New Collected Works Suites from Operas and Ballets

Suite from the Ballet The Limpid Stream. Op. 39a. Score.

Volume 71

Suite From the Ballet The Limpid Stream. Op. 39а.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory article by Olesya Bobrik.

Download example:

  In 1987, the score of the suite from the ballet The Limpid Stream for full symphony orchestra was published in Volume 26 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works under the editorship of Konstantin Titarenko, along with the scores of the suites from The Golden Age and The Bolt. This publication documents the order and names of its parts (in the ballet, they correspond to):

  1. Waltz (38. Waltz),
  2. Russian Folk Dance (No. 12. Milkmaid and Tractor Driver’s Dance),
  3. Galop (No. 32. Coda),
  4. Adagio (No. 29. Adagio. Pyotr and Zina in Ballerina’s Costume),
  5. Pizzicato (No. 41. Ballerina’s Variation)

  Compared with the previous suites from The Golden Age and The Bolt, it is not as slapstick and more traditional in style—qualities that are characteristic of the whole ballet The Limpid Stream.


Piccolo, 2 Flauti, 2 Oboi, Corno inglese, Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 2 Clarinetti (B), 3 Fagotti (III = Contrafagotto)
4 Corni (F), 3 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Tamburo, Piatti
Campanelli, Arpa
Violini I, Violini II, Viole, Violoncelli, Contrabassi

This publication is based on the first edition of the suite The Limpid Stream (D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, in 42 volumes, Vol. 26, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1987), collated with the score of the ballet (D. Shostakovich, New Collected Works, in 150 volumes, Vols. 64a, 64b, DSCH, Moscow, 2006). There is no author’s manuscript of the score of the suite.