Works Suites from Operas and Ballets

Interlude from the Opera “Katerina Izmailova” (concert version)

Opus 114a Opus 115

Opus 114b
~1965 year

Suites from the Opera "Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District". Scores.
first publication:

New Collected Works, vol. 69. Moscow, DSCH, 2002


Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 10, section 1, f. 26

Interlude from the Opera Katerina Izmailova (concert version)
Op. 114b

   In the mid-1960s, at the request of Maxim Shostakovich, the composer wrote a new orchestral version of the Interlude between scenes six and seven, which was meant to be performed as an independent concert number (for encore), by eliminating the brass band from the score, introducing a piccolo trumpet into the orchestra and radically editing the instrumentation (for example, in the initial bars of this version only the strings are heard instead of the tutti in Five Interludes). The fair author's manuscript of this score is kept in the Dmitri Shostakovich Archives.
  Thus, from the beginning of the 1930s until the mid-1960s, Shostakovich wrote a Suite in ternary form, Op. 29(a), two versions of Five Interludes (initially “Four”), Op. 114(a), which we provisionally date 1956 and 1963, respectively, and a concert version of the Interlude between scenes six and seven without the brass band, all based on two versions of the opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District/Katerina Izmailova.