Works Orchestral Compositions

Funeral and Triumphal Prelude in Memory of the Heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad

Opus 129 Opus 131

Opus 130
1967 year

Music Memorials in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Oeuvre. Scores.
premiere:

24-October-1967

Moscow. Great Hall of the Conservatoire. State Symphony Orchestra. Conductor Y. Svetlanov.

first publication:

1984 .D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 11, Moscow.

manuscripts:

In the archive of the composer’s family and the Russian State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 2048, Inv.3, Item 2).


Duration: 2’

“Recently I received a letter from Volgograd with a request for me to write music in memory of the fallen as I had done a few years previously for Novorossiisk...
I wrote a short Funeral-Triumphal Prelude in memory of the heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad. I shall be happy if it is played on the day the monument on Mamaev Hill is opened.”


Funeral and Triumphal Prelude in Memory of the Heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad
for orchestra

     In the spring of 1966, building of a memorial ensemble to the Heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad on the Mamaev Kurgan in Volgograd was at the final stage. Musical accompaniment was chosen for the soundtrack in the Hall of Military Glory. D.D. Shostakovich commented on how the Prelude was written: ‘I recently received a letter from Volgograd asking me to write music in memory of fallen heroes, as I had done several years ago for Novorossiysk, where my ‘Novorossiysk Chimes’ is heard every hour on the square, by the Eternal Flame. I wrote a short funeral and triumphal prelude in memory of the heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad. I would be happy for it to be played at the unveiling ceremony of the monument at the Mamayev Kurgan.’
     The exact dates the Prelude was written are unknown—they are not given in the author’s manuscript of the score, the piano arrangement, or the sketches that have survived.
     For unknown reasons, the music the composer wrote was not used for the memorial complex, nor was it played at the ceremonial unveiling of the cultural-historical monument-ensemble to the Heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad held on 15 October 1967.
     The premiere of the Funeral and Triumphal Prelude was held on 24 October 1967 in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory during the final concert of the Week of Soviet Music in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the October Revolution. The premiere was performed by the USSR State Symphony Orchestra conducted by Yevgeni Svetlanov. The recording was done by the Symphony Orchestra of All-Union Radio and Television under the baton of Gennadi Rozhdestvensky. The Funeral and Triumphal Prelude was also recorded by Vladimir Ashkenazy with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (1992).
     The composition was first published in an arrangement for wind orchestra in 1969, then republished repeatedly in the same arrangement. The original score was published for the first time in Volume 11 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works in 1984.


back

Years


1967

more

Сочинения Сочинения для оркестра

Траурно-триумфальная прелюдия памяти героев Сталинградской битвы

Opus 129 Opus 131

Opus 130
1967 год

Музыкальные мемориалы в творчестве Шостаковича. Партитуры.
премьера:

24-октября-1967

Москва. Большой зал консерватории. Государственный симфонический оркестр. Дирижер Е. Светланов.

первое издание:

1984. Шостакович Д. Д. Собр. соч., т. 11, Москва.

рукописи:

Семейный архив, ЦГАЛИ (ф. 2048, оп. 3, ед. хр. 2).


Длительность: 2’

«Недавно я получил письмо из Волгограда с просьбой написать музыку памяти погибших, как я это сделал несколько лет назад для Новороссийска... Я сочинил небольшую Траурно-триумфальную прелюдию памяти героев Сталинградской битвы. Буду счастлив, если она прозвучит в день открытия монумента на Мамаевом кургане».


Траурно-триумфальная прелюдия памяти Героев Сталинградской битвы
для симфонического оркестра

     Весной 1966 года в Волгограде подходило к концу строительство мемориального ансамбля «Героям Сталинградской битвы» на Мамаевом кургане. Для озвучивания Зала Воинской Славы подбиралось музыкальное сопровождение. Д.Д. Шостакович комментировал историю написания прелюдии так: «Недавно я получил письма из Волгограда с просьбой написать музыку памяти погибших, как я это сделал несколько лет назад для Новороссийска, где на площади у Вечного огня каждый час звучат мои “Новороссийские куранты”. Я сочинил небольшую траурно-триумфальную прелюдию памяти героев Сталинградской битвы. Буду счастлив, если она прозвучит в день открытия монумента на Мамаевом кургане».
     Точные даты создания Д.Д. Шостаковичем прелюдии неизвестны — в сохранившихся автографах партитуры, фортепианного переложения и эскизах они отсутствуют.
     По неизвестным причинам сочинённая композитором музыка не была использована для мемориального комплекса и не звучала на торжественном открытии культурно-исторического памятника-ансамбля «Героям Сталинградской битвы», состоявшемся 15 октября 1967 года.
     Премьера Траурно-триумфальной прелюдии состоялась 24 октября 1967 года в Большом зале Московской консерватории на заключительном концерте Недели советской музыки, приуроченной к 50-летию Октября. Первое исполнение осуществили Е.Ф. Светланов и Государственный симфонический оркестр СССР. Запись на пластинку была сделана Симфоническим оркестром Всесоюзного радио и телевидения под управлением Г.Н. Рождественского. Траурно-триумфальную прелюдию также записывал В. Ашкенази с Королевским филармоническим оркестром (1992).
     Сочинение было впервые опубликовано в переложении для духового оркестра в 1969 году, затем неоднократно переиздавалось в той же обработке. Оригинальная партитура была впервые издана в 11 томе Собрания сочинений Шостаковича в 1984 году.


назад

Годы жизни