New Collected Works Compositions for the Stage

Moscow, Cheryomushki. Op. 105. Operetta. Score.


Volume 66
2006

Operetta in 3 Acts and 5 Scenes. Libretto Vladimir Mass and Mikhail Chervinsky. Op. 105
Edited by Manashir Iakubov.

Download example:


Form:

Musical Comedy (or Operetta) in three acts of five scenes (Overture-Prologue and 39 numbers), for full orchestra, 19 singing parts and S.A.T.B. chorus, to libretto by Vladimir Mass and Mikhail Chervinsky.

Orchestra:

2 Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 3 Oboes, 3 Clarinets (A and B flat), 2 Bassoons
4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Triangle, Castanets, Tambourine, Side drum, Cymbals, Bass drum, Gong
Glockenspiel, Harp
Strings

Composed:

Was written in 1957-1958 for the Moscow Operetta Theatre.

Duration:

Musical Comedy: c.1 hr 45 mins—2 hrs 22 mins (recordings);
2 hrs 40 mins (staged).


  We do not know the whereabouts of the author’s manuscript of the score of the music comedy Moscow, Cheryomushki.
  This publication is based on the score published in Volume 24 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1986).
  This publication, which is the only one of its kind to date, was based on the handwritten copy of the Production Combine of the USSR Music Foundation. Collation of the score with the published piano score (Sovetsky kompositor Publishers, Moscow, 1959) showed that seven items are missing in the copy (Nos. 9, 23, 24, 34, 35, 37, and 39). They are all, as can be seen from the piano score, repeats (often in abridged form) of earlier items.
 The scores of these items were restored in keeping with the piano score by the editor of the volume, K. Titarenko (he also removed several discrepancies in the accompaniment harmonies between the score and the piano score and stipulated these clarifications in his comments).
  The entire score of the music comedy in the 1986 edition was based on the structure and literary text of the piano score. But in addition to the absence of the indicated items, there were various types of other significant discrepancies between the handwritten copy of the score and the piano score, in particular, cuts or, vice versa, additions (repetitions of certain fragments), and so on. When the final text of the score was ascertained in the 1986 edition, preference was usually given to versions of the piano score as the lifetime edition printed under the author’s supervision. Nevertheless, the hasty preparation of the piano score for publication was most likely carried out alongside preparations for the premiere. Its editing was finished by the end of April; beginning of May, and on 12 May 1959, the piano score had already been submitted to the Production Combine. The edition is full of mistakes: the list of errors appended to the edition fills an entire page and is far from exhaustive.
  The handwritten copy of the score apparently reflected a later stage in the work on the composition, including the changes that were made during work on the performance after the premiere. So mechanically following the piano score, in particular, several cuts made in it, led in certain cases to disruptions in meaning in the development of the action in the libretto. For example, in No. 32 of the score, a repeat of the couplet was envisaged in keeping with the text. The text of one couplet ended with the words: “And all the dreams come true/Of people who live here”, followed by a dialogue between Baburov and Barabashkin: “Have you heard?” “What?” “That ‘all the dreams of the people who live here come true’.” “Oh dear, I don’t like those hints for some reason!” But in the 1986 edition of the score (as in the piano score edition), there is no repetition sign, so there is no cited text either, and as a result the dialogue presented above has absolutely no meaning.
  There are various kinds of discrepancies in the libretto text in all the editions. For example, in the first scene, Lidochka appears as one of the museum visitors, among those taking the tour, but right after the scene with Bubentsov and the choir (No. 1 “Bubentsov and the Choir of Visitors”), it turns out that she is also the tour guide.
  In the 1986 edition Scene Two has the subtitle of “Want to write down the address?”, but the content of the scene have nothing whatsoever to do with this subtitle, and the corresponding episode (the conversation in the telephone booth) takes place in the previous scene.
  Scene Four in all the editions begins with the remark: “The Bubentsovs’ flat. The same spacious room with a balcony door as in Scene One (italics mine).” But the action of Scene One takes place in the museum, and the described interior does not appear in the play until Scene Three. In the penultimate item (No. 38 “Scene with Barabashkin and the Masks”), there is the remark “Builders and new tenants come out onto the stage” (that is, the choir), but right after that, at the beginning of the next item, it is indicated that the choir sings off stage, and so on.
  In this publication, an attempt has been made to remove this kind of discrepancy both in the libretto and in the music text.
  In addition to the 1986 edition of the score, the following editions were also used when preparing this edition: the above; mentioned first edition of the piano score; the edition of the piano score in Volume 25 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1986); the author’s handwritten copy of the piano score (private collection); clean and fair author’s manuscripts, as well as author’s handwritten copies of individual items of the piano score kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archives, and finally, orchestral voices and solo and choir parts of the music comedy Moscow, Cheryomushki from the library of the Moscow Operetta Theatre.
  A copy of the libretto by Vladimir Mass and Mikhail Chervinsky was used to clarify the names of several items and the literary text, in particular the “List of Music Items” it contains (Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture, rec. gr. 32, f. 326, p. III).

Cобрание сочинений Сочинения для музыкального театра

«Москва, Черёмушки». Соч. 105. Музыкальная комедия. Партитура.


Том 66
2006

Музыкальная комедия в 3 действиях, 5 картинах. Либретто Владимира Масса и Михаила Червинского. Соч. 105.
Общая редакция и пояснительная статья Манашира Якубова.

Скачать пример:


Форма:

Музыкальная комедия (Оперетта) в 3 действиях, 5 картинах (увертюра-пролог и 39 номеров), для симфонического оркестра, 19 солистов, хора. Либретто Владимир Масс и Михаил Червинский.

Состав оркестра:

2 Piccoli, 2 Flauti, 3 Oboi, 3 Clarinetti (B, A), 2 Fagotti
4 Corni (F), 3 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Castagnette, Tamburino, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam
Campanelli, Arpa
Violini I, Violini II, Viole, Violoncelli, Contrabassi

Сочинение:

Написана в 1957–1958 годах для Московского театра оперетты.

Длительность:

По партитуре : 1 ч. 45 мин.—2 часа 22 мин. (записи), 2 часа 40 мин. (постановка).


  Местонахождение автографа партитуры музыкальной комедии «Москва, Черёмушки» неизвестно.
  В основу настоящего издания положена партитура, опубликованная в томе 24 Собрания сочинений Д.Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1986).
  Эта, единственная до настоящего времени, публикация была основана на рукописной копии Производственного комбината Музыкального фонда СССР. Сверка партитуры с опубликованным клавиром (М., Советский композитор, 1959) показала, что в копии отсутствуют семь номеров (№ 9, 23, 24, 34, 35, 37, 39). Все они представляли собой, как это видно из клавира, повторение (часто — сокращенное) ранее звучавших номеров. Партитуры этих номеров были в соответствии с клавиром восстановлены редактором тома К. Титаренко (он же устранил ряд разночтений в гармониях аккомпанемента между партитурой и клавиром, оговорив эти уточнения в комментариях).
  На структуру и литературный текст клавира была ориентирована и вся партитура музыкальной комедии в издании 1986 года. Однако, помимо отсутствия указанных номеров, в рукописной копии партитуры имелись разного рода иные существенные разночтения с клавиром, в частности купюры или, наоборот, дополнения (повторения отдельных фрагментов) и т. п. При установлении окончательного текста партитуры в публикации 1986 года предпочтения, как правило, отдавались версии клавира как прижизненного издания, печатавшегося под наблюдением автора. Между тем спешная подготовка клавира к изданию шла, по всей вероятности, параллельно с подготовкой премьеры. Его редактирование было закончено к концу апреля — началу мая, а 12 мая 1959 года клавир уже был сдан в производство. Издание изобилует ошибками: приложенный к изданию список замеченных опечаток занимает полную страницу и далеко не исчерпывает всех
погрешностей текста.
  Рукописная копия партитуры, по-видимому, отражала более поздний этап работы над произведением, включая изменения, возникшие в ходе работы над спектаклем уже после премьеры. Поэтому механическое следование клавиру, в частности некоторым сделанным в нём сокращениям, привело в отдельных случаях к нарушению смысловых связей в развитии действия, в либретто произведения. Например, в № 32 партитуры предусматривалось, в соответствии с текстом, повторение куплета. Текст одного куплета заканчивался словами: «И все мечты сбываются / У тех, кто здесь живёт», за которыми следовал такой диалог Бабурова и Барабашкина: «Слыхал?» — «Что?» — «Что „все мечты сбываются у тех, кто здесь живёт“». —
«Ох, не нравятся мне почему-то эти намёки!» Однако в издании партитуры 1986 года (как и в издании клавира) знака повторения нет, нет, соответственно, и цитированного текста, и в результате приведённый выше диалог звучит совершенно бессмысленно.
  Во всех изданиях имеются разного рода несогласованности в тексте либретто. Так, в первой картине Лидочка появляется как одна из посетительниц музея, среди экскурсантов, но сразу после сцены Бубенцова с хором (№ 1. Бубенцов и хор экскурсантов) выясняется, что она — также экскурсовод. Картина вторая имеет подзаголовок «Запишите адрес», однако содержание картины никакого отношения к этому подзаголовку не имеет, а соответствующий эпизод (разговор в телефонной будке) происходит в предыдущей картине.
  Картина четвёртая во всех изданиях начинается с ремарки: «Квартира Бубенцовых. Та же просторная комната с балконной дверью, что и в первой картине (курсив мой)». Но действие первой картины происходит в музее, а описываемый интерьер появляется в пьесе только в третьей картине. В предпоследнем номере (№ 38. «Сцена Барабашкина с масками») имеется ремарка «На сцену выходят строители и новосёлы» (то есть хор), но сразу после этого, в начале следующего номера, указывается, что хор поёт за сценой. И т.д.
  В настоящей публикации сделана попытка устранить подобного рода несообразности как в либретто, так и в нотном тексте.
  При подготовке настоящей публикации, помимо издания партитуры 1986 года, были использованы: упомянутое выше первое издание клавира; издание клавира в томе 25 Собрания сочинений Д.Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1986); авторизованная рукописная копия клавира (частное собрание); чистовые и беловые автографы, а также авторизованные рукописные копии отдельных номеров клавира, хранящиеся в Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича, и, наконец, оркестровые голоса, сольные и хоровые партии музыкальной комедии «Москва, Черёмушки» из библиотеки Московского театра оперетты.
  Для уточнения названий ряда номеров и литературного текста использован экземпляр либретто В. Масса и М. Червинского, в частности имеющийся там «Перечень музыкальных номеров» (ГЦММК, ф. 32, ед. хр. 326. С. III).