Works Film Music

“The Gadfly”. Music for the Film

Opus SO Opus 98

Opus 97
1955 year

“The Gadfly”. Op. 97.
premiere:

12-April-1955

"Lenfilm". Scriptwriter: Y. Gabrilovich. Director: A. Faintsimmer.

first publication:

1987. D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 42, Moscow.

manuscripts:

Whereabouts of the hand-written score unknown. Drafts in the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 2048, Inv.1, Item 62).


Screen version of the novel by E. Voynich of the same name
Scriptwriter: Y. Gabrilovich.
Director: A. Faintsimmer.
Released April 12, 1955


 “The Gadfly”
Music to the Film

     Shostakovich received the proposal to write music to a film by Aleksandr Fayntsimmer The Gadfly on a snap decision. Referring to health problems, at the end of 1954, Aram Khachaturian unexpectedly announced that he was unable to work on the film. The studio and production group heads looked to Shostakovich.
     Shostakovich agreed to participate in the film for financial reasons, since making ends meet had become a particular concern for him after the death of his wife (on 4 December 1954 his wife, Nina Vasilyevna Varzar, prematurely passed away). As an impeccable professional, he was able to write in a short time some memorable music of high quality. It was destined to be the composer’s only opus in 1955, during which misfortune continued to befall the composer—the parents of his deceased wife fell ill, and his mother, Sofya Vasilyevna, also became extremely sick. In the autumn (9 November), she passed away.
     The composer’s lack of enthusiasm for this film project is possibly related not only to thedecline in the vital and creative energy Shostakovich experienced at this time in his life. The novel written by Ethel Lilian Voynich (1864-1960) did not particularly interest him either. Since the composer’s youth, this book, which was extremely popular in the Soviet Union, had had a series of unpleasant music associations for him.
     With the advent of the Soviet era, The Gadfly acquired a new literary status: the aspects that had earlier been criticised—calls for terrorism, atheism, revolutionary slogans, exaggerated romantic fervour—now became reason to include this novel among the best works of world literature.
     The film The Gadfly was released on 12 April 1955 , and three days later, the main editing of the opera score was finished.
     Contemporaries had a different opinion about the artistic result of Shostakovich’s work on The Gadfly. While they disagreed over the virtues of the film, they saw the music as an absolute standard of art, against which all of its other components were evaluated.
     The film was given an ambiguous reception. On the one hand, the audience greeted it hands down—the film was one of the box-office hits in 1955, reaching an audience of 35,100,000 people in the country’s film theatres.


Opus 97а 
Suite from the music to the film “The Gadfly” for orchestra
  1. Overture
  2. Contredanse
  3. People's Holiday
  4. Interlude
  5. Hurdy-gurdy Waltz
  6. Gallop
  7. Prelude
  8. Romance
  9. Intermezzo
  10. Nocturne
  11. Scene
  12. Finale
Duration:  40’.
First Edition:  Score, "Muzfond" Publishers, Moscow, 1960.

recordings:

  • The Gadfly. Music for film Op. 97. (Introduction. Transcription for 2 violins and piano). Perlman I., Zuckerman P., Sanders S. 1978 //
  • EMI 7243 5 65994 2 0, 1996
  • The Gadfly. Suite from music to film. Op. 97a. London Philharmonic Orchestra Conductor: Jansons M. 1997 // EMI 7243 5 56591 2 5, 1998
  • The Gadfly. Suite from music to film. Op. 97a. (No. 15, Guitars). Arrangement for piano by the author. Shostakovich D.D. 1955 // REVELATION RV 70002, 1997
  • The Gadfly. Suite from music to film. Op. 97a. (No. 5, 8). Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields. Conductor: Marriner N. 1987 // HMV 5 73047 2, 1998

back

Years


1955

more

Сочинения Киномузыка

«Овод». Музыка к кинофильму

Opus SO Opus 98

Opus 97
1955 год

«Овод». Соч. 97.
премьера:

12-апреля-1955

«Ленфильм». Автор сценария Е. Габрилович. Режиссер-постановщик А. Файнциммер.

первое издание:

1987. Собр. соч., т. 42, Москва.

рукописи:

Местонахождение автографа неизвестно. Эскизы — ЦГАЛИ (ф. 2048, оп. 1, ед. хр. 62).


Экранизация одноименного романа Э. Войнич
Автор сценария Е. Габрилович.
Режиссер-постановщик А. Файнциммер.
Выход на экран 12 апреля 1955 года


«Овод»
музыка к кинофильму

     Предложение написать музыку к к кинофильму режиссёра-постановщика А.М.  Файнциммера „Овод“ поступило Шостаковичу скоропалительно: от участия в работе над фильмом на исходе 1954 года неожиданно, ссылаясь на состояние здоровья, отказался Арам Хачатурян. Выбор руководства студии и постановочной группы остановился на кандидатуре Шостаковича.
     Шостакович дал согласие на участие в фильме в основном из финансовых соображений, которые после смерти жены (4 декабря скоропостижно умерла его жена — Нина Васильевна Варзар) составляли особый предмет его заботы. Исключительный профессионализм позволил композитору в кратчайшие сроки написать музыку, не оставшуюся незамеченной или неоцененной. Ей суждено было стать единственным опусом Шостаковича за 1955 год, в течение которого беды не оставляли его: хворали родители умершей жены, тяжело болела и его мать Софья Васильевна. Осенью (9 ноября) она скончалась.
     Отсутствие у композитора должного энтузиазма в отношении этого проекта связано, возможно, не только с упадком жизненной и творческой энергии, характерным для этого периода жизни Шостаковича. Сам по себе роман писательницы Этель Лилиан Войнич (1864–1960) не вызывал у него большого притяжения. Со времён молодости композитора за этой чрезвычайно популярной в СССР книгой тянулся некоторый шлейф малоприятных для него музыкальных ассоциаций.
     С наступлением советской эпохи «Овод» получил новый литературный статус: то, что вызывало критику ранее — призывы к террору, атеизм, революционные лозунги, преувеличенный романтический пафос, — теперь стало поводом для включения этого произведения в разряд лучших сочинений мировой литературы.
     Фильм «Овод» вышел на экраны 12 апреля 1955 года, а через три дня была завершена основная редактура оперной партитуры.
     Современники иначе оценивали художественный результат работы Шостаковича над «Оводом». Если о достоинствах фильма спорили, то музыка в этой полемике представала абсолютным мерилом искусства, в сравнении с которым оценивались и все остальные его компоненты.
     Восприятие фильма оказалось двойственным. С одной стороны, ему сопутствовал несомненный зрительский успех — картина вышла в лидеры проката 1955 года, в кинотеатрах страны её посмотрело 35 100 000 человек. С другой стороны, она не была удостоена фестивальных или государственных наград.


Соч. 97а
Сюита из музыки к кинофильму «Овод» для оркестра.
  1. Увертюра
  2. Контраданс
  3. Народный праздник
  4. Интерлюдия
  5. Вальс-шарманка
  6. Галоп
  7. Вступление
  8. Романс
  9. Интермедия
  10. Ноктюрн
  11. Сцена
  12. Финал
Длительность: 40’.
Первое издание: Партитура, М., Музфонд, 1960.

 


записи:

  • Овод. Музыка к к/ф. Ор. 97. (Интродукция. Транскрипция для 2-х скрипок и фортепиано). Перлман И., Цукерман П., Сандерс С. 1978 // EMI 7243 5 65994 2 0, 1996
  • Овод. Сюита из музыки к к/ф. Ор. 97а. Лондонский филармонический оркестр Дирижер: Янсонс М. 1997 // EMI 7243 5 56591 2 5, 1998
  • Овод. Сюита из музыки к к/ф. Ор. 97а. (№ 15, Гитары). Переложение для фортепиано автора. Шостакович Д.Д. 1955 // REVELATION RV 70002, 1997
  • Овод. Сюита из музыки к к/ф. Ор. 97а. (№ 5, 8). Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields. Дирижер: Марринер Н. 1987 // HMV 5 73047 2, 1998

назад

Годы жизни