New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No 11. Op. 103. Piano score.

Volume 26

Author’s arrangement for piano (four hands).
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory Article by Levon Hakobian.

Download example:

The score of the Eleventh Symphony was finished on 4 August 1957.17 Soon thereafter, the composer did the symphony’s arrangement for piano in four hands, which he informed yevgeny Mravinsky about in a letter of 24 August, adding: “During this time Weinberg and I had learned it and were able to play it.” However, Shostakovich’s partner in the first performances of the piano reduction of the symphony (17 September, leningrad House of Composers; 25 September, Board of the USSR union of Composers, Moscow) was not Mieczysław (Moisey) Weinberg, but Mikhail Meyerovich. The whereabouts of the manuscript of the four-hand arrangement of the symphony is not known. The arrangement was published in 1958 by Muzgiz Publishers (editor, levon Atovmian).

This publication is based on the first edition of the arrangement (Muzgiz Publishers, Moscow,
1958). The author’s arrangement has not been found in the archives although on the title page of the
first edition it says “Author’s Arrangement for Piano in four Hands. Editor l. Atovmian”. The
present edition has been collated with the score (New Collected Works, Vol. 11, DSCH, Moscow, 2012).