Works Compositions for the Stage

“The Great Lightning”

Opus 35 Opus SO

Opus SO
1933 year

The Great Lightning. Sans op. Hypothetically Murdered. Op. 31. Music to the stage revue. Scores.
premiere:

11-February-1981

Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic (concert performance). Conductor Gennadi Rozhdestvensky.

first publication:

Score in Vol. 23 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1986); Piano score in Vol. 28 of the same publication (1986).

manuscripts:

Mariinsky Theatre of Opera and Ballet, St. Petersburg.


The Great Lightning
Unfinished Opera

     Shostakovich began composing the opera The Great Lightning at the request of the Leningrad Maly Opera Theatre. At the very beginning of 1932, information appeared in the Rabochi i teatr magazine that ‘the theatre is preparing a Soviet music performance for the 15th anniversary of the October Revolution. Text by N. Aseyev. Music by Shostakovich.’  It also followed from the announcement that the performance was to be staged by a young director called E. Kaplan, and artist Rabinovich was to be entrusted with its scenography. This joint work between Shostakovich and Aseyev had still not been named The Great Lightning, but there was no doubt that the matter concerned precisely this opera. It soon became known that the planned premiere was conceived in the comedy genre.
     On 15 February of the same year, Shostakovich informed the Sovetskoe iskusstvo newspaper about two works he was composing for the 15th anniversary of the revolution. One of them was a five-movement symphony (or poem) called ‘From Karl Marx to Our Days’, the text for which was to be written by Nikolai Aseyev. ‘The second work is a comic opera in three Acts, also using Aseyev’s text. The theme is a Soviet citizen abroad in the unfamiliar setting of a capitalist society. The opera is to be staged at the Leningrad Maly Opera Theatre. The libretto should be ready in a month, after which I will begin writing the music to the opera.’ Consequently, it can be presumed that work on the opera began no earlier than the second half of March.
     At the end of the 1920s and beginning of the 1930s, Shostakovich had several musical-theatrical ideas of comical-satirical nature, one of which was the satirical anti-religious ballet Morals based on a libretto by Kasyan Goleizovsky, the comic opera on everyday life Karas based on Nikolai Oleinikov’s theme, the opera Orango, in the genre of a political pamphlet about the morals of the bourgeois press, and others. The burlesque-satirical theme of The Great Lightning intrinsically blended into this sphere of the composer’s creative pursuits.
     Since the theatre asked Shostakovich to write The Great Lightning (judging by the first reports in the press) at the beginning of 1932 and staging of the performance was scheduled for the 15th anniversary of the revolution, it can be presumed with certainty that work on the opera was completed no later than the autumn of 1932.
     In the music for The Great Lightning, Shostakovich sardonically used quotes from R. Glier’s ballet The Red Poppy (in No. 3, ‘The Architect’s Song’, when he orders for ‘the room to be made ready in Russian style’, during mention of the red poppy), from the Russian folk song ‘A Birch Tree Stood in the Meadow’ (also in No. 3, with respect to the mug for fermented-bread kvass); in No. 9 ‘Procession of the Models’ (bars 13-15), a reminder of the topic from Beethoven’s piano rondo Rage over a Lost Penny can be heard, and so on.
The premiere of the unfinished opera The Great Lightning was held by Gennadi Rozhdestvensky on 11 February 1981 in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic (concert performance). 


recordings:

“D.D. Shostakovich: From Manuscripts of Early Years” (Melodia, 1985, C10 23081 001).
 
Performers: State Symphonic Orchestra of the USSR Ministry of Culture, Chamber Chorus of the USSR Ministry of Culture, soloists: Viktor Gukov (Tommy), Anatoli Obraztsov (Manager), Viktor Rumyantsev (Architect), Nikolai Myasoyedov (Mayofel), Nikolai Konovalov (Semyon), and Yuri Frolov (Yegor). Conductor Gennadi Rozhdestvensky.

back

Years


1933

more

Сочинения Сочинения для музыкального театра

«Большая молния»

Opus 35 Opus SO

Opus SO
1933 год

«Большая молния». Б/н соч. «Условно убитый». Соч. 31. Музыка к эстрадно- цирковому представлению. Партитуры.
премьера:

11-февраля-1981

Большой зал Ленинградской филармонии (концертное исполнение).

первое издание:

Партитура Т. 23 Собрания сочинений Д.Д. Шостаковича (М., Музыка, 1986); клавир Т. 28 того же издания (1986).

рукописи:

Библиотека Мариинского театра оперы и балета, Санкт-Петербург.


«Большая молния»
Неоконченная опера

     К сочинению оперы «Большая молния» Шостакович обратился по предложению Ленинградского Малого оперного театра. В самом начале 1932 года в журнале «Рабочий и театр» появилась информация о том, что «театр готовит к 15-летию Октября музыкальный советский спектакль. Текст Н. Асеева. Музыка Шостаковича». Из сообщения следовало также, что постановка спектакля поручена молодому режиссёру Э. Каплану, а его «вещественное оформление» — художнику Рабиновичу. Это упоминание о совместной работе Шостаковича и Асеева ещё не содержит названия «Большая молния», но речь в нём идёт, несомненно, именно об этой опере. Вскоре стало известно, что планируемая премьера задумана в жанре комедии.
     15 февраля того же года Шостакович сообщил в газете «Советское искусство» о двух работах к 15-летию революции. Одна из них — пятичастная симфония (или поэма) «От Карла Маркса до наших дней», текст для которой должен был написать Николай Асеев. «Второе произведение — комическая опера в 3 действиях, также на текст Асеева. Сюжет — советский человек за рубежом, в непривычном для него окружении капиталистического общества. Опера предназначается для постановки в Ленинградском Малом оперном театре. Через месяц должно быть готово либретто, после чего я начинаю писать музыку к опере». Следовательно, можно предполагать, что работа над оперой началась не ранее второй половины марта.
     В конце 1920-х и начале 1930-х годов у Шостаковича было несколько музыкально-театральных замыслов комедийно-сатирического характера, среди которых были сатирический антирелигиозный балет «Мораль» на либретто Касьяна Голейзовского, комическая бытовая опера «Карась» на сюжет Николая Олейникова и опера «Оранго» в жанре политического памфлета о нравах буржуазной прессы и др. Пародийно-сатирический сюжет «Большой молнии» органично вписывался в эту сферу творческих поисков композитора.
     Поскольку заказ на написание «Большой молнии» был сделан театром Шостаковичу (судя по первым сообщениям в печати) в начале 1932 года и постановка спектакля намечалась к 15-летию революции, можно уверенно предполагать, что работа над оперой была прекращена не позднее осени 1932 года.
     В музыке «Большой молнии» Шостакович пародийно использовал цитаты из балета Р. Глиэра «Красный мак» (в № 3, «Песенка Архитектора», когда он приказывает «номер убрать а ля рюсс» — при упоминании о красном маке), из русской народной песни «Во поле берёза стояла» (в том же № 3, в связи с упоминанием кружки для хлебного кваса); в № 9, «Шествие моделей» (такты 13–15) можно услышать реминисценцию темы из фортепианного рондо Бетховена «Ярость по поводу утерянного гроша» и т. д.
     Премьера неоконченной оперы «Большая молния» была осуществлена Г.Н. Рождественским февраля 1981 года в Большом зале Ленинградской филармонии (концертное исполнение).


записи:

«Д.Д. Шостакович: Из рукописей разных лет» («Мелодия», 1985, С10 23081 001).

Исполнители: Симфонический оркестр Министерства культуры СССР, Камерный хор Министерства культуры СССР, солисты: Виктор Гуков (Томми), Анатолий Образцов (Управляющий), Виктор Румянцев (Архитектор), Николай Мясоедов (Майофель), Николай Коновалов (Семён), Юрий Фролов (Егор). Дирижер Г. Н. Рождественский.


назад

Годы жизни