Works Orchestral Compositions

Suite No. 1 for Jazz Orchestra

Opus SO Opus 42

Opus SO
1934 year

Compositions for Wind Orchestra and Jazz Orchestra. Scores.
Orchestral Compositions. Piano Scores


first publication:

Muzfond, 1941.


Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture, rec. gr. 32, f. 72.

Suite No. 1 for Jazz Orchestra
Sans op. (1934)

     Suite No. 1 for Jazz Orchestra in Three Movements (1. Waltz, 2. Polka, 3. Foxtrot) was written in 1934. The appearance of this work resulted from Shostakovich’s striving to enlarge the genre range of his creative work.
     The generally accepted date for the premiere of Suite No. 1 in the literature, 24 March 1934, has not been confirmed so far. The performers are not known.
     In 1941, the Music Foundation printed (on collotype press) the score of this work. Still earlier, in 1939, the orchestrated parts of the third movement of the Suite (called ‘Blues’), arranged by Vladimir Derzhanovsky, were published by the Union of Soviet Composers’ Publishers. In 1945, a collotype publication appeared of the piano arrangement of the Suite by Levon Atovmian (USSR Music Foundation). In 1947, arrangements of ‘Waltz’ and ‘Blues’ for wind orchestra by K. Garbar were published by the Union of Soviet Composers’ Publishers.


  • Philadelphia Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Jansons M. 1997 // HMV 5 73047 2, 1998
  • Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Elder M. 1992 // United U 88001, 1993
  • Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam. Conductor: Shayi R. 1990 // DECCA 433702-2 D H, 1993