New Collected Works Orchestral Compositions

Compositions for Wind Orchestra and Jazz Orchestra. Scores.


Volume 32
2006

Tahiti Trot. Transcription of Vincent Youmans’ Song for Orchestra, Op. 16
Two  Pieces  by  Domenico  Scarlatti. Transcription for Wind Orchestra, Op. 17
Suite No. 1 for Jazz Orch. Sans op. 
Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orch. Sans op. (Instr. by Gerard McBurney. Published for the first time.)
Ceremonial March. For Wind Orchestra, Sans op.
German  March. For Wind Orchestra, Sans  op.
March of the Soviet  Militia. For Wind Orchestra, Op. 139. Score
Edited by Manashir Iakubov

Download example:


Vincent Youmans, “Tahiti Trot”, Op. 16. Orchestral Transcription by Dmitri Shostakovich.

The transcription of Vincent Youmans’ (1898-1946) foxtrot, “Tahiti Trot”, is usually dated 1928. Shostakovich himself dated this opus as such in the list of works he compiled at the end of the 1930s.

Instrumentation:
Piccolo, Flauto, 2 Oboi, Clarinetto (B), Fagotto
4 Corni (F), 2 Trombe (B), Trombone
Timpani, Triangolo, Tamburo, Piatti
Campanelli, Silofono
Celesta, Arpa
Archi

Until recently, the author’s manuscript of the transcription was thought to be lost. In the list of his works compiled at the end of the 1930s, Shostakovich made a note next to the title of this work: “disappeared”. At the beginning of the 1980s, conductor Gennadi Rozhdestvensky was given orchestrated parts of the transcription by Nikolai Malko’s widow and restored the score in correlation to them. This was the form it was printed in for the first time in the Appendix of the tenth volume of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Moscow, 1984).
After the publication of Malko’s reminiscences, the existence of the author’s manuscript Shostakovich had given the conductor (for more detail, see my article in this volume) became known, but this author’s manuscript was not available when preparing this volume. The author’s manuscript of “Tahiti Trot” intended for the ballet The Golden Age was found in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archives. Its comparison with the score restored by Rozhdestvensky showed that the concert and ballet versions are identical.
This publication is based on this author’s manuscript (A), but in some cases, the first edition of the score is taken into account.


Two Pieces by Domenico Scarlatti. Transcription for Wind Orchestra, Op. 17.
1. Pastorale, 2. Capriccio

By way of original sources, Shostakovich used two of Scarlatti’s sonatas: d-moll K 9 (L 413) and Es-dur K 20 (L 375). 

Instrumentation:
Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, 2 Clarinetti (B), 2 Fagotti
2 Corni (F), 2 Trombe (B), Trombone,
Timpani

The author’s manuscript of the score has not been found. It is being printed for the first time in correlation with the handwritten copy kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archives.

Suite No. 1 for Jazz Orchestra. Sans op. (1934)
1. Waltz, 2. Polka, 3. Foxtrot

Suite No. 1 for Jazz Orchestra in Three Movements was written in 1934. The appearance of this work resulted from Shostakovich’s striving to enlarge the genre range of his creative work. “I have worked in a variety of genres, but there are so many genres I have yet to try!” wrote the composer in January 1934. “I have had a great breakthrough in chamber and chamber-variety music. This happened due to a certain lack of appreciation of these other genres. But time insistently tells me that these genres have a right and are obliged to grow and thrive”.

Instrumentation:
Saxofono soprano (B) = Saxofono alto (Es), Saxofono alto (Es), Saxofono tenore (B)
2 Trombe (B), Trombone
Tamburo, Legno
Campanelli, Silofono, Banjo
Chitarra hawaiana, Piano
Violino, Cotrabasso


Suite No. 2  for Jazz Orchestra. Sans op. (1938)
1. Scherzo, 2. Lullaby, 3. Serenade

Suite in Three Movements was written in 1938 as ordered by the newly created USSR State Jazz Orchestra.
The score and parts of Suite No. 2 for Jazz Orchestra have apparently not survived. In 1999, a rough draft of all three pieces was found in Dmitri Shostakovich’s personal depository in the Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture (GSCMMC) among the unidentified author’s manuscripts. The author’s manuscript does not have a general heading, and the pieces are not arranged in it in the order they are in the final version of the composition. The rough drafts found in Dmitri Shostakovich’s personal depository at GSCMMC laid the foundation for this work’s return to the concert stage. In 2000, British composer Gerard McBurney revived and
instrumented all three movements of Suite No. 2.

Instrumentation:
2 Saxofoni alti (Es), 2 Saxofoni  tenori (Es), Saxofono baritono (Es)
4 Trombe (B), Trombone tenore, Trombone basso, Tuba
Batteria I: Suspend Cymbal, Large suspended Cymbal, Side Drum, Wood block, Bass Drum
Batteria II: Triangolo, Castagnette, Tam-tam, Campanelli, Flessatono, Silofono
3 Banjos, 3 Chitarre, Piano
6 Violini, 2 Contrabassi


Ceremonial March for Wind Orchestra. Sans op. (1941)

The Ceremonial March for Wind Orchestra was most likely written at the end of 1940 or the beginning of 1941. We are dating it 1941 based on the date of the censorship permission for the manuscript48: “12 February 1941.” The March was possibly composed on the order of some specific large orchestra which included not only brass, but also woodwind instruments. Shostakovich  looked  at  the  possibility  of  the  March  being performed  by  more  customary and  smaller collectives, stipulating this in a special comment: “The piccolo flute, oboe, bassoon, III and IV French horn and trombone parts are not obligatory.”

Instrumentation:
Piccolo, 2 Oboi, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 3 Clarinetti (B), 2 Fagotti
4 Corni (Es), 2 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni
Tamburo militare, Piatti, Cassa
2 Cornetti (B), 2 Alti (Es), 3 Tenori (B), Baritone (B), 3 Tromboni, Bassi

The whereabouts of the author’s manuscript of this version of the score is not known. There is a handwritten copy of the score in Dmitri Shostakovich’s personal depository in GSCMMC (rec. gr. 32, f. 7 and 8), in keeping with which the first edition was printed. Before submitting the score for print, Shostakovich crossed out the word “battle” in the title in the proof sheets, probably since it contradicted somewhat the word “ceremonial”. There is also an author's manuscript of the score of a Ceremonial Battle March in a different orchestration in GSCMMC. This version is being published in Appendix I in this volume. The Ceremonial March is being printed in keeping with the first edition put out by State Music Publishers in 1941 in 750 copies.


German March for Wind Orchestra From the Music to the Film Warmongers. Sans op. (1950)

The German March was written for the film Warmongers directed by Leo Arnshtam.49  Work on the film came to a halt in 1951. The author’s manuscript of the score of the German March is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archives, the handwritten copy of the score is in the music library of the State Symphonic Orchestra of Cinematography (No. 397). The author’s manuscript is not dated. In keeping with the time the film was made, it can be presumed that the March was written at the end of 1950.
The score of the German March is being published for the first time.

Instrumentation:
2 Piccoli, 2 Flauti, Clarinetto (A)
Tamburino, 6 Tamburi militari, 4 Casse

It is being published according to the author's manuscript kept in Dmitri Shostakovich's Archives. The handwritten copy of the score is kept in the Music Library of the Orchestra of Cinematography.


March of the Soviet Militia for Wind Orchestra. Op. 139

The March was written in 1970 on the initiative of USSR Minister of Internal Affairs Nikolai Shchelokov, who not only wrote a special letter to the composer on 2 December 1969, but also sent him a photocopy of piano score of “The March of the  St. Petersburg Capital Police for its 1703-1903  anniversary. Composed by G. Friderichs” as a “model”. Shostakovich’s work was awarded the first prize at the All-Union Interior Ministry Contest for the best march for a wind orchestra. The statements found in reference books that the March of the Soviet  Militia is dedicated to “playwright” Mikhail Mikhailovich Zoshchenko are a misunderstanding. The work does not have any dedication.

Instrumentation:
Flauto, 3 Clarinetti
2 Cornetti (B), 2 Trombe (B), 3 Corni (F)
2 Alti (Es), 2 Tenori (B), 2 Baritoni (B), Trombone, 2 Bassi
Timpani, Triangolo, Tamburo militare, Piatti

The whereabouts of the author’s manuscript is not known. It is being printed in keeping with the edition of the score in the collection Marches of the Soviet Militia (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1978). The edition was accompanied by the comment: “The March is being printed in the author’s instrumentation.”

Cобрание сочинений Сочинения для оркестра

Произведения для духового оркестра и для джаз-оркестра. Партитуры.


Том 32
2006

Таити-трот. Транскрипция песни В. Юманса для оркестра, соч. 16
Две пьесы Доменико Скарлатти. Транскрипция  для духового оркестра, соч. 17
Сюита № 1 для джаз-оркестра Б/н соч.
Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра Б/н соч. (Инстр. Дж. МакБёрни. Публикуется впервые).
Торжественный марш. Для духового оркестра, б/н соч.
Немецкий марш. Для духового оркестра, б/н соч.
Марш советской милиции. Для духового оркестра, соч. 139
Общая редакция и пояснительная статья М. Якубова.

Скачать пример:


Винсент Юманс. «Таити-трот» Оркестровая  транскрипция Д. Д. Шостаковича, соч. 16

Обработка фокстрота Винсента Юманса (Vincent Youmans, 1898–1946) «Таити-трот» обычно датируется 1928 годом. Именно так датировал этот опус и сам Шостакович в списке своих произведений, составленном в конце 1930-х годов.

Состав оркестра:
Piccolo, Flauto, 2 Oboi, Clarinetto (B), Fagotto
4 Corni (F), 2 Trombe (B), Trombone
Timpani, Triangolo, Tamburo, Piatti
Campanelli, Silofono
Celesta, Arpa
Archi

Автограф транскрипции до недавнего времени считался утерянным. В списке своих сочинений, составленном в конце 1930-х годов, Шостакович пометил рядом с названием этой работы: «пропало»1. В начале 1980-х годов дирижёр Г. Рождественский получил от вдовы Н. Малько оркестровые партии транскрипции и по ним восстановил партитуру. В этом виде она и была впервые напечатана в Приложении десятого тома Собрания сочинений Д.Д. Шостаковича (М., 1984).
После публикации воспоминаний Малько стало известно о существовании автографа, подаренного дирижёру Шостаковичем (см. об этом в моей статье в настоящем томе), однако этот автограф не был нам доступен при подготовке настоящего издания.
В Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича удалось обнаружить автограф «Таити-трот», предназначенный для балета «Золотой век». Сопоставление его с партитурой, восстановленной Рождественским, показало идентичность концертной и балетной версий.
Настоящая публикация основана на этом автографе, но в отдельных случаях учитывает и первое издание партитуры.

Две пьесы Доменико Скарлатти, обработанные для духового оркестра, соч. 17
1. Пастораль, 2. Каприччио.

В качестве первоисточников Шостакович использовал две сонаты Скарлатти: d-moll K 9 (L 413) и Es-dur K 20 (L 375).

Состав оркестра:
Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, 2 Clarinetti (B), 2 Fagotti
2 Corni (F), 2 Trombe (B), Trombone,
Timpani

Автограф партитуры не обнаружен. Печатается впервые по рукописной копии, хранящейся в Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича.

Сюита № 1 для джаз-оркестра  б/н  соч. (1934)
1. Вальс, 2. Полька, 3. Фокстрот (Блюз)

Сюита № 1 для джаз-оркестра в трёх частях была написана в 1934 году. Появление этой работы стало одним из результатов стремления Шостаковича к расширению жанрового диапазона своего творчества. «Я работал в разнообразных жанрах, но всё же мало жанров ещё мною охвачено!» — писал композитор в январе 1934 года. «Большой прорыв у меня в области камерной и камерно-эстрадной музыки. Произошло это из-за некоторой недооценки этих жанров. Но время мне настойчиво подсказывает, что эти жанры имеют право и обязаны расти и расцветать».

Состав оркестра:
Saxofono soprano (B) = Saxofono alto (Es), Saxofono alto (Es), Saxofono tenore (B)
2 Trombe (B), Trombone
Tamburo, Legno
Campanelli, Silofono, Banjo
Chitarra hawaiana, Piano
Violino, Cotrabasso


Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра б/н соч. (1938)
1. Скерцо, 2. Колыбельная, 3. Серенада

Сюита № 2 для джаз-оркестра в трёх частях была написана в 1938 году по заказу только что созданного Государственного джаз-оркестра СССР.
Партитура и голоса Сюиты № 2 для джаз-оркестра, видимо, не сохранились. В 1999 году в личном фонде Д.Д. Шостаковича в Государственном центральном музее музыкальной культуры имени М.И. Глинки среди «неопознанных» автографов удалось найти черновой эскиз всех трёх пьес. Автограф не имеет общего названия, и пьесы расположены в нём не в том порядке, который сложился в окончательной версии сочинения. Обнаруженные в личном фонде Д.Д. Шостаковича в ГЦММК черновые эскизы послужили основой для возвращения этого произведения на концертную эстраду. В 2000 году английский композитор Джерард МакБёрни (Gerard McBurney) восстановил и инструментовал все три части Сюиты № 2.

Состав оркестра:
2 Saxofoni alti (Es), 2 Saxofoni  tenori (Es), Saxofono baritono (Es)
4 Trombe (B), Trombone tenore, Trombone basso, Tuba
Batteria I: Suspend Cymbal, Large suspended Cymbal, Side Drum, Wood block, Bass Drum
Batteria II: Triangolo, Castagnette, Tam-tam, Campanelli, Flessatono, Silofono
3 Banjos, 3 Chitarre, Piano
6 Violini, 2 Contrabassi


Торжественный марш для духового оркестра б/н соч. (1941)

Торжественный марш для духового оркестра написан, по всей вероятности, в конце 1940 или в начале 1941 года. Мы датируем его 1941 годом, ориентируясь на дату цензурного разрешения на рукописи: «12 февраля 1941 г.». Возможно, марш был сочинён по заказу какого-либо конкретного оркестра большого состава, включавшего не только медные, но и деревянные духовые инструменты. Шостакович предусмотрел возможность исполнения марша и более обычными, скромными по составу коллективами, оговорив это в специальном примечании: «Партии флейты-пикколо, гобоев, фаготов, валторн III и IV и тромбонов не обязательны».

Состав оркестра:
Piccolo, 2 Oboi, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 3 Clarinetti (B), 2 Fagotti
4 Corni (Es), 2 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni
Tamburo militare, Piatti, Cassa
2 Cornetti (B), 2 Alti (Es), 3 Tenori (B), Baritone (B), 3 Tromboni, Bassi

Местонахождение автографа этой версии партитуры неизвестно. В личном фонде Д.Д. Шостаковича в ГЦММК (ф. 32, ед. хр. 7 и 8) имеется рукописная копия партитуры, по которой и производился набор первого издания. Перед сдачей партитуры в производство Шостакович вычеркнул в корректурных листах слово «походный» в названии, вероятно, из-за некоторого противоречия со словом «Торжественный». В ГЦММК находится также автограф партитуры Торжественного походного марша в другой инструментовке. Эта версия публикуется в Приложении I в настоящем томе. Торжественный марш печатается по первому изданию, выпущенному Государственным музыкальным издательством в 1941 году тиражом 750 экземпляров.


Немецкий марш для духового оркестра из музыки к кинофильму
«Поджигатели  войны» б/н  соч. (1950)

Немецкий марш был написан для фильма «Поджигатели войны» режиссёра Лео Арнштама. Работа над фильмом была приостановлена в 1951 году. Автограф партитуры Немецкого марша хранится в Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича, рукописная копия партитуры — в нотной библиотеке Государственного симфонического оркестра кинематографии (№ 397). Автограф не датирован. В соответствии со временем съёмок фильма можно предполагать, что марш был написан в конце 1950 года.
Партитура Немецкого марша публикуется впервые.

Состав оркестра:
2 Piccoli, 2 Flauti, Clarinetto (A)
Tamburino, 6 Tamburi militari, 4 Casse

Публикуется по автографу, хранящемуся в Архиве Д.Д. Шостаковича. Рукописная копия партитуры хранится в Нотной библиотеке Оркестра кинематографии.


Марш советской милиции для духового оркестра соч. 139

Марш был написан в 1970 году по инициативе министра внутренних дел СССР Н. Щёлокова, который не только обратился к композитору со специальным письмом (2 декабря 1969 года), но и прислал ему в качестве «образца» фотокопию клавира «Марша С.Петербургской Столичной Полиции ко дню юбилея 1703–1903 соч. Г. Фридерикс». Работа Шостаковича была отмечена первой премией Всесоюзного конкурса Министерства внутренних дел на лучший марш для духового оркестра. Встречающиеся в зарубежных справочных изданиях сообщения о том, что Марш советской милиции посвящён «драматургу (playwright!)» Михаилу Михайловичу Зощенко, — недоразумение. Произведение не имеет никакого посвящения.

Состав оркестра:
Flauto, 3 Clarinetti
2 Cornetti (B), 2 Trombe (B), 3 Corni (F)
2 Alti (Es), 2 Tenori (B), 2 Baritoni (B), Trombone, 2 Bassi
Timpani, Triangolo, Tamburo militare, Piatti

Местонахождение автографа не установлено. Печатается по изданию партитуры в сборнике «Марши советской милиции» (М., Музыка, 1978). Издание сопровождено примечанием: «Марш печатается в авторской инструментовке».