласно выводам О. Г. Дигонской, Скерцо «как самостоятельное оркестровое произведение было завершено не раньше июля и не позднее сентября 1921 года», фортепианную же версию Шостакович «сочинил не ранее весны 1920 года, предположительно — в начале второго курса» Ленинградской консерватории.
  В отличие от оркестровой версии Скерцо, исполненной впервые лишь в 1980-х годах, фортепианная несколько раз была сыграна автором в начале 1920-х годов.
  Главная тема Скерцо была впоследствии использована в пьесе № 6 «Заводная кукла» из Детской тетради (1945–1946), что свидетельствует о том, что автор и помнил о сочинении, созданном в пятнадцатилетнем возрасте, и считал материал достаточно актуальным, чтобы вновь обратиться к нему по прошествии четверти века.
  Четыре фрагмента фортепианной версии Скерцо были опубликованы в виде факсимиле О. Г. Дигонской. Однако целиком Скерцо в изложении для фортепиано ранее не издавалось. Записи его фортепианного исполнения в настоящее время также отсутствуют.


записи:

Симфонический оркестр Министерства культуры СССР, дирижёр Геннадий Рождественский. 1982 // Мелодия C10 19103 004 1983


назад

Годы жизни