New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No 15. Op. 141. Piano score.

Volume 30

Author’s arrangement for two pianos.
Edited by Sergey Chebotaryov. Explanatory Article by Levon Hakobian.

Download example:

The manuscript of the author’s arrangement of the Fifteenth Symphony “for two pianos in four hands” is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive. It fills 97 pages of score paper and does not contain any performance directions. There are a few crossings out, while some performance marks and slurs have clearly been introduced later in lighter ink. According to the chronological catalogue of Shostakovich’s works, the author’s arrangement of the Fifteenth Symphony for two pianos was completed on 4 January 1972, but there is no date in the author’s manuscript. Whatever the case, this date contradicts what Sophia Khentova and Krzysztof Meyer mention in their biographical works about Moisey Weinberg and Boris Tchaikovsky playing the symphony on two pianos at the beginning of August 1971.

This  publication  is  based  on  the  lifetime  edition  of  the  author’s  arrangement  for  two pianos  (Sovetsky kompozitor, Moscow, 1977) collated with the author’s manuscript of the piano score (the Arrangement for Two Pianos [Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, inv. 1, f. 70]) and the score (New Collected Works, Vol. 15, DSCH, Moscow, 2012).

The enharmonic differences between the score and the piano score in both author’s manuscripts and in the lifetime edition have been left unchanged.