Works Instrumentations of Works by Other Composers

Johann Strauss. “The Pleasure Train”. Polka

Opus 57 Opus SO

Opus SO
1940 year

Johann Strauss. The Pleasure Train.
premiere:

18-September-1978

Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic where it was performed by the Philharmonic’s symphony orchestra under the baton of Gennadi Rozhdestvensky.


Johann Strauss’s Polka The Pleasure Train
Orchestrated by Dmitri Shostakovich

     The concert premiere of Johann Strauss’s polka orchestrated by Shostakovich in 1941 was held on 18 September 1978 in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic where it was performed by the Philharmonic’s symphony orchestra under the baton of Gennadi Rozhdestvensky. The polka brought the concert to a close, the first part of which saw the debut of Shostakovich’s unfinished opera The Gamblers.
     The polka The Pleasure Train was recorded in 1979, and in 1980 it came out on a gramophone record in the ‘From Manuscripts of Different Years’ series, which revived many of Shostakovich’s unknown and forgotten compositions. On 14 August 1981, the piece was performed abroad during the Promenade Concert at London’s Albert Hall (BBC orchestra, conductor Gennadi Rozhdestvensky).
     Johann Strauss's polka orchestrated and arranged for the staging of an operetta and becoming one of the prominent items in The Gypsy Baron, does not only feature in the operetta genre context of Shostakovich’s creative work. It naturally stands alongside his other orchestrations such as Tahiti Trot by Youmans and Scarlatti’s sonatas.
     Composed for an operetta, the transcription of the polka The Pleasure Train also proved to be another of Shostakovich’s contributions, small but vibrant, to ballet music.


back

Years


1940

more

Сочинения Инструментовки произведений различных авторов

И. Штраус. «Поезд удовольствий». Полька

Opus 57 Opus SO

Opus SO
1940 год

Иоганн Штраус. "Поезд удовольствий"
премьера:

18-сентября-1978

Большой зал Ленинградской филармонии в исполнении симфонического оркестра филармонии под управлением Г.Н. Рождественского.


И. Штраус. «Поезд удовольствий»
в инструментовке Д.Д. Шостаковича

     Концертная премьера инструментованной Шостаковичем в 1941 году польки Иоганна Штрауса состоялась 18 сентября 1978 года в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии в исполнении симфонического оркестра филармонии под управлением Г.Н. Рождественского. Полька завершила концерт, в первом отделении которого впервые прозвучала неоконченная опера Шостаковича «Игроки».
     Полька «Поезд удовольствий» в 1979 году была записана и в 1980-м вышла на пластинке в серии «Из рукописей разных лет», которая возродила многие неизвестные и забытые произведения Шостаковича. 14 августа 1981 года состоялось зарубежное исполнение пьесы в Променад-концерте в лондонском Albert Hall (оркестр ВВС, дирижёр Г. Рождественский).
     Полька Иоганна Штрауса, инструментованная и переработанная для постановки оперетты и ставшая в спектакле «Цыганский барон» одним из заметных номеров, в творчестве самого Шостаковича помещается не только в опереточный жанровый контекст. Она находится в ряду его оркестровок, соседствуя с «Таити-трот» Юманса и сонатами Скарлатти.
     Сделанная для оперетты, транскрипция польки «Поезд удовольствий» оказалась ещё одним небольшим, но ярким вкладом Шостаковича в балетную музыку.


назад

Годы жизни