New Collected Works Film Music

“Alone”. Op. 26.


Volume 123
2004

Music for the black-and-white sound film Alone. Opus 26. Score.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Reproducing the missing music text according to the phonogram by Mark Fitz-Gerald. Explanatory article by Manashir Iakubov. Editor-in-chief Manashir Iakubov. Published in full for the first time.

Download example:


  The music to the film Alone was published for the first time in Volume 41 of Dmitri Shostakovich's
Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1987) according to the author's manuscripts. The author's manuscripts of the score have not survived in full. Three numbers from Reel 6 were found at the Leningrad State Institute of Theatre, Music and Cinematography (LSITMC, now the Russian Institute of Arts History, rec. gr. 94, inv. 1, f. 3). Twenty-seven numbers from different reels were found at the Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture (GSCMMC, rec. gr. 32, f. 109), where the “piano” versions of three numbers are also kept, “The Beginning”, “The Dream”, and “March”, the scores of which have not been found.
  All thirty numbers of the score were enumerated in the author's manuscript and distributed throughout the reels. It is clear from this numeration that much of the music has been lost. For example, from the music to Reel 1, there is only No. 4—March. Street, No. 7—Gallop “Happy Days are Coming!” and No. 9—Choral Finale “Stop! Don't Go Away!” in Shostakovich's manuscripts; the other six numbers are missing; from the music to Reel 7, Nos. 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 18 have survived; consequently more than 10 numbers have not survived, and so on.
  In the 1987 edition, all the music that survived was published in direct correspondence with the author's manuscripts, without correlation with the film's phonogram.
  In this edition, the score is being published as closest correlated as possible with the film's phonogram and can be used for orchestral accompaniment during showing of the film.
  Mark Fitz-Gerald did most of the work to reproduce the missing music text according to the phonogram and present the numbers available in correspondence with the phonogram. He fully reproduced Nos. 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 19, 20, 24, 25, 33, 40, and 42. What is more, in correspondence with the phonogram, he introduced a significant number of changes into the author's scores which have survived. Sometimes, for example in No. 5—“The Barrel-Organ”, we are dealing in Fitz-Gerald's editing with a different, independent version of the number which significantly differs from the original author's version that has survived. All the metronome marks are also Fitz-Gerald's, and he also inserted several additional tempo marks.
  Approbation of the score took place during several showings of the film in European countries (in particular, in Paris on 16 April 2003).
  An additional collation of the score with the phonogram carried out by editor V.A. Ekimovsky made it possible to add the missing dynamic marks and tempo changes, as well as eliminate several imprecisions in the author's manuscript. Ekimovsky also found the cuts and repeats, which arose when recording the soundtrack and montage (or remontage) of the film.
  In this edition, a large number of square brackets introduced by the editor of the first edition have been removed.

  Thus, this edition is based on Shostakovich's author's manuscripts, the first edition mentioned above and the score prepared by Mark Fitz-Gerald. The score is supplemented with the available music to Reel 6. Since Reel 6 has not survived, these numbers should not be performed when the film is accompanied by an orchestra.
  Consecutive numbering of all the reels from No. 1 to No. 45 is used in the score. Individual numbers of the music author's manuscript are preceded by the composer's text comments.
  Some of them are used as names, the rest are reproduced over the notes as explanatory remarks relating to the action of the film.
Performers:
 
Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, Corno inglese, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 2 Clarinetti (B), Clarinetto basso, 2 Fagotti, Contrafagotto
2 Trombe (B), 4 Corni (F), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Legno, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam
Campanelli, Silofono, Theremin, Arpa, Organetto a manovella (Armonio), Organo
Banda: 2 Cornetti (B), 2 Alti (Es), 2 Baritoni (B), 2 Bassi
Soprano solo, Mezzo-soprano solo, Tenore solo
Coro misto
Violini I, Violini II, Viole, Violoncelli, Contrabassi

Cобрание сочинений Киномузыка

«Одна». Соч. 26.


Том 123
2004

Музыка к чёрно-белому звуковому фильму «Одна». Соч. 26. Партитура.
Редактор Виктор Екимовский. Воссоздание недостающего нотного текста по фонограмме Марк Фитц-Джералд. Общая редакция и пояснительная статья Манашира Якубова. Полностью публикуется впервые.

Скачать пример:


  Музыка к кинофильму «Одна» впервые опубликована в томе 41 Собрания сочинений Д. Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1987) по автографам. Автографы партитуры сохранились не полностью. Три номера из Шестой части фильма были обнаружены в Ленинградском государственном институте театра, музыки и кинематографии (ЛГИТМиК, ныне — Российский институт истории искусств, ф. 94, оп. 1, ед. хр. 3). 27 номеров из разных частей — в Государственном центральном музее музыкальной культуры имени М. И. Глинки (ГЦММК, ф. 32, ед. хр. 109), где находятся также «клавирные» версии трёх номеров: «Начало», «Сон» и «Марш», партитуры которых не найдены.
  Все 30 номеров партитуры в автографе пронумерованы и распределены по частям фильма. Из этой нумерации ясно, что не сохранилось весьма большое количество материала. Так, например, из музыки к Первой части фильма в рукописях Шостаковича имеются только № 4. Марш. Улица, № 7. Галоп «Какая хорошая будет жизнь!» и № 9. Заключительный хор «Останься!»; остальные шесть номеров отсутствуют; из музыки к Седьмой части фильма сохранились № 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 18; не сохранилось, следовательно, более 10 номеров, и т. д.
  В издании 1987 года весь сохранившийся материал был опубликован в прямом соответствии с автографами, без соотнесения с фонограммой фильма.
  В настоящем издании партитура публикуется в максимально возможном соответствии с фонограммой фильма и может быть использована для оркестрового сопровождения демонстрации фильма.
  Основная работа по воссозданию недостающего нотного текста по фонограмме и приведению имеющихся номеров в соответствие с фонограммой была проделана Марком Фитц-Джералдом. Им полностью восстановлены № 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 19, 20, 24, 25, 33, 40 и 42. Кроме того, в соответствии с фонограммой им внесено значительное количество изменений в сохранившиеся авторские партитуры. Иногда, как, например, в № 5. «Шарманка», в редакции Фитц-Джералда мы имеем дело с другим, самостоятельным вариантом номера, существенно отличающимся от сохранившейся первоначальной авторской версии. Фитц-Джералду принадлежат также все указания метронома, им же выставлены некоторые дополнительные темповые указания.
  Апробация партитуры осуществлена во время нескольких показов фильма в странах Европы (в частности, в Париже 16 апреля 2003 года).
  Выполненная редактором В. А. Екимовским дополнительная сверка партитуры с фонограммой позволила добавить недостающие динамические указания, темповые изменения, а также устранить ряд неточностей в авторской рукописи. Екимовским установлены также купюры и повторы, возникшие в процессе озвучивания и монтажа (или перемонтажа) фильма.
  В настоящей публикации устранено большое количество квадратных скобок, введённых редактором первого издания.
 
  Таким образом, в основу настоящего издания положены: автографы Шостаковича, упомянутое выше первое издание и партитура, подготовленная М. Фитц-Джералдом. Партитура дополнена имеющимися материалами музыки к Шестой части фильма. Поскольку плёнка Шестой части фильма не сохранилась, при сопровождении показа фильма оркестром эти номера исполняться не должны.
  В партитуре принята сквозная нумерация всех частей от № 1 до № 45. Отдельные номера нотного автографа предваряются словесными пометками композитора. Некоторые из них использованы в качестве названий, остальные воспроизводятся над нотами в качестве пояснительных ремарок, относящихся к действию фильма.
Состав исполнителей:
 
Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, Corno inglese, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 2 Clarinetti (B), Clarinetto basso, 2 Fagotti, Contrafagotto
2 Trombe (B), 4 Corni (F), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Legno, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam
Campanelli, Silofono, Theremin, Arpa, Organetto a manovella (Armonio), Organo
Banda: 2 Cornetti (B), 2 Alti (Es), 2 Baritoni (B), 2 Bassi
Soprano solo, Mezzo-soprano solo, Tenore solo
Coro misto
Violini I, Violini II, Viole, Violoncelli, Contrabassi